How Did You Find BigFooty??

servo

Apr 29, 2000
adelaide
I was in a the MSN Sports Bar playing a sports trivia game and someone entered the room, recommended BigFooty and left.

I clicked on the URL and found a site with only a few regular posters like Dan24, Grendel, Rooboy96 and of all people G4E and PowerMad. I have been here ever since.

How did all of you fing this site at the beginning?

I got to it through a webring I think it was. Decided to start posting even though my footy knowledge is admittedly very limited.

Figured the board would get a kick out of having a resident Yank.

Unless my memory's failing me, Bluey advertised his new-born BF baby in the aus.sport.aussie-rules and/or rec.sport.football.australian newsgroups. I reckon I'd be one of the first few registered members!
wink.gif

On Bombertalk, Bluey left messages all over the message boards (as I beieve he did with other club sites) promoting his new site. I was sick of talking to other Bomber fans and I wanted the variety of other supporters.

I had been a regular poster on RoarPower (Unofficial Richmond Site http://roarpower.com) since about April or May.

We had this young poster there called 'Tigerseye', who is known as RichmondFan#1 on these boards. One time she wrote in with the following:

I love this website and I'm take nothing away from it but there is a really cool site called www.bigfooty.com

If you go onto bigfooty boards, you can chat to people that follow all different clubs in AFL.

It is almost the same as these boards but....a bit more classier. Have a go.

It's great fun and you meet some cool people!

Needless to say that the a bit more classier line did not go down well with the punters over there at RoarPower!

Nonetheless, a few of us have ventured across (I think TigerTank was another?) and managed to broaden our horizons.

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

[This message has been edited by CJH (edited 06 December 2000).]

I came to BigFooty after overhearing it mentioned it in an AFL chatroom on IRC (Internet Relay Chat). Otherwise, I dont think I've seen BigFooty been mentioned anywhere else apart from Top10 AFL site listings.

I came across it in the office, I was looking up the Top100 sites for our business, and thought since the boss wasn't around I'd check out the AFL sites quickly. I think it was No.5 at the time.

I think that you will find none of the major news services will ever mention BigFooty as they have their own sites to promote.

Now what is bigger news: Fairfax re-names their existing footy site, or a new, independent site climbs to the top 5 with no advertising budget, mainly on the strength of word-of-mouth?

Anyone who thinks the news in our papers is not 100% subjugated by the commercial interests of two or three companies large companies is in fantasy land.

smile.gif

LOL CJH. You are right. The term 'a bit more classier' was a silly statement to make on a Richmond board!! What I meant was that bigfooty is more...organized and proffesional. No offence to Roarpower as it is a terrific site that I will never leave!!
wink.gif

Anyway, i think i found this site from a link on some tiger website...not sure which one though.
smile.gif

How Did You Find BigFooty??