How the AFL’s ‘power’ clubs have lost power

I do wish people would remember these details when there is whinging about GWS & GC.

That is the exact reason that the AFL can afford to prop them up.

Their value to the AFL's media rights deals, providing second games to the lucrative Sydney & Brisbane TV markets, far outweighs the dollars the AFL sinks into those franchises

No it doesnt Lol.

Whats % increase in TV rights revenue can you attribute to the Gold Coast Suns coming into the competition? SFA is how much.

Gold Coast Suns over the first decade cost the AFL $200m just in AFL specific funding, on top of what they pumped in to get the club off the ground. Conservatively it has spent $400m on this club since inception.

Nearly 20% of the broadcasting deal signed in 2015 is being used to keep Gold Coast afloat.

Rubbish

Port Adelaide fans can watch their team in a world-class stadium which cost $610,000,000 to rebuild.
Port didn't have to spend a cent. That was all due to government funding and AFL scheduling.

Same goes for the Perth clubs and their WA fans. They got a brand new, state-of-the-art, $1.6 billion stadium.

It was Victoria pushing forward that meant the fans in the smaller states finally got decent facilities.

We set the standard, they follow sooner or later.

No it doesnt Lol.

Whats % increase in TV rights revenue can you attribute to the Gold Coast Suns coming into the competition? SFA is how much.

Gold Coast Suns over the first decade cost the AFL $200m just in AFL specific funding, on top of what they pumped in to get the club off the ground. Conservatively it has spent $400m on this club since inception.

Nearly 20% of the broadcasting deal signed in 2015 is being used to keep Gold Coast afloat.

I think these numbers are right. Off the top of my head it was 3 x 5 year deals until 2017-2022 which was 6 and has been extended to 8.

2002-2006: $100m p.a.
2007-2011 $156m p.a. (+56%)
2012-2016 $250m p.a (+60%)
2017-2022 $417m p.a. (+67%)

Would the overall rights still have been worth $250m and then $417m a year without GC and GWS? Arguably yes, but in 2010 there were 8 games a round, 176 H&A games a year and 9 finals (10 if you include the GF replay), with one game per fortnight in Qld and NSW.

From 2012 there have been 9 games a round, 198 H&A games a year and 9 finals, with one game per week in Qld and NSW. Those additional 22 games, additional game per week and weekly game in Qld/NSW have some value to the broadcasters. Whether that's $1m a year, $10m a year or any other number it is desirable to the broadcasters. The AFL have had a hard on for Qld and Western Sydney "rugby league heartland" for years but they wouldn't have gone ahead with pumping millions into GC and GWS without the blessing of the broadcast partners.

Channel 7's interest in broadcasting footy (and paying for the privilege) is limited. Friday night, Saturday arvo, Saturday night and Sunday arvo is about all they want most weeks. More games and more time slots gives Foxtel more opportunity for exclusive content and that drives the value of the rights up.

For all the talk of Tassie getting a license the AFL will be running the numbers on where they can put a 20th team. There's no benefit to TV rights having a team in Tassie where people already watch AFL games, and 19 teams still means 9 games a round. They will either be looking to punt North or whoever is the target of the day to rationalise the saturated Melbourne market, or plonking another team elsewhere (possibly NT but more likely a 'growth market' like Canberra/Newcastle/Sunshine Coast) to get that 10th game a week.

Also LOL @ this thread predictably devolving into Vic vs non-Vic. Aren't Collingwood, Richmond etc. 'power' clubs?

The AFL is a bit of a nerds and Julios league. My team is financially powerful but also financially independent. WC are an afterthought for the most part to the AFL. If not for our nimrod Premier and his obsession with COVID restrictions our place in the fixture is simply making sure we get 10 home games, 10 away games and 2 derbies. Sometimes the schedule is so well thought out we play at 3.20pm EST on a Sunday in Perth (so 1.20pm for people attending) and then there is a game at 4.10 or 4.40pm or even later EST in Melbourne - which people hate going to. You would think if you are going to have a 4.40pm time slot and a game in Perth where it's still 2.40 you would.... anyway.

