Analysis How to become a real Premiership side?

I sense we need a mid who has genuine line breaking speed and can consistently damage the opposition on the scoreboard. I do not think it is Coniglio. I was against Yarran but am shifting after discussions with a mate who is starting to convince me he may be the missing part? He is not the best player but his may well be the Bill Parcel's missing element? Possibly!

A good analysis and write up nameless - thanks.

Jetta.gif

ckEH_9.gif

Is it a bird? Is it a plane?!?!

...and you flogs can bugger off. I've already started pushing the Colyer wheelbarrow...unless, of course, WADA crushes the Essendon 34 into a fine paste :D

West Coast are looking great atm, but finals are a different game. WC's free wheeling game style may be shut down, and thus they may be forced into a grind/slug fest in order to neutralize WC's open play of fast ball movement, rebound and kicking big scores. Whilst WC have an improving midfield, it remains to be seen whether they have they quantity and quality of midfield grunt to win the slug fests under finals pressure.

Yeah, that finals intensity is certainly another level and you do need to be good in close and under pressure.
I've always found our ability to stand up under pressure has been beyond pathetic the last 2-3 years, so far this year it's held up well, save for the Freo game.
Teams often seem to pile on the tackles against us which gives an indication they are putting on the pressure and we've coped well though, so will be interesting how we go when it goes up another gear.

Mark lecras and Kennedy in their prime for 3 to 5 years?

They're both 28...

I doubt they'll be in their prime for more than another 2

Yeah you could be right, they're in their prime now, some players find legs and can see it continue though.

Le Cras, for all his injuries has an uncanny ability to recover very well, so I think this bodes well for an extended career.
He's also shown an ability to play the small forward role well, so in 3-5 years he might be doing a bit less midfield time, but hiss smarts, good hands and excellent kicking skills will still see him very dangerous up forward.

Some bigger forwards can continue playing good football into their 30s - N. Reiwoldt was excellent last year at 31, so we might look to employ Kennedy as a running CHF with Gov at FF and Darling the 3rd tall.

Good point though, and perhaps a concern that arguably our two best attacking players are nearing the end of their best years.

He still has another level to go. Him dominating in the ruck would make us unstoppable in a GF.

If we isolate his ruckwork then I think he is operating at the pinnacle of his powers.
He can, however, kick some more goals whilst resting forward.
Having said that he was burnt a couple of times tonight when he had an appealing match-up in the goal square.

I sense we need a mid who has genuine line breaking speed and can consistently damage the opposition on the scoreboard. I do not think it is Coniglio. I was against Yarran but am shifting after discussions with a mate who is starting to convince me he may be the missing part? He is not the best player but his may well be the Bill Parcel's missing element? Possibly!

I'm actually inclined back the other way. We don't need soft players like Yarran (just dirty) or Jetta (just soft). This is why Harley Bennell is the type of player we need, he's genuinely brilliant running the lines but has an actual contested game of merit. If you can't win the hard ball then you're a structural liability in my mind, and liable to go missing when the heat is on.

Shuey? He is seriously fast and has shown this over the last few weeks. Danger baregly got him and he took a bounce.

He's basically taking credit for our success. This is all Simpson, not necessarily individual players.

I didn't like his article at all.

It was like he had put this team together and it was a formality that the team would become great.

Sorry to be a negative nancy, but he was cooked, he'd run out of ideas, the team wasn't playing for him, a lot of players career's were over.

Simpson turning players and this team around is a bloody miracle.

The good teams know how to combat Nicnats ruck dominance by taking away our midfield space and making it congested.

Fremantle do it, Sydney have done it in the past. Adelaide were their own worst enemy at the center bounces by failing to do this and it cost them.

Yep, the best teams do have a strategy to combat NicNat's dominance in the centre square. And they noted it on On The Couch tonight for those who haven't woken up yet...

It's vital for the Hawks and Swans to close it down because their rucks can't compete with NicNat in the centre square.

