MRP / Trib. How many Weeks for Rioli?

May 2, 2006
Brisbane
East Fremantle
Again, it’s an arbitrary system not a mathematical one. They got it wrong and every west coast fan trying to cite their lack of willingness to appeal the decision doesn’t change that any more than an umpire retaining his job means he got all his decisions right the previous week
But you can't claim that the tribunal is inconsistent by using the AFL as a beacon of consistency to support your argument. They're both rubbish.

SuperMal

Jul 28, 2021
LEEDS F’jh#$@G UNITED
And you still miss the point. Of course he saw him but at the point he did it was too late to pull out of the contest, not sure if you're aware of this but all players are entitled to contest a mark. You believe somehow in the heat of the moment willie is meant to calculate precisely who will get to the ball first when they are milliseconds apart, and in the case he is beaten by any margin no matter how small, he is supposed to pullout of the contest and avoid all contact, and yet I'm the one who's being hopelessly unrealistic. You don't sound like you've played a game of footy in your life.

Sorry. Utter garbage manufactured by a WCE theorist.

Feb 15, 2002
Jackson-Steinem
Bluestar Airlines, Anacott Steel
If the vast majority involved were also involved in the last witch hunt..............then yes!

It is incredible just how hard some Vic media flogs go at West Coast. It's a fact.

Cousins was burnt at the stake. Dane Swan in his book jokes about how many times Eddie and the AFL got him out of trouble keeping it quiet. Other players who are marketing pin up boys in NSW are not held to the same standards. Why was that?

You WC supporters are closer to that bubble, the interpretation over here was that Cousins and co got away with it for years. Not dissimilar to what you're saying with Swan

Even posted footage of VFL 360 defending Viney two seasons ago when he knocked out Hurn with a jumping hip to the face in a non marking contest. That didn't seem to be an issue, and that was with Hurn laying on the ground with twisted fingers concussed.

So yep. When the VFL witch hunt fires up again it gets called out.

Don't know what you all are afraid of this season, Eagles will finish bottom 3.

All that highlights is that the focus on concussion has come a long long way in 2 years, so much so that we're sitting here talking about the potential for concussion, when virtually ignoring the impact as little as 2 years ago.

SuperMal

Jul 28, 2021
LEEDS F’jh#$@G UNITED

Attachments

• 018C0244-331A-40E2-AF41-C2850CA2DD72.jpeg
    018C0244-331A-40E2-AF41-C2850CA2DD72.jpeg
    85.1 KB · Views: 51
Mar 1, 2011
Leeds United
I would argue Rioli knew the likely outcome, given his ability to prepare for contact vs Rowells unprotected position.

It was not a collision between two players with eyes only for the ball.

And the majority of those who’ve seen the incident clearly believe the same.

So there is a ‘goose factor’ in my view.
I understood you were saying in your previous post that the decision was so bad the people making it must have the IQ of geese.

Your argument for suspension can't be that strong if it is based on assumptions (e.g. Rioli's knowledge, where he was looking, etc) rather than indisputable evidence. Which is really the point I am making - there were sound arguments on both sides, but no knockout blow.

I just don't think the decision was so demonstrably incorrect that people should be up in arms about it. Definitely not to the extent we are seeing.

Coasters7

Nov 27, 2014
Chelsea
I would argue Rioli knew the likely outcome, given his ability to prepare for contact vs Rowells unprotected position.

It was not a collision between two players with eyes only for the ball.

And the majority of those who’ve seen the incident clearly believe the same.

So there is a ‘goose factor’ in my view.
Rowell knew the likely outcome as well. That’s why it was a collision. You can’t run back with the flight and not expect some sort of contact coming the other way. The ball lands exactly halfway between both players with neither knowing if they’d get there first but both knowing they’d likely make contact with someone. That’s why it’s courageous on Rowells part, because anyone who’s played or followed footy knows there’s always someone coming and they will always jump into you if the ball is in dispute.

Again, it comes down to what you want the alternative to be. Bearing in mind Rioli is in his defensive 50 with a 50/50 ball up for grabs. Do you want him to stay down and not contest the ball, allowing for an uncontested mark and shot at goal to Rowell? If so then I suggest you stop following this sport.

May 5, 2016
If the vast majority involved were also involved in the last witch hunt..............then yes!

It is incredible just how hard some Vic media flogs go at West Coast. It's a fact.

