Family & Relationships How Much Does it Take You to Get Drunk

People who've been snowed under at work for two weeks straight, had three hours sleep in the preceding three days and who went out with the sole mission of getting hammered.

Yeah, nah.

Who gets snowed under at work for two weeks, has three hours of sleep and then goes out with the sole mission of getting hammered?

So I never believe the people that do something really bad, and instead of owning it, just insist that they cannot remember anything from that entire night.

I used to genuinley believe this when I was about 15. Then I had my first blackout. And my next one. And my next...

One things I've noticed is I have trouble getting drunk twice in a day-

Totally this. Lunch beers, half cut, sweat it off, go out, ???. Nothing.

Dude you are talking shit. 20 drinks of 30 ml nips is essentially nearly a full 700ml bottle of spirit. To have drunk that in 2 hours and felt fine, unless you're a 160kg Fijian, is quite frankly ludicrous.

I'm stunned that he is able to count the drinks? Does he take a note pad or something? Any time i get drunk, the amount of drinks ive had would be nothing more than a guess.

1e4a1879cff7997308bba6e75fd67a63d18244cc9c860dd7e318b7231fe4014e_1.jpg

MMM........BAKED BABIES!!!

drooling-homer-simpson.jpg

I'm stunned that he is able to count the drinks? Does he take a note pad or something? Any time i get drunk, the amount of drinks ive had would be nothing more than a guess.

I started a tab and got the receipt.

I started at about 10 and left at 12.15. I know because I checked my phone on the way out.

Yeah, nah.

Who gets snowed under at work for two weeks, has three hours of sleep and then goes out with the sole mission of getting hammered?

Me.

Dude you are talking shit. 20 drinks of 30 ml nips is essentially nearly a full 700ml bottle of spirit. To have drunk that in 2 hours and felt fine, unless you're a 160kg Fijian, is quite frankly ludicrous.

Didn't feel fine but the 2nd time I ever got drunk and the first time I got really drunk was at a 17th about 400m away from my place. I was 16 at the time.

I took a bottle of Bundy with me, when they were 750ml and not 700ml. I drank it in 2hrs, I was crappers. I now had nothing left to drink so found a random bottle of Vickers Gin which was half full and proceeded to polish that off. It was then onto what ever else I could lay my hands on which was all beer.

Somehow I managed to stagger home the 400m. I had a recollection of it taking me 2 hrs where I promptly fell into bed and went to sleep. I remember people making a heap of noise outside our house, my bedroom was at the front of the house, and me throwing the window open and telling them to shut the **** up.

Mum come in and woke me at 9, I was as sick as a dog. My brother was playing in the VFA that day for Geelong West against the Shit Farmers so we were heading up to Werribee to watch. As mum was backing out, I looked over at my bedroom window and there was a massive spew stain down the brickwork, luckily mum didn't notice it.

That was over 30 years ago and I've never drunk Bundy since.

As for the question in the OP, I very rarely get drunk these days, GF day and that may be it, perhaps 1 or 2 other occasions throughout the year and it's never falling down drunk like in my youth.

Last Friday night was one of those occasions. It took me about 6 stubbies then I just chugged along for another few hours without getting much worse. I paid for it the next day though, all day. Hence the reason I don't really like doing it. I work too hard for my days off to waste them being seedy plus I don't like my kids seeing me like that.

Didn't feel fine but the Nth time I ever got drunk and the Nth time I got really drunk was at an Angels concert. I was 14 at the time.

I bought a bottle of Bundy (from City Hotel), when they were 750ml and not 700ml. I drank it with 1 other in 0.75hrs, I was crappers.

Somehow I got picked up from the city. I had a recollection of it taking me hrs where I promptly fell into bed and went to sleep. I remember people making a heap of noise outside our house, my bedroom was at the front of the house, and me throwing the window open and telling them to shut the **** up.

Mum come in and woke me at 8, I was as sick as a dog. ____. I looked at my Dad's car and there was a massive spew stain down the passenger door, unluckily Dad had noticed it.

That was over 20 years ago and I've never drunk Bundy since.

There's a lesson for everyone (else) on this page - don't get drunk on Bundy.

By about August/September I'm definitely capable of splitting half a slab with a mate for pres, then 3-4 out to keep me raring. Beers at the pub or someone's house watching the footy tends to take up a lot of the time in winter so I end up being able to handle a fair amount of piss. That is after a proper lunch, decent tea, and some snacking throughout though.

If I'm coming off a full day of uni with work the night before, and barely a solid meal, by about three stubbies I'll be feeling the buzz. Between three and six beers are fine, but by the seventh I will be ****in raring.

Sounds like most young guys.
Tbh I know a fair amount of lightweights; blokes who are two pot screamers and end up singing and dancing at 9:30 (the sort of mates I have who head home in time for the last train...) and then blokes who have three beers at home, four out, and then complain about not having fun that night. I don't actually believe a huge amount of your average 20-year old uni students are that heavy on the piss.

One things I've noticed is I have trouble getting drunk twice in a day- like if I have a few beers around lunch time getting moderately drunk, then maybe have a few hours off back to full sobriety- but then if i try to start drinking again later in the evening the alcohol has almost no affect on me. Anyone else notice this? It's like there's a rule that once you've been drunk for the day that's it, no more!
Yeah for sure!

