How many Brownlows...

Vintage 62

Jul 12, 2002
How many Brownlows would Hird have won had he not suffered the injuries that he has during his career?

This year he left the field early in two games, missed six completely, and polled in nine of the remaining 14 games, finishing just three votes behind the winners.

you cant say that
francou and mckernan would both have 1 too if not for tribunal appearances.
how many would vossy have if not have broken his leg
and had a knee operation this year.
there are many plaqyers than would have polled better if not for injuries: 'that's footy' as they say

Originally posted by Vintage 62
How many Brownlows would Hird have won had he not suffered the injuries that he has during his career?

This year he left the field early in two games, missed six completely, and polled in nine of the remaining 14 games, finishing just three votes behind the winners.

I know, I know ... :( :(

Oh well, 3 deserving winners ... thank god Buckley didn't win it outright, that's all I'm gonna say.

Who gives a s**t?

He's got injuries like every other player.

Get over it!

Originally posted by Zeke
How many brownlows would Clive Waterhouse have won if he was a great footballer.

About 5 if he was as great as Hird , and a three-way share of one if he was as great as Buckley.

Originally posted by Zeke
I believe Hird only has one brownlow (shared as well).

Zeke, you're not keeping up with the conversation.

Both your posts have missed the point.

I think that a few Essendon fans are having trouble coming to terms with the loss of a major argument in the great Hird vs Buckley debate.

Why can't people accept that Voss, Hird and Buckley are all future legends of the game, and just get on with other stuff? You'll never be able to split them decisively.

Originally posted by CharlieG
I think that a few Essendon fans are having trouble coming to terms with the loss of a major argument in the great Hird vs Buckley debate.

Why can't people accept that Voss, Hird and Buckley are all future legends of the game, and just get on with other stuff? You'll never be able to split them decisively.

Hit the nail on the head...!

Originally posted by CharlieG

I agree.

I also reckon that Hird would have easily got 3 votes in 8 rounds but injuries are apart of Football and all players get them. There probably have been players like James Hird doing very well considering he missed a lot of games.

Both your posts have missed the point.

Well whatever point it was that you were trying to make was crappola.

Hird, Voss & Bucks are in a league of thier own - people who continually try and separate them are holding their appendage too tightly.

He may have won last night but am I right in saying that is only the third time in Hird's career he has polled double figures in the count? If that's the case, as I think it is, you are right in saying he was unlucky this year, but not right in saying he may have won several Brownlow's.

Perhaps Lappin would be the Brownlow Medalist too if not for injury, or of course Voss who virtually took no part in the last 2 home and away games when Brisbane thrashed Geelong and the Bulldogs, teams he polled 2 and 3 votes against respectively in the first round.

No arguments though, the 3 winners are very worthy and that's footy. Maybe Hird's 5 week spell after Round 5 made it easier for him to do better later in the year as opposed to the guys who slogged the whole season out for 22 weeks.

Not criticising Hird, but I think your argument is a little one-dimensional.

You can't split Buckley, Voss and Hird, so don't bother. Everyone has different opinions and measuring sticks, plus a bit of bias, so it's hard to make a fair decision on who is the better player. I say all three are and have been equally as good, although Voss is my favourite.

same could be said for soooo many players its not funny! Harvey, Voss, Lockett (occasionally!) its full on endless.....

Average Brownlow votes per game. Check your stats. Hird is no where near Bucks. Bucks averages more votes per game than any other current player. Hird has polled double figures in the Brownlow a massive three times. Has been really close to five Brownlows Vintage, good call.

I hope you enjoyed last night Vintage, was a great count wasn't it? Buckley finally receiving the recognition he truly deserves from the maggots. I'm sure you were rapt for one of the modern day greats of the game mate, just like most decent football fans were. Isn't it ironic that Hird also finished equal leader in 96 with two other players- Voss and Mckernan, just like Bucks did? Uncanny really.

Charlie, I thought the exact same thing when I opened the thread, this goose Vintage is BLEEDING! I wish we were about to face the mighty Dees this week.

How many would Peter Motley have won wearing the Navy Blue if it hadn't been for a moron in a 4WD?

If, if, if...

Not even worth worrying about.

Originally posted by Pies rock

Charlie, I thought the exact same thing when I opened the thread, this goose Vintage is BLEEDING! I wish we were about to face the mighty Dees this week.

Bleeding? What are you talking about ? Is there a Collingwood supporter ANYWHERE who has any brains at all?

Who mentioned Buckley? What has Buckley got to do with my post?Nothing as far as I can see - I guess C'wood fans are "bleeding" after losing a major argument about Hird/Buckley!!

The fact is Hird seems to be one of those players who captures the umpires eye and receives votes whenever he should; and as he is such a champion, I think he would have won more Brownlows as a result, had he not been so injury-prone. That's it ! That's what I was saying and is all I said. No Buckley see? NO BUCKLEY.

How many Brownlows...