Cousins was burnt at the stake. Dane Swan in his book jokes about how many times Eddie and the AFL got him out of trouble keeping it quiet. Other players who are marketing pin up boys in NSW are not held to the same standards. Why was that?

Even posted footage of VFL 360 defending Viney two seasons ago when he knocked out Hurn with a jumping hip to the face in a non marking contest. That didn't seem to be an issue, and that was with Hurn laying on the ground with twisted fingers concussed.

So yep. When the VFL witch hunt fires up again it gets called out.

Don't know what you all are afraid of this season, Eagles will finish bottom 3.

Wear some more tinfoil. The team and supporter base that hates the eagles the most is based in Perth.

Most Victorian fans’ most hated handful of clubs are other Victorian teams.

May 2, 2006
Brisbane
East Fremantle
Wear some more tinfoil. The team and supporter base that hates the eagles the most is based in Perth.

He's referencing the media.

Their hysteria for anything negative Eagles related is off the charts.

May 5, 2016
He's referencing the media.

Their hysteria for anything negative Eagles related is off the charts.

It is for anyone mate. Particularly the big clubs. Essendon, Collingwood, Carlton etc.

How many coaches have been fired from Carlton that wouldn’t get fired from smaller clubs because of the media overload? Even Scott - he’s basically in a situation not far removed from Longmire and Hinkley - except Hinkley hasn’t won a flag - and I don’t think either of the other two are often if ever in the gun. And we aren’t even a big club

May 2, 2006
Brisbane
East Fremantle
It is for anyone mate. Particularly the big clubs. Essendon, Collingwood, Carlton etc.

How many coaches have been fired from Carlton that wouldn’t get fired from smaller clubs because of the media overload? Even Scott - he’s basically in a situation not far removed from Longmire and Hinkley - except Hinkley hasn’t won a flag - and I don’t think either of the other two are often if ever in the gun. And we aren’t even a big club
Carlton needed the overhaul they did this off-season. Totally off-topic but I'd say their impatience for success is what's kept them in the boonies for the past 20 years.

May 5, 2016
Carlton needed the overhaul they did this off-season. Totally off-topic but I'd say their impatience for success is what's kept them in the boonies for the past 20 years.

I don’t disagree with that one bit but as a bit of a footy and sports media addict I’ve often been staggered at how much quicker the blowtorch has gone onto some of their people compared to those at other clubs

PurpleEyes

Jul 2, 2013
That incident was 5 years ago in July 2017 ... which is quite a while when discussing the AFL MRP and Tribunal's current decision making regarding protecting players from high contact.

Has No Rules

Mar 22, 2022
GWS
the problem is people are applying bump logic with a marking contest

posters in here actually arguing your feet can't leave the ground in a marking contest..100 years plus of football just curled up and died

the AFL didn't appeal because what's there argument exactly ?
We would like to appeal are own rules :rolleyes:

Mar 2, 2015
there is a massive element of truth to it though
No, it's just the lens you choose to view it through

Put a Hawthorn or North Melbourne player in Willie Rioli's shoes with exactly the same MRO & tribunal outcomes and there would be EXACTLY the same media uproar, and the same defensiveness from Hawthorn or North fans...

Except we wouldn't be able to cling to any long-held paranoid fantasies of "Vic bias" like you guys.

We would have to think of another name for the conspiracy theory.

May 2, 2006
Brisbane
East Fremantle
No, it's just the lens you choose to view it through

Put a Hawthorn or North Melbourne player in Willie Rioli's shoes with exactly the same MRO & tribunal outcomes and there would be EXACTLY the same media uproar, and the same defensiveness from Hawthorn or North fans...

Except we wouldn't be able to cling to any long-held paranoid fantasies of "Vic bias" like you guys.

We would have to think of another name for the conspiracy theory.
Dangerfield used an elbow to knock out Vlaustin (didn't even put his hands up to mark) in a contest in the 2019 grand final and got zero repercussions.

Don't recall a great deal of uproar about the Cotchin incident in the 2017 PF either.

Plenty of other examples where a star Vic player (not named Hawkins) has gotten away with stuff players from interstate get hung out to dry for, with their respective club supporting cronies in the media doing their best to bail them out.

Aug 4, 2003
WA
This is all a bit over the top now isn’t it?

