How important is Caff

Did you guys think that all that manhandling was fair?
I have no issues with tagging but McCaffer got away with a lot of holding that could have easily gone against him.

It's not about the individual but about the game.
He got away for it and it may just have been deemed to have been fair, but god, it's ugly.
The Umpires did

I like how he starts in the middle now. None of this half-hearted tagging running off the square, just put him in there and trust him to get the job done. Hasn't failed this season so hopefully he gets better at combining the shutdown role with an attacking game.

I have no issues with tagging but McCaffer got away with a lot of holding that could have easily gone against him.

He got away for it and it may just have been deemed to have been fair, but god, it's ugly.
Damian Hardwick said after the game that Macaffer did a great job, and that he'd be showing his players footage of that as an example of how to tag somebody.

That doesn't necessarily mean that it was all completely kosher, but it's probably an indication that the tag went the way that most good defense does these days - It pushed on the boundary of what's legal as much as possible.

We are being asked if what MaCaffer is doing is legal well they should have a look at what Cloke cops week in and week out and then get back to us and tell us whether they think that is legal or not.
If it is then MaCaffer is good to go and more power to him,come on here and expect us to apologize for what a number of our players cop every week Pendlebury is manhandled all the time and not much is said about that Derricks from Sydney pushed Pendles 50 mtr off the ball and got a reprimand.

Adams does little more than stand his ground and gets a week and we are expected to say sorry,p--- off will you.

Cotchin's hit on/blow up at Clint Young was one of the funniest/most pathetic things I've seen from a supposed "leader" on the footy field in a long time. For Caff to frustrate him into doing something like that was reward enough.

Hilarious reading the thread on the Richmond board and the handful of opposition supporters coming to their aid. I always laugh at the bunch of sycophants who flock to a losing teams board to nurse their egos; no idea of the motive behind it but still amusing.

Macaffer was excellent last night. Sure I'd be frustrated if that happened to Pendlebury, but only because his influence was negated, not because I felt it was "unfair". It happens to Cloke every single week, even when he is in great form. Who cares!

Oh well, let the tears flow. That club has a bleak future.

Agreed, don't have a problem with it. The defensive or negating midfield role is a valid strategy and provided it is done within the rules, there should be no outrage. Since when is it not acceptable to attempt to limit the opposition's most damaging player? Just because you play in the midfield doesn't mean you are golden and untouchable and should be allowed to do as you please ........ seriously, harden up! Pendles cops a heavy tag week in and week out and still manages to exert his influence on the game and rise above it. Caff has really shown what he can do and owns the role now, more power to him.

Move on, nothing to see here people.

Hilarious reading the thread on the Richmond board and the handful of opposition supporters coming to their aid. I always laugh at the bunch of sycophants who flock to a losing teams board to nurse their egos; no idea of the motive behind it but still amusing.

Macaffer was excellent last night. Sure I'd be frustrated if that happened to Pendlebury, but only because his influence was negated, not because I felt it was "unfair". It happens to Cloke every single week, even when he is in great form. Who cares!

Oh well, let the tears flow. That club has a bleak future.
It did happen to Pendles in round 1 when Crowley tagged him

You know a Collingwood player is good if opposition fans, coaches and the media are whinging about him, which everyone is.

Can't wait to see Caff vs Ablett.
True, a Pies player tags and it's called disgraceful, outrage, game in-disrupt!!! Crowley does it and it's what a stroke of genius by Lyon and how great is Crowley!

Joke.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Was at the game last night so obviously didn't watch it, however I'm watching the replay and that im getting pissed at the dickhead Harley giving comments on Caff tagging Cotchin saying "we don't want to see things like that", sorry mate I didn't realise that all the tagging jobs Ling did when your where playing were "legal" what a flog.

taggers are absolute worms but you need to have one. grubby tactics are never great to watch but if it gets too much then they will get pulled up on it.

ive always liked caff so pretty happy with his contribution to the team, as important as any player right now.

taggers are absolute worms but you need to have one. grubby tactics are never great to watch but if it gets too much then they will get pulled up on it.

ive always liked caff so pretty happy with his contribution to the team, as important as any player right now.

Mate he was barely even using grubby tactics, in fact he wasn't even really holding all he was doing was using his arm to limit Cotchins movement it is very smart play and Caffe must have worked hard all summer on learning valid tactics that don't result in free kicks.
He isn't grabbing or holding he is simply doing a modified sheppard with his arm and tangling with Cotchin was often Cotchin grabbing caffe to try break free of it..

