How good this was :)

• Thread starter Thread starter Truetiger

Yes, the 'Mother's Day Massacre'.

Pretty sure Jeff Hogg kicked 10 that day.

I used to have the clippings from the newspaper headlines stuck on my door at college. I think it was 'Tigers run magpies ragged'.

They got us back a few years later when Rocca kicked 10 though.

Rich 24-15-159 DEF Coll 15-12-102 MCG
12-05-1991

Ahh how good that game was? What were peoples Best parts of that game that they all remember :thumbsu: Clearly one of the best wins I have been at.

Poor crowd for such big rivals.

Anthony Banik, Wayne Campbell, David Cloke, Tony Free, Brendon Gale, Andy Goodwin, Jeff Hogg, Terry Keays, Matthew Knights, Craig Lambart, John Mrakov, Chris Naish, Michael Pickering, Des Ryan, Stephen Ryan, Craig Smith, Scott Turner, Andrew Underwood, Dale Weightman, Barry Young

Or go here for stats:

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/games/1991/CWRI19910512.html

I remember Dale weightman running in and kicking a goal and getting pol-axed after kicking. He wasn't too happy with the lack of talk lol....

I had that game taped on Video, and I'd watch it before I played footy.... religiously. Lambert played a blinder, Knights was giving instruction as a 19 year old.... tis was a good Day.

The Mothers Day Massacre .

The crowd was small because of the GSS being built..

was a tiny crowd though lol
Was a tiny crowd because they were reconstructing the Great Southern Stand and that's about all they could fit in that day. The place was actually packed.
Hoggy kicked 10. Couldn't believe it. I have it on video.

Was a tiny crowd because they were reconstructing the Great Southern Stand and that's about all they could fit in that day. The place was actually packed.
Hoggy kicked 10. Couldn't believe it. I have it on video.

I'm sure the capacity would have been at least 45,000. :cool:

REMEMBER the game clearly. John Mrkov roosting them 60 plus metres from full back, Andrew Underwood shining on the wing after his first two kicks were diabolical grubbers, Hoggy booting 10, Terry Keays taking a few strong grabs and Wayne Campbell and Craig Lambert starring!

had the game on video and in the commentary Gerard Healy refers to the game as being a "watershed" for the Tigers. How wrong he was...we rarely won for years afterwards!

REMEMBER the game clearly. John Mrkov roosting them 60 plus metres from full back, Andrew Underwood shining on the wing after his first two kicks were diabolical grubbers, Hoggy booting 10, Terry Keays taking a few strong grabs and Wayne Campbell and Craig Lambert starring!

had the game on video and in the commentary Gerard Healy refers to the game as being a "watershed" for the Tigers. How wrong he was...we rarely won for years afterwards!
Was one of Campbell's first games. Remember thinking that the kid from Bendigo got a lot of the ball and looked pretty good.
Andrew Underwood sure knew how to celebrate a goal.

My memory says otherwise.

Well the Mcg held about 95,000 and the Southern stand held about 48,000. But I think there was some of the old stand left or some of the new stand completed. But it definately would have held at least 40,000 maybe 50,000 for that match

By mid 91 the SS was just a giant gaping hole. I remember because I was in first year of Uni and it was possible to see into the ground while going past on the train.

Still would have left all of the Northern and Western Stands, though perhaps part of the western stand behind the goals was out of action from the construction work.

Well the Mcg held about 95,000 and the Southern stand held about 48,000. But I think there was some of the old stand left or some of the new stand completed. But it definately would have held at least 40,000 maybe 50,000 for that match
The whole southern stand was torn down and if my (hazy) memory serves me correctly, there was only really the Olympic Stand in operation. Could have sworn that at one stage, capacity was reduced down to something like 30k.

The Ponsford, Olympic and Members stands were there for another 12 years or so. So the capacity was always above 40,000. I'm pretty sure they tried to keep it to 50,000 minimum by leaving part of the old stand up before finishing the first small part of the new stand. Anyway, the crowd was tiny. Would have almost got the same at Vic park :cool:

Gotta disagree MT. I went to a tiges vs Dees game when the stand was out of action. Small crowd, but the only place we could go was standing room on the 2nd level of the Olympic Stand. Were squeezed inlike sardines. Had to lean against one of the pylons. Reckon there was no more than 30k that day and you cou'dn't have squeezed anyone else in. We were at our inept shyteness then, and we won by two points.
The most vivid memory that day was on the way down the stairs a bloke and his missus were rolling on the ground fighting. I reckon she was giving him a hiding too, until a few of us stepped in to separate them. seriously weird stuff.

Gotta disagree MT. I went to a tiges vs Dees game when the stand was out of action. Small crowd, but the only place we could go was standing room on the 2nd level of the Olympic Stand. Were squeezed inlike sardines. Had to lean against one of the pylons. Reckon there was no more than 30k that day and you cou'dn't have squeezed anyone else in. We were at our inept shyteness then, and we won by two points.
The most vivid memory that day was on the way down the stairs a bloke and his missus were rolling on the ground fighting. I reckon she was giving him a hiding too, until a few of us stepped in to separate them. seriously weird stuff.

You should have backhanded the chick then punched the guy in the nose lol. Anyway, how could the capacity be any less than 40,000 when almost half the stadium was standing? You've gotta fight on your hands Tugga :D

I reckon they were doing some work on the Ponsford Stand as well. You're probably right. All I remember was the Punt Rd goals had netting over them because of the works going on.
Wasn't at the Mothers Day Massacre. Had a 21st that day and spent most of the arvo listening to the game on a car radio drinking free beer.

The weird thing is the return match at Vic park later in the year had a bigger crowd !

29541 - 1219 more. I would suggest that is the only time a Vic park game got a bigger crowd than a MCG game in the same season.