It was a big collision….but nobody was hurt, nobody required a concussion test, a free kick wasn’t awarded and the game carried on.

He could have copped a week if they chose to go that way, which they did originally, and then Rioli got a chance to explain himself at the tribunal and he got let off.

The over the top wailing as if some grave injustice has been done…yikes

Nowhere near as big a deal for the vast majority - look at this thread, a couple of people flying the flag with some Eagles bashing and some standard Purple antics that can never be taken seriously.

Time to get over it and prepare for next week’s target of outrage…

tropicaltiger

🏆2017 🏆2019 🏆2020
Jan 4, 2002
cairns
Snakes
Rowell knew the likely outcome as well. That’s why it was a collision. You can’t run back with the flight and not expect some sort of contact coming the other way. The ball lands exactly halfway between both players with neither knowing if they’d get there first but both knowing they’d likely make contact with someone. That’s why it’s courageous on Rowells part, because anyone who’s played or followed footy knows there’s always someone coming and they will always jump into you if the ball is in dispute.

Again, it comes down to what you want the alternative to be. Bearing in mind Rioli is in his defensive 50 with a 50/50 ball up for grabs. Do you want him to stay down and not contest the ball, allowing for an uncontested mark and shot at goal to Rowell? If so then I suggest you stop following this sport.
good post. lets look at it this way.

*the ball kicked by GC player was not meant for Rowell, if it was it was a HOSPITAL pass
*Rowell running into oncoming traffic showing courage and commitment prevented Rioli taking a standard chest mark.
*if 2 players have eyes for the footy with an up and under crap floater kick or handball a football collision is inevitable.

good decision.

Mar 2, 2015

Exactly.

Take Whateley and Robbo, for instance... A Geelong flog and an Essendon flog who hated Hawthorn with a passion back when we were winning flags. They didn't even bother trying to hide it. Grudging praise at best when we thrashed another flag contender. More often just glossed over and ignored... and they went extra hard against any Hawk who found themselves in the crosshairs of the MRO.

Incidents which occurred on the Friday night became the talking point over the weekend. On 360 the following week, these incidents were literally dissected to nth degree on the Monday night, further hysteria on the Tuesday night, more again on Wednesday night with Jordan Lewis... and the coals would be raked over one more time on the Thursday night with King & Maclure. They were like dogs with a bone on that 360 show. They wouldn't let it go when it was one of our blokes.
  • Stratton pinching Fantasia
  • Lake choking Petrie
  • Hodge & Lewis belting Swallow & Goldstein
  • Hawks defenders Gibson & Stratton gut punches on Crows small forwards, Betts and Cameron
  • Mitchell kneeing Tex and Fyfe
  • various Buddy Franklin trangressions for Hawthorn which no longer applied once he became a Swan and received his free pass to belt opponents
(Plus many more minor incidents which were investigated and thrown out, much to the chagrin of Whateley and Robbo)

I'm not saying the above incidents didn't deserve media scrutiny. But not the laboured, excessive coverage they all received on that 360 show for a whole week afterwards. It was all dealt with appropriately by the MRO and tribunal. Justice was done. But Whateley and Robbo ratcheted up the hysteria even after the suspensions were handed down; questioning why they weren't given 4,5,6 weeks; carrying on like it was Barry Hall v Brent Staker.

Their overreaction was driven purely by club parochialism. Similar stuff from other clubs was barely commented on.
[This post is partly a response to our Main Board discussion about Whateley]

But there's the perfect example of "Victorian bias"...
i.e. flogs in the Melbourne media who barrack for a Victorian team and who HATE 2 or 3 Victorian rivals.

Everyone who follows AFL footy hates at least one rival team in their hometown. Here in Melbourne, we get to hate 2, 3 or 4.
90% of Melbourne's footy reporters, if they were being honest, would own up to hating one or two clubs and being biased against them.

Eagles fans are kidding themselves. We're not living in 1991 or 1992. We've accepted the "interstate" presence in our competition. It's 2022. Nobody cares about West Coast here in Victoria. They are a respected club, but nobody hates them here. They are just another team. If their players act up and do weird newsworthy s**t like Ben Cousins, Michael Gardiner, Daniel Kerr, Daniel Chick, Chad Fletcher or Willie Rioli, then the media gleefully pounce on it, just like they do when bogans from St Kilda or Collingwood play up.