Few times I've knocked off uni 3pm, had even just two or three pints, walked home, had a sleep or just sat around home, then at 8:30 started back up again for the night a I feel one of three things: extremely bloated, tired and blasé, and/or struggling to feel anything after even three stubbies when you should at least have a bit of tightness in your head.

As Plugger35, I think it was, mentioned, beer really is the best and most 'safe' way to get pissed. It might be full of carbs but the reality is, I can have a beer and feel it go to my head and from that point just tone it down to a beer every half hour, or have a water in between every second. It's the best way to go about it.

Even if I was having a normal Saturday night amount, if I took what I presumed the equivalent of a stubbie or tin worth was in say, vodka, I would end up cooked. I remember one afternoon, I was on the Pimms and four of those girly cups later and I was knackered. Short of being at the pub and ordering something that comes in a similar portion, that is properly portioned, you can end up all wrong.

The same can be said for cocktails. There was a period when I was making them at home around christmas, and after three I was ****ed. Some of the shit women drink... no wonder you see them crying in the gutter at 11pm.

Has anyone actually had a night, that they don't remember, due to alcohol?

I've had foggy memories, and difficulties remembering things.
But I always remember part of it... and with a bit of prompting I remember a lot more.

So I never believe the people that do something really bad, and instead of owning it, just insist that they cannot remember anything from that entire night.
Yeah, my mate decided to bring his own grog to a party when I told him I'd bring our remaining Coopers Sparkling Ales. Ended up drinking about 10 of them plus 4-5 other heavy drinks I found, and headed out at about 10pm with my mates. Remember entering a nightclub, apparently spent around 5 hours there yet to this day still can't remember a thing. A few mates said I resembled a zombie which is more of a relief than me going around in the club acting like an absolute twat. Scary though.

Another time I went drinking at a BYO Dumplings place, downed a six pack plus two Pure Blondes a mate handed over. Ended up at a hotel with one of my good mates as his primary school friend was having birthday drinks there. Downed four or five pints from what I can remember and ended up absolutely hammered. 3am onwards was a blur as I made my way from Richmond to Flinders Street alone, and ended up losing my phone and wallet. Had no recollection at all. Real scary experience. Gear didn't help either. Might have been something shit.

Typically I can drink 10-12 standards at a pres session and start to get pretty tipsy if I choose to be. I'm good at looking pretty sober if I want to be. I'll get really drunk as we get closer to the 20s though, and it's something I don't really enjoy waking up from the next day.

Spirits are the absolute worst. As I get more and more tipsy I start drinking ridiculously quickly, and can down large amounts of vodka, scotch etc. It's all fun and games till 15 standards hit you at once. That's when things go downhill.....

I find it pretty bizarre the way girls get around spirits and pre-mixed drinks. They're expensive and leave you with a ton of regret the next morning.

Yeah, my mate decided to bring his own grog to a party when I told him I'd bring our remaining Coopers Sparkling Ales. Ended up drinking about 10 of them plus 4-5 other heavy drinks I found, and headed out at about 10pm with my mates. Remember entering a nightclub, apparently spent around 5 hours there yet to this day still can't remember a thing. A few mates said I resembled a zombie which is more of a relief than me going around in the club acting like an absolute twat. Scary though.
Coopers Sparklings are ****ed! Bought a six(y) a month ago and ended up sweating and feeling really bad and overly pissed. I was on an empty stomach but they were meant to be my home beers before we all convened somewhere later. Ended up sitting at home all night. Much better tasting than the inevitably warm-bottomed pales but man, they kick your arse. I say this as someone who can have a few Little Creatures IPAs and feel alright.

Coopers Sparklings are stuffed! Bought a six(y) a month ago and ended up sweating and feeling really bad and overly pissed. I was on an empty stomach but they were meant to be my home beers before we all convened somewhere later. Ended up sitting at home all night. Much better tasting than the inevitably warm-bottomed pales but man, they kick your arse. I say this as someone who can have a few Little Creatures IPAs and feel alright.
Yeah they taste great chilled and at 1.7 standards I find them really easy to get down at a rapid pace.

If I want to have a big night they're easily my first choice, but I always forgot how strong they are when I choose them for a light session at home or a quiet sixer before heading somewhere.

Hilarious watching some of my 5 foot mates drinking a six pack of them though and seeing them absolutely hammered at 10pm.

I'm more astounded that somebody claims to have gotten a drink at the club every 6 minutes?

I've been to places where there are more bartenders than patrons and still been in line longer than that for my next drink.

Surprisingly, despite my small stature, I can go through a six-pack and not get hammered. I definitely get a bit tipsy but not blind drunk. Scotch, on the other hand, hits me hard. I can go through a few standard drinks and feel perfectly fine and then, all of a sudden, bam! I'm in a completely different world.

Yeah they taste great chilled and at 1.7 standards I find them really easy to get down at a rapid pace.

If I want to have a big night they're easily my first choice, but I always forgot how strong they are when I choose them for a light session at home or a quiet sixer before heading somewhere.

Hilarious watching some of my 5 foot mates drinking a six pack of them though and seeing them absolutely hammered at 10pm.

They're only half a percent stronger than your standard beer aren't they? I've never found they got me too drunk. Not like a full on 7% IPA or something. I always found they are bad the next day though. That yeast sediment percolates in your guts.

Family & Relationships How Much Does it Take You to Get Drunk