Dan26

Jan 23, 2000
Werribee
I thought it was quite amusing for Sheedy to subtlely embarass David Parkin on Saturday.

While I have great respect for David Parkin, there has always been a professional rivalry between the two, especially after Parkins comments after last years preliminary final. Parkin said, "It was good to beat Sheedy Inc."

The two certainly aren't the greatest of friends.

It was therefore very interesting for Sheedy to play Essendons two best players (Hird and Lloyd)in the back half of the ground during the second half of Saturdays match.

Now, while we all would have been disappointed about leading by 57 points, yet only winning by 24, I think Sheedy was subteley trying to have a go at David Parkin through these match-ups.

While Sheeds certainly didn't plan on giving up a big lead, by doing what he did, it was almost as if we were USING Carlton as a toy. It was as if we were using the as an experiment. He deliberately played Hird and Lloyd out of position, knowing full well it would affect the teams scoring, but Sheeds didn't care.

It was almost as if Sheedy was saying, "We've got you beat, now I am going to play around with you, Parkin"

And it all cmae to a head when Parkin was walking off the ground. Allegedy, that supporter, whom David Parkin hit, said, "Hey Parko, did you have a bet with Sheeds, or something"

Now that comment from the Essendon supporter was obviously in reference to the fact that Sheedy was toying with Parkin, and the fact that Essendon let Carlton back in the game, when they clearly could have at least maintained their 9 goal lead"

It frustrated Parkin so much, that he lashed out at this supporter.

Now, I don't thinks Sheeds was doing ALL of this deliberately, but Kevin Sheedy is a very proud man, and he is very competitive. I believe David Parkin found it quite humiliating on Saturday.

What a haep of GARBAGE!

Toying with the opposition to rub it in!!!

This is the type of thing that can COST YOU BIG TIME!!!

Or have you forgotten the pummelling that your boys gave twice to the blues last year only for them to say that some of the things that sheeds said and did made them go out with something to prove to the bombers.

All it did was cost the dons percentage and gave carlton the tiniest window that if they could cut out mistakes then they where only four goals out of it.

Sheedy blew it big time to really break the spirt of the blues , and thats the bottome line!

Thats what I was thinking - although it seemed maybe Sheeds was rubbing into into carlscum, and 'toying' with them, what we should have done was continue to belt them. They had copped two beltings in a row, and a third would have effected them psychologicaly, but as it turns out, they will go out of that game thinking they can mix it with the best, and their heads will be held high next week.
Even though we killed them early, we arnt playing all that well, which is a good sign. However we are gonna have to lift a bit to get over Footscray this week.

yeah - if thats really what Sheedy was up to then you would have to say it was unprofessional to say the least.

Surely a better way to humiliate the Blues would have been to keep the foot firmly on the throttle and keep banging on the goals.

Would have boosted the Bombers percentage and would have also sent the Blues confidence plummeting even further. Also I might say that if this was the case then, it is a worrying sign for Essendon.

What have people been saying about arrogant over-confidence ? If Sheedy really was 'toying' with Carlton last Staurady then that would have to be the worst example of arrogant over-confidence yet - and this from the coach, who should know better.

G'day there Dan,

I've been thinking about this since Sat. and judging by what Sheeds said post match I can't say I agree with you mate.

There's always a reason for Sheedy's "madness" and in this case there were a few issues behind his on field manouvers (spell?)in the last half. Firstly he had Misiti and Mercuri sitting it out for the duration. Misiti was burning until he went off, hence Eddie McGuires comment when he came off "he's got leather poisoning". Also Dustin Fletcher had been up all night for his wifes baby delivery (Congrats Fletch), that's why he was too flat mentally to mind a dangerous forward like Whitnall, so he sent up Hird, Lucas and Lloyd.

As well as this Sheeds was worried by the '85 forward line comparisons, a 12 goal win is something he wanted to avoid as far as player cockiness goes. Sorry other supporters but we aint gonna need percentage to finish on top, so whats the point in a huge win. How did huge wins ever help Swans of '87, Cats in early 90's, Brisbane last year.

Revenge was never Sheedy's goal, I don't even think he gives a shit about Carlscum, they are an irrelevence, they are substandard. We lost last year because we stuffed up not because of Carlton's great play.

I don't think Sheeds tried to toy with Carlscum he just knew the game was over and treated them with the contempt they deserve. Dan, I notice you've left Bombertalk, don't blame you it's getting pretty boring there now, too many dickheads.

Bye for Now.
cool.gif

Dan,
you're full of it.

Ricey, Misiti came off when Brown thumped him, Mercuri was off with a hammy, not because Sheeds' dragged them. Personally I'd prefer to see him leave the team in their normal possies than throw 'em around, it wasn't as if we were losing after all.

dan - that post bares a striking similarity to an article I read at realfooty or somewhere. where are you getting your ideas from ?????

On the "subtle humiliation" issue- I think Sheeds shouldve stuck with the winning gameplan rather than piss fart around. As some reward for long suffering Don fans, Carlton shoudlve been destroyed. Watching that game on tv, I barely celebrated a goal except for urging the bombers to just keep piling 'em on. "OK lets get another, and another". I think the fans deserved that, but realise that our players were totally knackered- and we had injuries so it wasnt going to happen that way. unfortunately.
you just gotta hate Carlton for so many reasons.

A.

Saw that article too Arch - think it was in the news section of AFL.com.au.

Whether Dan is right or not about Sheeds frankly, I reckon who gives a toss?

Unless you were betting on margins a 4 goal win easing off is still a comfortable humping. Also Ricey your point re: Flether (and BomberTalk) is well made.

Agree we'll need to lift to beat the Dogs who are again 100% honest and competitive this year and frankly are a credit to Wallace - pretty hard to keep coming back after those dissappointments...

Grendel

Why would Essendon worry about losing %, it is not as if any team will get near them this yera with wins.

2nd, Has anyone thought that Sheeds wanted to try these guys out in other positions PLUS he probably knew it would bring Carlton closer, this making the Bomber players think Hey we aren't that good, now this week they will still want to win cause they think they are slipping as they only won by 24 points.

Rewind, ever heard the saying never give a sucker and even break?

In other words you dont stuff around if your a professional, Sheedy stuffs around, ipso facto as Ceaser said

veni vidi vici.

I came I saw I spanked its arse!

I did read that article in The Age, but I'm sure the person that wrote the article wasn't the only one thinking this. I was thinking about it myself as soon as the match was over.

Of course IF Lloyd and Hird played magnificently in the backline, and we had continued to preserve (and improve on) our 10 goal lead, no one would have said anything. I don't think there was anything too sinister about any of it, and I'm sure Sheeds had every intention of continuing to score goals, but it was amusing to be using Carlton as a toy.

As for me, I wouldn't have done it, and I suppose the Blue Boys dd play pretty well in the last quarter. They did have plenty of run in their legs, and we appeared flat even with players out of position.

Gees, I havn't posted anything on here for 5 days. That must be some sort of record for me !

How Sheedy subtlely humiliated David Parkin on Saturday