How deep can we cut?

• Thread starter Thread starter Quinz

Sing the thread title to the tune of Bee Gees "How deep is your love".

You'll thank me later*

*or not.....

How deep can we cut? How, deep, can, we cut...
I really mean to learn
'Cos we're living in a world of flogs
Breakin' us down
When they all should let us be
We belong to Naitanui

Greetings citizens.

With the departure of several senior players in Butler, Priddis, Mitchell and Petrie we have some serious thinking to do about our future.

With the use of Redden and Sheed in more prominent midfield roles we hopefully will not lose too much from Priddis. Mitchell had several matches of genius but was not the same old Mitchell from the Hawks.

Some of the pressure should be taken off by the return of NN and Lycett. Vardy has been solid but not great, and ideally he is depth to put pressure on Lycett.

Our inability to win clearances and generate inside fifties has hit a crisis point. We have to do everything in our power in the off season to attract either a) a genuine a Grade mid (not Wellingham Redden Jetta style) or b) a gun midfield coach

With that in mind, and knowing that the coaching staff probably still wants us to contend and won't cut to the bone, which of the underperforming senior players would you move on in the offseason:

- Lecras
- Masten
- Schofield
- Wellingham
- Hill
- Giles
- Mackenzie

And in my mind you could add Lamb, Cripps, Hutchings to that list.
Would only keep Mackenzie and Schofield out of that whole list, with hopefully one being traded in return for a pick the rest should be delisted. Should have played Lamb this year so we could have made a final decision on him. Prob have to give him one more year.

Deeper than a bandaid would be useful for, but not freo docker total blood transfusion deep. I reckon deep enough that would require around four or five stitches.

Surely we can get a 3rd rounder for Masten from someone?
If Gild coast lose a shit load of player's likemis predicted they will have alot of picks and players like Masten and Wellingham would be perfect. They took Rosa off our hands they need some older experienced players

I think delisting Lamb is crazy talk given the number of proven crabs on our list.

At least Lamb may still make something of himself.
Not at AFL level. He hasnt had a go in defense but he basically has done nothing anywhere else. List clogger

Elite endurance, good size, good hands. Think he's got enough attributes to keep on the list ahead of about a dozen others.

Our development team is pretty diabolical, would like to see how he goes with a different group helping him.

You guys do realise that Simpson and his band of crazy vozzos think we have done well and our season was a success and any deep list cutting is waaay off the agenda.

Hurn will go into the midfield for periods next season ....too many half backs we need to utilise and Hurn is not getting younger is 30 evidently so some free time playing midfield might be good for his career without the captaincy . Wellingham or Watson or Nelson could play half back .

Out

Hill
Priddis
Mitchell
Petrie
Giles
Tunbridge
McInnes
Butler

Trade options

Masten
Lamb
Gaff
Mutimer

Tall. Fit. Young. Has been played forward, mid, and back at WAFL level. In a year when we are set to lost half a dozen or more senior players it makes no sense to just cut Lamb and replace him on the list with a late pick, will be a 4th year player next year thats a lot of development to just throw away. Showed quite a bit in the 1 qtr he has played at AFL level, and 2018 will be the first opportunity since round 1 2015 for the club to genuinely test its depth. If he survives toolies week without incident we need him to stay. Not a list clogger, every year the club drafts a number of small half back flank types who they want to turn into starting midfielders. Lamb at least is not one of those, and we should persist with him purely because if he ever plays at AFL level it'll be in some role we don't already have 10 blokes just like him ready to step into. He might not make it, but he's unique enough a prospect and his body is far enough along that you should persist. This is why there are 40 spots on the list not 30.

We need to be realistic about how we're going to replace these players. Add Giles and Hill to Priddis, Mitchell and Butler and that's already 5 draft picks we'll be using to replace them. It's better to retain a depth guy like Wellingham or Masten for a year than gamble on a 6th round draft pick, then we can delist them the following season.

