How do they decide Rising Star nomination?

May 23, 2001
Well once again the Rising Star nomination has left everyone baffled. Now don't get me wrong, I reckon Brett Johnson's an absolute gun and a future star, but I don't see how 13 possessions playing in a midfield that was absolutely slaughtered is worthy of nomination.

The two weeks before that he had over 25 possessions, including against Essendon, yet wasn't nominated. As soon as he plays probably his worst game of the season, bang he gets nominated.

Obviously he was picked on prior week's performances, but I think the AFL need to make that more explicit when annoucning the nomination, or else it looks silly.

Your thoughts?

Lone's for rising star

Ryan Lonie is the only player so far that has been nominated, to look anything like rising star material.
The standard was set when Bucks won the first norwich rising star. Lones will bring it home this year. bad luck hawks, maybe you took the wrong one? :)

Collingwood picked Ryan Lonie some 2 rounds before Hawthorn picked Nathan, so you would think he is a better player. We'll get a chance to see how good Nathan is this week, when he makes his debut along with bustling Billy Nicholas against the Handbaggers.

You'd think geelong would be rampant favoutites for this one. Even sam newman was saying 'we' on the footy show.

Perhaps they could rev the guys up with atape of the win at Kat park in 1995 where the hawks side was decimated by injury. So many were out that Darren Jarman was acting captain and a well-known ruckman called Simon Crawshay held well against the geelong ruckmen.

Still, if hawthorn is still withi 3 gols with 10 minutes to go bet your house on them winning. And if you get tense and are in doubt just look at the nearest cat supporter for reassurance. They will already know they have lost.

That win at Kardinia in 1995 was one of the best we've ever had, bunch of kids playing...reminds of what tomorrow will be like!!!

1999 down there was good too, harford snapping a miraculous goal on the boundary line to win by a kick.

If Geelong can't beat us tomorrow, they will NEVER beat us!

Ryan Lonie and Daniel Kerr are the only players that will be under contention this year as they are the only ones playing well and consistently. Haven't seen much of Lonie but from what I have seen Kerr will give him a run for his money.

Vis

Kerr and R Lonie look pretty good, and N Lonie might join them as nominees for the award, but make no mistake, the best player nominated for the Rising Star this year was last week's nominee.

Write it down: Brett Johnson. Will be a gun.

I can't believe Koschitzke hasn't been nominated!

He's holding down a key position and providing heaps of run out of the backline with quality finishing, should in my opinion, carry more weight than a bloke who gets a few possies in the middle. Kos looks to be in a different class to most of his teammates!

That's why I rate Henneman and Lonie way ahead of Kerr and "in the where is he now Roogirl69?" category, Daniel Harris. Henneman has had the distinct advantage of being on the Bomber's list for three years.

Still Lonie is the clear standout. Streaming runs from the backline followed by a 50 metre precision pass or goal, is a quality which must not go unnoticed. If polls were to close today, it would be a travesty if he did not win the award!!!

I wouldn't say that Ryan is better than Nathan just yet. Collingwood have needed Ryan to play, Hawthorn could afford to give Nathan a while to develop, we need him to play now though
because of injuries and loss of form. IMO Ryan deserves the rising star on his form so far, he plays in defence yet manages to kick about 2-3 goals a game! Thats freakish.

Nathan Lonie has played in defence for Box Hill but his junior playing days were spent as a flashy Half-Forward flanker whereas Ryan has always played down back.

Collingwood only intended on playing him a few games this year!
but due to brilliant form from game one, he has deserved his spot in the side every week!
its not a matter of us needing him in the side or not! he deserves to be there, and will stay there for a long time!

I'm not doubting him as a player, but you guy's played him in round 1 so he was obviously needed. He has been great so far, what happens if he gets injured? Would he leave a big hole in your side? Yes! If Nathan Lonie got injured would it leave a hole in the Hawthorn team? No. My point is that Colingwood need Ryan to stand up more than Hawthorn need Nathan to play. ;)

he hasnt been the difference between us winning and losing yet!
he has been good for us, in our top 10 every week, but not yet a matchwinner!
he doesnt get enough of the ball to be a matchwinner... due to his position on the ground! hard to make an impact from the back flank. A visable impact anyway!
sure he kicks goals, running off half back, but you couldnt say if he gets injured he is going to leave a hole!
Buckley, obree, rintoul.. these sorts of players leave holes..

theres a difference between hurting us, and leaving a hole!
we'd miss his few goals a week, BUT who's to say his replacement wont kick a few ??
and whos to say his replacement wont rebound from defence 50? just as good as he does!
they may not have the same run as he, or the same foot skills, but they are still there, doing the same job, and i think, there a few blokes in the 2's at willy who are good enough to step up if lones does get injured.

No disrespect to Collingwood because i think they are a good side but i don't think you have the depth to cover for players right now. You are a young team and it's hard for young players to step in and fill the breach, thats why Lonie is so bloody good.

firstly, having seen both lonies play several times i believe nathan is the better player

he is a bit younger that ryan, i know your all going to say they are twins but let me explain

nathans footy brain and decision making is still very raw, but his skills are far better, his kicking is amazing (ryans is also pretty spot on) and his marking is far better than his brothers

with experience nathan will be a far better player

as for henneman, he was outstanding tonight, someone said he had the advantage of being on essendons list for 3 years, true, this is his third season now but he was drafted as a 17 year old so the advantage wasnt that great

i think henneman is a great chance for the award, he is now playing very consistant football which is something most of the other nominees have yet to do

Re: Lone's for rising star

Originally posted by PiesPremiers
Ryan Lonie is the only player so far that has been nominated, to look anything like rising star material.
Lones will bring it home this year. bad luck hawks, maybe you took the wrong one? :)

Oh yeah - Hawks people, you got the wrong Lonie.

Nathan - how bad do you feel playing finals football, while your brother is fending off the PINK PIES?????

Wrong again PP you ****.

BTW - does the PP stand for Pink Pies?

Originally posted by walshy1993
firstly, having seen both lonies play several times i believe nathan is the better player

he is a bit younger that ryan, i know your all going to say they are twins but let me explain

nathans footy brain and decision making is still very raw, but his skills are far better, his kicking is amazing (ryans is also pretty spot on) and his marking is far better than his brothers

with experience nathan will be a far better player

Good spot Walshy. 100% spot on!!!!

Nathan will learn more this month than Ryan will in 5 years at Collingwooden.

How do they decide Rising Star nomination?