Other than NSW/Qld pet projects of the day (that fluctuates, AFL stopped caring about the Lions for years once GC came along) the pecking order is big Vic clubs then the rest. As far as the AFL is concerned WC and co. get big crowds and make money regardless and North, WB etc. don't and don't so who cares about them? It's all about the blockbusters!

Also LOL @ this thread predictably devolving into Vic vs non-Vic. Aren't Collingwood, Richmond etc. 'power' clubs?

Yeah I wonder how that happened.

It's a very interesting concept that the AFL have basically accepted the continual denigration of their own asset, Docklands, that they own outright and backed the absolute lionization of the Government owned MCG. Really odd.

The MCG is as over rated as Docklands is under rated. Outside being big, there isn't anything particularly stand out about the MCG. Docklands, when it used to get decent crowds had a far better atmosphere. It's like the AFL have been bought off or something. Mafia style tactics.
docklands ground has a history of being poor, hard and the surface shift, causing serious injury.

there's a very good chance the AFL sells it up and builds a new bespoke stadium on the other side of the river in the southwharf/fisherman's bend complex if the transport connections are guaranteed.

docklands ground has a history of being poor, hard and the surface shift, causing serious injury.

there's a very good chance the AFL sells it up and builds a new bespoke stadium on the other side of the river in the southwharf/fisherman's bend complex if the transport connections are guaranteed.
Why would they be selling it (who would buy it as a stadium, its land value only) if the Vic State Govt is giving them "$225 million" to upgrade it?

When the 'Big" Melbourne clubs wern't winning flags early this century the AFL shat itself and held an inquiry to make sure this didn't continue. Interstate clubs are now not winning flags....but that's quite ok by the AFL.

There wasn't an all Victorian Grand Final match up from 2011 until 2020.

2011-2021.....

9 VIC premiers
2 Interstate

If that was the other way around, the AFL would be having a serious inquiry into it, as they have before.

LOLOLOLOL if you think that was serious.

Anyway, who cares.

It is our game, we invented it, we run it, we provide most of the players, the majority of the fans and clubs.

We should win it more.

Very good point this.

I personally think a 19th licence is a recipe for disaster, and this will mean that fiscal responsibility will need to reemerge, as there will be immeidate push for a 20th to get 10 games a week.

I feel as though it applies for some clubs and not others. North and Port Adelaide are great examples of clubs turning things around off field, yet GWS and GCS are continually propped up by the AFL. Its a scary situation.
Do you think things are going to get worse with Tasmania coming in? Things were bad enough in 2011 when Port nearly folded and had to play in front of tarps at Football Park.

North are 100% reliant on extra funding from the AFL to be debt free & turn a nominal profit,as are the Saints.

Bit disingenuous to isolate Port.

LOL.

Its a good thing - Dees, Dogs and even though they're going to hate this, it is true as Jake points out, Richmond, were all small/struggling Melbourne clubs in 2010 when equalisation really kicked in, now all have won flags.

Fiscal responsibility - Wrong, factually demonstrably wrong, equalisation has CREATED far better fiscal responsibility by its existence ... you want AFL help, you submit to their rules. Its meant the small Melbourne clubs have all paid their debts off, bar St Kilda who seem to be in the process of doing so.

Breakaway - will never happen, you are deluded and kidding yourself and living in a fantasyland of about 2001. The Eagles signed up to play in a Victorian run comp that plays a Victorian sport. Fact. Cop it sweet and stoip sooking.
North Melbourne are invincible lol

North are 100% reliant on extra funding from the AFL to be debt free & turn a nominal profit,as are the Saints.

Bit disingenuous to isolate Port.
North have never had to play in front of tarps.
Remember in 2011 when Port ran out of money and would have folded if not for the AFL? I don't think North have ever gotten to that stage.

North have never had to play in front of tarps.
Remember in 2011 when Port ran out of money and would have folded if not for the AFL? I don't think North have ever gotten to that stage.

It's hardly fair to make a comparison between North Melbourne and a team from one of the colonies.