I'd rather see if we can trade them for 3rd rounders, they offer absolutely no value based on how they've played this year over some of the mature aged WAFL players like Banfield/Kelly

I agree with Boondy on Lamb. He's been on the list for 3 years and is still mediocre at WAFL level with a couple of decent games in there. If they keep him on I'd like him trialled as a defender. Waterman and a fit Allen have gone past him.

We can upgrade a rookie in Watson possibly ...Snadden probably not but Watson could take a senior spot .

We really have wasted the prime years of some very good players
How have we wasted them? We made a GF two years ago and those very good players weren't up to it. Not every very good player has team success, that's just the way the cookie crumbles in professional sport.

I agree with Boondy on Lamb. He's been on the list for 3 years and is still mediocre at WAFL level with a couple of decent games in there. If they keep him on I'd like him trialled as a defender. Waterman and a fit Allen have gone past him.

To be fair though it can't be easy coming over here as a young player and playing WAFL week in and week out for 3 years knowing that even if you are playing well there probably isn't a spot for you in the seniors anyway. Its not an excuse but in reality even the blokes playing seniors look like they struggle to stay motivated week to week. And if you look at the players who have been rewarded with a few senior games its not necessarily been due to outstanding WAFL form, except for Partington, but more just because they were smalls who could slide in or out of the last spot in the 22. How many talls have made a debut since Lamb played as an emergency in rd 1 2015? None that I am aware of. For Lamb to break into the side in his time so far he's needed probably Darling or Le Cras to come out for some reason. Neither has ever been dropped on form. And between them in the last 3 years they have probably missed about 5 games with injury, maybe. The way we've used Petrie this year has only made it harder for him to press for selection because nearly every week match committee is having to debate whether or not we're going in too tall. Even if he was on fire at WAFL level the planets would still have to align for him to get past that discussion. Its apples and oranges really.

Lets say Simpson just doesn't rate him and has no intention of ever playing him, and realistically a 2 year deal for Le Cras would probably make that quite likely. in 2020 he'll still be only 24 [ie still youth in WCE terms] and a new coach might have a bit of imagination and the list might look a fair bit different and a 193cm utility with Andrew Gaff level endurance might be something you can try to make work.

You guys do realise that Simpson and his band of crazy vozzos think we have done well and our season was a success and any deep list cutting is waaay off the agenda.

Yep. I have this sick feeling now that the list management team will top up rather than go to the draft. Purely based of 2 lucky games at the arse end of the year.

Hurn will go into the midfield for periods next season ....too many half backs we need to utilise and Hurn is not getting younger is 30 evidently so some free time playing midfield might be good for his career without the captaincy . Wellingham or Watson or Nelson could play half back .

Out

Hill
Priddis
Mitchell
Petrie
Giles
Tunbridge
McInnes
Butler

Trade options

Masten
Lamb
Gaff
Mutimer
What did i just read

- Lecras - Has to go. He's been a great player for the club but he's cooked. Hopefully this is obvious to all.
- Masten - Trade without hesitation if someone actually wants him. Retain if we are stuck with his contract. Delist if we aren't.
- Schofield - Trade Block for sure (I think there will be some interest). Assess value to trade/retain for depth.
- Wellingham - If they are being serious, he goes...but considering he was just recalled for a final, I think he'll stay.
- Hill - Clearly gone.
- Giles - I would assume also gone.
- Mackenzie - Retain. Showed enough to suggest he can still play and Barrass is not quite there yet.

The other name not yet mention is Andrew Gaff. Put him on the trading block and see if there is a mediocre Vic side willing to cough up a late first round pick. He is absolute fools gold and despite to lack of talent in the middle, he's expendable.

Re: Gaff, do you think that with losing Priddis and Mitchell from the midfield, that throwing away Gaff is going to hold us in good stead? Are you secretly but un-admittedly a Dockers person at heart? Was Damien Drum or Cameron Schwab your Godfather? Seriously mate, at a footy club, there is a core of senior players who keep the ball rolling, and if we get rid of Gaff, we go into ladder free fall. Sheed is on his way, but isn't there yet. Duggan was basically a spectator against the Giants. You'd need a pretty cluey plan to stock up the midfield from what is a pretty average group of young mids if you want to go down the get-rid-of-Gaff path