How good is having punts

My next hot tip is one passed on by Dr Turf long ago...

Never tell your Missus the truth about how much you are winning, because she will want to spend it all, and it is none of her business anyway.

Scenario 1, the wrong way....

You have a decent day and win $30k. Your Missus asks why you seem to be in such a good mood. You tell her I had a good day today, won $30k. She asks how much you can spare for her shopping habit. You say $1k. She will think you are a total campaigner and inform you of same. She also knows a divorce court will give her at least half the total winnings so she feels like you are depriving her of at least $14k.

Scenario 2, the correct way....

You have a decent day and win $30k. Your Missus asks why you seem to be in such a good mood. You tell her I had a good day today, won $1500. She asks you how much you can spare for her shopping habit. You say because you are such a special lady, I am going to give you the majority of my winnings, $1k, and that you will just keep the $500 to see if you can win some more for her. She will think you are way less of a campaigner and inform you of same, normally from a position somewhat resembling a star fish. She understands you have given her more than a divorce court would allow, and feels like she is winning.
Or in short form….

Man #1 “what would you do if you won the $50M Powerball?”
Man #2 “tell my missus I won $5M and I want a divorce”

Or

Man comes home and says excitedly to his wife “Pack your bags honey, its time to get away, just won $50M in the Powerball”
Wife says “Wow, I can’t believe it. What should I pack for, summer or winter?”
Man says “I don’t care, as long as you’re gone by the morning”.

It's just too easy to bet now. In the past you had to go to the TAB, fight your way through the free cigarette smoke, pay cash and place your bet, now you don't even have to get off your arse.
Exactly right mate. There's literally no excuse not to spend money betting every day. Horses racing, dog racing, football, soccer, basketball, baseball, video games.Professional wrestling: you can bet on that and it's not even real. Bet on how many records Taylor Swift sells, bet on which Powderfinger song Triple J bogans like most. How good is it?!? I've bet on shit I've never even heard off and I didn't even need to get out of bed. What a time to be alive!!!

Getting out of bed is a waste of energy for the modern punter.

I once lost about $20k and won it back with interest without getting out of my bathtub. One of the least boring baths I have ever taken.

Mrs Rise is one lucky lady. Well, when he wins 30k. The rest of the time she probably has to hear many points that prove Dustys greatness for no apparent reason

Mrs Rise left me in 2007. During our divorce she claimed at one point I had a gambling problem. At a later point she argued she was entitled to half the profits from my gambling problem. The thing is, it was true, she was. Her trouble was she didn't know the quantum of those profits or where they were hidden. And I didn't feel disposed to informing her of the crucial detail around this.

She should never have married such a selfish pig.

Anyone who knows anything knows that the TAB Trackside horse race simulator platform is where the real experts put their money. There's no bigger thrill than watching your virtual greyhound kick in the last virtual straight.

TSEg1-copy.jpg

Mrs Rise left me in 2007. During our divorce she claimed at one point I had a gambling problem. At a later point she argued she was entitled to half the profits from my gambling problem. The thing is, it was true, she was. Her trouble was she didn't know the quantum of those profits or where they were hidden. And I didn't feel disposed to informing her of the crucial detail around this.

She should never have married such a selfish pig.
Has anyone ever asked for a divorce and claimed half of the debts?

The “biggest” was a player we knew back when Port Adelaide SANFL and Collingwood liked each other, Russell Johnston.
Shawy mentions something about “a heart and lung”.
Thats the one! Great get. I still love Port. The Mudholians who came to Carringbush were all adored, Choco, Flipper, Jack Cahill, Bucks. All honest, loved to win, and played actual football.

Pistol Night listen to SC hes a real academic.

"It was so big we joked it had its own heart and lung" JFC he was a genuine storyteller.

Last one, see if you remember this,knocked socks off.

When Shaw started (i think a year after Daicos so 1980?) his first night at the social club saw him drinking with Stan Magro and (I think) Andy Ireland, two hard thugs.

The first round of beers was almost drained when Magro smashed his pot glass on his own head, and Ireland took a bite out of his.

They both handed young Tony the shards and Magro said "your shout". Uh, ok.

I bet they had plastic pots teed up with the barman, but the effect would have been devastating. I've never had the balls to even try to pull that one off. Fancy biting into the rim of your pot. Hard hard bastards those two.

Anyone who knows anything knows that the TAB Trackside horse race simulator platform is where the real experts put their money. There's no bigger thrill than watching your virtual greyhound kick in the last virtual straight.
****ing beautiful, If this isn't the pinnacle of human endeavour and imagination I don't know what is!

It's so deeply embedded in football coverage now. It owns the game.

Really disappointing actually.

We know the AFL is gutless and just wants the money. The problem is the Aust Govt. is okay with kids being brought up with gambling being normalised and becoming future gambling addicts.

Because they also like the money.

The simplest fix would be zero gambling ads before 8.30pm and zero gambling ads on C, G, and PG rated programmes.