Hopefully our coaching group have some new tactics for the centre square ruck contests up the sleeve for finals. I wonder if huddles could be used more. Got to be some things that haven't been explored because so few ruckman have been as dominant.

He's basically taking credit for our success. This is all Simpson, not necessarily individual players.

Of course its credit to Worsfold to put the games into the players , its very balanced and honest , i enjoyed the article , simmo has brought 1 player ellis . I am happy Worsfold retired he seemed burnt out , Simmo can take credit for the management of the players the game style etc whatever coaches do . Simmo is the breath of fresh air .

Say it all you want but he didn't retire, he was pushed.

Did he put games into players? IIRC Stevens and Ebert were shafted quite a bit. Swift too. He never really gave some guys that showed signs more than 3 senior games in a row in the middle. Meanwhile Selwood was on the jut from day one.

Worsfold was pushed. Besides Sheedy no ones had more than 10 years coaching a club and won 'another one'.

Those last few games of 2013 were puke. There'e no way the players were trying.

Round 21 against Geelong and we lost by 66 BUT it was our lowest ever score at Subi. Ever in 25 years WTF.
We then went to the G to play Coliingwood and scored 39 points, lost by 62.
Then on Embley, Nico's and Adam Selwood's last game we put in another Stellar performance of kicking 5 goals for 43 points in an 86 point loss to Adelaide, giving them 11 spot.
We lost to Adelaide by more than we lost to Geelong. Geelong finished 2nd for the year. Adelaide two spots higher than us in 11th all on the back of their win against us.

We were either tanking for a better pick or for Worsfold's departure.

NOW. Having said all that. Woosha is clearly a legend in every aspect,
His article talks himself up a bit, but he is 100% keen on coaching again and I can see a move to Adelaide being alot friendlier than moving to the fish bowl which is Melbourne. Job's probally his if he wants it.

Anyway. Woosha has to get the credit for moving on some of the older guys and spuds. Bringing in our current core, guys like NicNat, Shuey, Gaff etc and most importanty fixing the cancer of the club, the drug saga.

Simpson has had a small part in bringing in Sheed. He has bought in Ellis, Duggan, Nelson, Lamb and a few others too. But what Simpson has done the best is get the most out of the playing group and implemented a game plan to suit our current situation of missing key backs.

Hawthorn are still the team to beat and Simpson has made us similar to them but with a twist on our set up's and defensive web in under two years.
Massive credit to Simpson,the coaching team and the players for pulling their fingers out, but still some love has to go out to Woosha in all of this.

Well I think a lot of people on this thread are looking at the article from a very different perspective. The part I found most interesting was when he said that Hurn and Priddis came into his office and asked when they were going to win a game in 2009. Real sign of strength of our management to not lose many players during this period and not throw out the baby with the bathwater. I mean most clubs would have sacked the coach and the club would have been a shambles.

I do believe it was the right time for Worsfold to move on, but to say anything other than he played a big part in where the club is in 2015 is a lie. I mean a lot of the real successful recruitment happened under his watch, even if it didn't seem like that at the time. Namely Wellingham. Also found it interesting he essentially conceded that 2011 shocked him and we rose much faster than he expected. According to his time line it was fromm 2013 onwards he really expected us to challenge.

True we 2013 was a shocking year for us, but it may just have been an anomaly. Maybe the players just needed some new ideas and voice because all our best performing players bar Yeo and Sheed were recruited under Worsfold's time. Undoubtedly though Simpson has got the best out of a range of players who were floundering under Woosha. Essentially what I'm trying to say is that Simpson has done a fantastic job but Woosha certainly set him up with all the right ingredients, just needed a new recipe.

Get through this round against the pies and we've got 5 of our remaining 7 games in Perth.
Some quality opposition but that all seems like a perfect lead up to finals footy.
(minimal travel so we should be fresh, and recent games against Syd Haw, Freo, even the dogs who beat us in round 1)
Throw in home finals If the wins come our way and it could even be 7 out 9 weeks in Perth before a trip to the MCG.

Analysis How to become a real Premiership side?