How Tasmania can have a team by 2023.

All state governments receive large chunks of Federal moneys. If they didn't they'd go bust.

No one is perfect, but You really should try & understand things at least a little bit before you post.

Ironing that you think you are schooling me when you have no idea how GST works. Oh and while you are doing some learning, check out what our income taxes were like prior to WW2.

You never mentioned GST, brainwave.

States dont beg or ask the Federal Government for GST, brainwave.

GST is controlled by the Commonwealth grants commission, brainwave.

Whats that got to do with football, brainwave?

You never mentioned GST, brainwave.

States dont beg or ask the Federal Government for GST, brainwave.

GST is controlled by the Commonwealth grants commission, brainwave.

Whats that got to do with football, brainwave?

Tasmania is a basketcase and cant afford an AFL team because the entire state is a massive drain on the country. But then again the AFL are happy to waste hundreds of millions on GCS and GWS so maybe they will hand over hundreds of millions to a Tassie team as well.

Oh! is that what you wanted to say. Why didn't you just say that in the first place.

Yes, the old, Its Victoria's game' The others are just their to prop up the old VFL suburban teams. How dare anyone else get included, or want to be.

Oh! is that what you wanted to say. Why didn't you just say that in the first place.

Yes, the old, Its Victoria's game' The others are just their to prop up the old VFL suburban teams. How dare anyone else get included, or want to be.

Most non Victorian teams paid millions of dollars to join. Tassie should do the same, right?

Agreed.
Thing is in regard to Cooney's comments, the match should never have been staged at Twin Ovals in Kingston in the first place.
AFL Tasmania spent approximately half a million dollars of Tasmanian football money on this venue when the home team (Tigers FC, formerly known as Kingborough Tigers and Kingston prior to that) were still playing in the SFL and were eventually pushed up when the forced merger of Hobart and North Hobart failed and Hobart quit the TSL to return to the SFL.
Whilst good for players in regard to playing surface and changeroom facilities, it is no better than a glorified country ground with scant facilities for spectators.
Little to no undercover seating, poor toilet facilities, poor kiosk and bar facilities, poor access, no public transport to the venue, poor parking facilities, the nearby bypass still not ready, not close to anything.
It looks neat but is totally inadequate.
This match 100% should have been staged at North Hobart where it would easily have pulled 5,000 people.
In years to come Twin Ovals might be considered worthy of staging a match at this level but not at the moment. Ridiculous.
This is going on in Vic as well.
Afl clubs building training venues in partnership with local councils. All that happens is local government and local footy league funds that should be spread across facilities across the region get funneled into one ground that is used by the afl club. The grounds are rarely used by most local clubs and the running costs keep the drain on local funding going. North and Hawthorn playing there will do nothing for the local game but take money that should be staying in tassie.

The AFL having control of local Footy means there’s no one to fight for what’s best for local footy. They are a leech, sucking every dollar out that they can. It’s a disgrace.

Tassie just cant cope with it as much so the local game is showing the signs sooner. Vic is rooted as well. Most just don’t know it yet.

This is going on in Vic as well.
Afl clubs building training venues in partnership with local councils. All that happens is local government and local footy league funds that should be spread across facilities across the region get funneled into one ground that is used by the afl club. The grounds are rarely used by most local clubs and the running costs keep the drain on local funding going. North and Hawthorn playing there will do nothing for the local game but take money that should be staying in tassie.

The AFL having control of local Footy means there’s no one to fight for what’s best for local footy. They are a leech, sucking every dollar out that they can. It’s a disgrace.

Tassie just cant cope with it as much so the local game is showing the signs sooner. Vic is rooted as well. Most just don’t know it yet.

This what some on here just dont want to see.. That AFL clubs & the AFL rely heavily on the taxpayers purse.

Those that like to point the finger at Tasmanian Government budget incomes should look in a mirror. The AFL's corporate behaviour flies in the face of its claimed activity 'solely for the promotion administration, & development of the game'.

The AFL's behaviour brings that into question. Certainly if they operate in the predatory corporate manner some here suggest, they'd lose that status & be in real financial shyte real quick.

I agree, Tasmania is very much the canary in the coal mine. Community sport is under huge pressure in most other parts of the country as well. The AFL brings attention to itself so is an easy target for those who dont believe it should be reliant on the public purse when their are so many other important areas that need government support. Education, health, housing, also importantly the cost of children playing sport when the COL & housing is so high for many families.

Sport in Australia is/has been such an important aspect of personal/community development, health (physical & mental) & cohesion. How does the AFLs behaviour help that?

Haven't caught up with the thread, but anyone catch Cooney's comments the other day? What an deadest moron.

its more " we founded the league, we were here when it expanded, we're still here...oh and you've never been included"

Thats a sad & selfish view, the approach of those on the gravy train.

And so a century of contribution leads us to this point.

You can only drain the place for so long. if thats how the AFL 'system' works, then the game as a community entity, is in strife.

Thats a sad & selfish view, the approach of those on the gravy train.

Its also the facts. The facts are that the VFL was, and the AFL is, a closed competition, that decided to expand. It wasnt an open free for all. It never has been, regardless of how people wish it had been. Entry to the competition since 1987 has entirely been decided by the Commission according to criteria they alone determine, and not by some arbitrary "we deserve it" rule.

And so a century of contribution leads us to this point.

A century of contribution evidently leads us to feeling entitled, despite this contribution not being a great factor in any other team being added to the competition.

Its also the facts. The facts are that the VFL was, and the AFL is, a closed competition, that decided to expand. It wasnt an open free for all. It never has been, regardless of how people wish it had been. Entry to the competition since 1987 has entirely been decided by the Commission according to criteria they alone determine, and not by some arbitrary "we deserve it" rule.

A century of contribution evidently leads us to feeling entitled, despite this contribution not being a great factor in any other team being added to the competition.

You've just described the self entitled mentality of those on the gravy train. A century of contribution has damaged the game here. The one way 'pathway' has finally had its effect.

You can quote all the 'historic' dribble you like. It doesn't change the facts of the damage to community football.

You've just described the self entitled mentality of those on the gravy train. A century of contribution has damaged the game here. The one way 'pathway' has finally had its effect.

You can quote all the 'historic' dribble you like. It doesn't change the facts of the damage to community football.

The production line is still churning out plenty of talent regardless of how badly that sits with you.