How deep can we cut?

• Thread starter Thread starter Quinz

Simpson won't play lecras as depth. Lecras continued to get games this season despite putrid form. He went 5 games without a goal. He became very selfish and just started taking pot shots from everywhere in the hope of snagging one. That first goal last night was a pot shot.

Simpson doesn't have the cojones to be head coach. He can't sack players. He begged priddis to retire. Lecras will go around yet another 2 years. Simpson even started playing 3 rucks to keep Cox going around. Useless head coach. Simpson is a follower, a yes man - an assistant coach.

Don't be so sure. He hasn't had much room to move this year with our list. If Lecras didn't play that poaitiin who would have? The reality is that we had no one better.

My take:

LeCras - if he doesn't retire, one year contract, with understanding he could be playing WAFL.

Masten - His confidence is shot, but keep for depth or use as steak knives in a trade.

Schoefield - trade. Package up w Masten if possible to a young team. Otherwise retian and try out on wing.

EMac - retain. Still a good lock down defender.

Hill, Giles - Cao and thanks for the service.

Wellers - perhaps package as part of a trade incl Schoey or Masten to get picks. Otherwise he is depth.

Hutch - retain as depth and bring in for specific tagging jobs.

Cripps - retain. Needs to lift and play smarter. Effort is there, but a dumb footballer.

Hopefully Venebles has a breakout debut next year. Priddis talked him up over the weekend. A Shuey clone, but bigger bodied. Looks explosive. Really need this guy to be an A grader or even develop into an elite mid.

Greetings citizens.

With the departure of several senior players in Butler, Priddis, Mitchell and Petrie we have some serious thinking to do about our future.

- Lecras - Retire
- Masten
- Schofield - Trade (mostly for him, he could easily get 22 games in another team we just have so much depth there)
- Wellingham
- Hill - Retire
- Giles - Retire

- Mackenzie

And in my mind you could add Lamb, Cripps, Hutchings to that list.

Leaves like 6 main list spots?

A hard cut is around 8 main spots I think? so it's not exactly a huge change.

Leaves like 6 main list spots?

A hard cut is around 8 main spots I think? so it's not exactly a huge change.
Giles and coy will be cut but don't effect our list.

We also have to mandatorily delist a minimum number next year so there is a need to plan longer term than the last loss. Tho this end players like LeCras who have been injured (hip) and may improve slightly are reasonable list fillers for one year.

Giles and coy will be cut but don't effect our list.

We also have to mandatorily delist a minimum number next year so there is a need to plan longer term than the last loss. Tho this end players like LeCras who have been injured (hip) and may improve slightly are reasonable list fillers for one year.

coy? LeCras is on a downhill slide and has been for the past couple of years, I don't see him improving next year considering he is 31. Also the players I highlighted including Butler, Priddis and Mitchell make 6?

I wouldn't worry about next year, there are players like Wellingham, Masten and Lamb who are likely next in line unless we can either find a spot for them or they get back to playing there best.

I get the impression that LeCras will be given one more year, though I think it will be made clear he could finish the year in the WAFL. I know that Masten's knees were cooked this year, and he is still contracted so I think they will hold on to him. It will probably come down to cutting one of Wellingham and Schofield. Hill and Giles will both go, so that will mean 7 list changes at a minimum, which feels about right.

coy? LeCras is on a downhill slide and has been for the past couple of years, I don't see him improving next year considering he is 31. Also the players I highlighted including Butler, Priddis and Mitchell make 6?

I wouldn't worry about next year, there are players like Wellingham, Masten and Lamb who are likely next in line unless we can either find a spot for them or they get back to playing there best.
agreed but I hope Masten etc are gone this year - all part of the mix I guess

It would seem the club don't have much faith in Lamb given the fact there have been times when other forwards have been injured and he wasn't selected. So you could make a good argument for him being delisted, however, I think the greatest thing in his favour is he is only 20 (21 next month) and has had some injuries. So maybe one more year on the list.
Also lets see how his competitors (e.g. Waterman) develop. It may be that this time next year Lamb is even further back in the queue - and with little good WAFL form to justify him keeping his spot. Wait and see I reckon.
Plus I think there will be - or should be - lots of delistings (and retirements) and that may also save Lamb.

DCM's for everyboooooody!

oprah-free-car.gif

Re: Gaff, do you think that with losing Priddis and Mitchell from the midfield, that throwing away Gaff is going to hold us in good stead? Are you secretly but un-admittedly a Dockers person at heart? Was Damien Drum or Cameron Schwab your Godfather? Seriously mate, at a footy club, there is a core of senior players who keep the ball rolling, and if we get rid of Gaff, we go into ladder free fall. Sheed is on his way, but isn't there yet. Duggan was basically a spectator against the Giants. You'd need a pretty cluey plan to stock up the midfield from what is a pretty average group of young mids if you want to go down the get-rid-of-Gaff path

Gaff had 1 contested possession on the weekend, had 2 tackles and 2 inside 50's. I reckon he is trade bait for sure. He's slow, too one sided and doesn't kick goals. He runs up and down the wing and gets easy possessions.
Just because you run huge km's and get a lot of the ball it doesn't make you an A grader.
Sure you have a core of senior players but if they aren't contributing at a level required then you move them on. This is why teams like Geelong, the Swans and Hawthorn keep being successful, they aren't afraid to move "senior" players on whilst they have currency.

It would seem the club don't have much faith in Lamb given the fact there have been times when other forwards have been injured and he wasn't selected. So you could make a good argument for him being delisted, however, I think the greatest thing in his favour is he is only 20 (21 next month) and has had some injuries. So maybe one more year on the list.
Also lets see how his competitors (e.g. Waterman) develop. It may be that this time next year Lamb is even further back in the queue - and with little good WAFL form to justify him keeping his spot. Wait and see I reckon.
Plus I think there will be - or should be - lots of delistings (and retirements) and that may also save Lamb.

Delisting him would be weird and come down to personality conflict. No objective measure has him as one to delist.

With Naitanui, Lycett, Vardy, Waterman and Allen he won't be playing forward for East Perth IMO.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

o
Delisting him would be weird and come down to personality conflict. No objective measure has him as one to delist.

With Naitanui, Lycett, Vardy, Waterman and Allen he won't be playing forward for East Perth IMO.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
odd comment - all I hear is that he makes no effort and fails to perform. Its his personality that appears to be a problem

There has been times the forwards were nearly all SHIT and injured and he couldn't get a game.

I don't care who goes as long as the spud LeCras is out. He has stunk up the forward line for 3 years now. He may have a lot of mates at the club, but his time is up. He is just in it for the money. Nobody can forget his dreadful games throughout this year.