But governments make billions. And TV networks dont know how to make money other than accepting hundreds of millions from betting companies.

And the AFL, well they are just money whores and couldnt give a ****. They dont even pretend to be good for communities like RSLs do.

We know the AFL is gutless and just wants the money. The problem is the Aust Govt. is okay with kids being brought up with gambling being normalised and becoming future gambling addicts.

Gambling has been normal for thousands of years.

Some people act like it wasn't a well known and accessible thing when they were growing up.

There is simply no way we had anywhere near the same level of saturation of advertising when we were kids. Or accessibility to gambling.

When I was a kid mum and dad would bet on the horses during the Cups period which involved driving to a TAB or being at the racecourse.

Now in 5 minutes you can have multiple apps on your phone and bet on literally every sport anywhere in the world. Instantly.

Im sure there were ads around when we were kids. But in school we never talked about the odds of teams winning. Now it is how kids discuss matches. It has become pervasive.

There is simply no way we had anywhere near the same level of saturation of advertising when we were kids. Or accessibility to gambling.

When I was a kid mum and dad would bet on the horses during the Cups period which involved driving to a TAB or being at the racecourse.

Now in 5 minutes you can have multiple apps on your phone and bet on literally every sport anywhere in the world. Instantly.

Im sure there were ads around when we were kids. But in school we never talked about the odds of teams winning. Now it is how kids discuss matches. It has become pervasive.

Mate I was 14 in the 90s and putting on bets at the local TAB.

They used to televise the races and trots on FTA tv.

Schools would run sweeps for money and stop to watch the Melbourne Cup.

Bingo was being held everywhere.

Everyone would go for trips to play pokies.

Access to something doesn't mean you have an interest in it.

People do it because they are interested in it.

Nothing will stop that interest.

Who are all these ****n simpletons that see a gambling ad and decide they must punt immediately. If anything excessive advertising makes me boycott a ****n product or service

You answered yourself. Because they are ****ing simpletons.

There are endless studies proving that children are far more susceptible to external influences than adults. Its why the gambling companies are so opposed to restrictions on their ability to advertise to children. They are their future.

Hardly anyone smokes these days because its much harder to advertise cigarettes to children so they dont grow up wanting it.

The government is bringing in all sorts of ludicrous social media laws because they think children need protecting, but they arent doing a thing about advertising. Because money.

You answered yourself. Because they are ****ing simpletons.

There are endless studies proving that children are far more susceptible to external influences than adults. Its why the gambling companies are so opposed to restrictions on their ability to advertise to children. They are their future.

Hardly anyone smokes these days because its much harder to advertise cigarettes to children so they dont grow up wanting it.

The government is bringing in all sorts of ludicrous social media laws because they think children need protecting, but they arent doing a thing about advertising. Because money.

1761700760912.png

One of the images that reminds me of how insidious betting advertising is and its effect on children.

For those who need context, the person signing autographs at this NRL game is Tom Waterhouse, a famous bookmaker. We already have kids talking about placing bets on the first goal kicker at AFL games, sadly I think nothing will change because as you pointed out the money is too great.

Of course, but it doesn't mean we should let it be a free for all. Gambling isn't being prohibited any time soon but it also does not mean we should allow sports betting (and other forms of gambling) to be free of restrictions. No one is asking for it to be totally banned but surely you understand that children should not be the target of betting companies? We already do the same with alcohol and cigarettes for example.

Children can't bet though. So no point targetting them is there?

The problem is that too many parents don't parent anymore.

Too many of them basically want the Government to parent for them.

So when something requires a parent to sit down and educate their kids they won't. They will say ban this or ban that instead so they don't have to actually teach their kids anything.

Mate I was 14 in the 90s and putting on bets at the local TAB.

They used to televise the races and trots on FTA tv.

Schools would run sweeps for money and stop to watch the Melbourne Cup.

Bingo was being held everywhere.

Everyone would go for trips to play pokies.

Access to something doesn't mean you have an interest in it.

But lots of things increase that interest (advertising being the main one).

And like you said - people used to have to get on a bus and travel to NSW to play the pokies, now they walk 100m to their local. You can bet with the thing inside your pocket instead of having to go to the TAB.

The fact you were putting on bets at 14 at the TAB suggests you might not have the most objective view on this topic.

Children can't bet though. So no point targetting them is there?

The problem is that too many parents don't parent anymore.

Too many of them basically want the Government to parent for them.

So when something requires a parent to sit down and educate their kids they won't. They will say ban this or ban that instead so they don't have to actually teach their kids anything.

Of course they can't bet, but normalising it in the coverage of sport means they easily become adult punters. That's the idea. As a parent today, it is not possible to stop the advertising reaching your children unless you take them off the grid.

Parenting about gambling would be easier if the Sportsbet button wasn't switched on by default when clicking on the AFL ladder, for example. There is an element of personal responsibility, I get that, but it doesn't mean we have it unregulated. Sometimes the government should step in.

How good is having punts