How is what Caff was doing (tactically, not in terms of actual effectiveness) any different to what every defender in the league does every single week? If they put the camera on one-on-one match-ups inside 50 as often as they do the midfield ones, people would see it's as common as day.

Caff was just superb last night. Collingwood has never really been a club to have a tagger and I'll admit I'm not the biggest fan of them, but when you have one of the best in the competition in your team you can't help but admit to how crucial they are to a winning side.

I couldn't see his supposed "illegal tactics" from way up the back of the Ponsford Stand and I haven't watched the replay, but surely they weren't as bad as what is done to Trav each week? It's a physical game that has a winner and a loser, if you can get away with a few things and end up with the 4 points then I'm all for it. Harley and Richmond supporters need to cut the whinging.

Since we've had Caff as a tagger our clearance numbers have declined which is the negative and it's more difficult finding the minutes for our deep midfield group.

Despite acknowledging this I like our midfield setup as is and the other mids when on the ball just need to continue to improve their output. The signs were positive last night from those other mids with the two way running game looking better giving support to the backs and also pushing forward more for scoreboard impact. The only slight tweak I'd suggest is Swan plays more high half forward rather than deep forward but the mix I feel is about right. Pendlebury and Beams are our two best mids and should be in that starting unit with Caff. And Swan and Ball as that second unit work well in combination and are a more than formidable second unit.

On Caff the tagger. He's playing his role every week and is continuing to improve. He's got the height and size, he'll stick to the job for all 120 minutes. You saw with Cotchin he was psychically on him, getting in his head and showing him that it would be a hard night. From memory he had 11 tackles and Caff's tackles stick. Aerobically he was also able to go with Cotchin, heck he even stayed out on the field when Cotchin went to the bench so that was another great sign. On impact he broke even with Cotchin and when you can do that as tagger against that quality of opposition. You win games of footy and Caff was a big reason for the positive result last night.

Freo supporters are probably the only lot that would see it as well played haha.

I enjoy watching Crowley. Theres no free pass or rule to letting a mid just have free roam and not having close attention. Forwards cop it week in week out, yet its a blight on the game when a mid gets shut down.

Votes last night? Normally I am loathe to give votes to taggers but his role in shutting Cotchin out of the game and having any influence was that complete I reckon he was one of if not the best but most influential players on the ground.

As Buckley said, if there was any crossing the line, the umpires picked it up and paid Cotchin 3 against Cafe.

I watched the replay when I got home from 1/2 way through the second qtr and honestly couldn't see anything illegal. That knob Robbo raised it on twitter post game so I was keeping half an eye on it when I watched the replay and saw nothing.

The whole idea of 'Cotchin watch' was a big wank. If you have a specific bloody focus on one player, of course the commentators will be all over it like f*cking pedants.

The problem is though that Robbo on SEN this morning was talking about it non-stop with Hayden Kennedy and Hardwick. Incidentally, and this will be important, Kennedy as head umpire said he personally didn't like it but wasn't out there adjudicating. So expect him to get pinged next week.

Then Voss chimed in saying Cafeteria had his arms around Cotchin but wasn't touching him, but was 'corralling' him. Once Cotchin moved then that would draw contact and presumably a hold. Hello dickface, you are allowed to touch people, just not hold.

I reckon the brain's trust have been watching the footage of Crowley as a boiler template, or maybe the metcops.

Then Voss chimed in saying Cafeteria had his arms around Cotchin but wasn't touching him, but was 'corralling' him. Once Cotchin moved then that would draw contact and presumably a hold. Hello dickface, you are allowed to touch people, just not hold.
Correct. Just because your arms are AROUND someone doesn't mean you are holding them

Typical. This is the kind of tactics that Crowley uses every week, and Ling when he was running around. But no, only when a Collingwood player does it, it's a blight. Maybe the reason Mick rarely used a tagger was because of the hysteria it would cause. :rolleyes:

Let's be honest, it's not a pretty look but every negating player will look to push the boundaries and see what they can get away with. If they go too far, the Umps will call them up on it, which they did since Cotchin got 5 frees last night (3 on Caff).

Ripping game by Caff. Hope he continues to deliver. Best 22 any day of the week.