Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier? - Part 7

Yes, its very hard, and add in how GPs are now often no longer bulk billing while ED is free...

And on my point about Northern occupancy, right now we have 108 patients in the department, with 41 awaiting an in hospital bed, another 10 awaiting a short stay bed and 16 waiting to be seen by a doctor with the longest person waiting 2 hrs 21 minutes

But do you hear us in the media, no you don't. Because we are the permanently ignored; the forgotten where nurses leave to the over resourced tertiaries; and who seem to have some permanent curse/ blessing that no matter what negative media appears it is always buried by other stories. Always.
Bring on Practice Nurses with more responsibility. Like allowing them to write repeat pre-existing prescriptions. And using pharmacists to more effect. A GP in the practice I attend is a former pharmacist and agrees they are underused. This sort of thing works in NZ. It's the powerful medical colleges who are thwarting it here.

That and we lack the nurses to do so.
We (northern Ed) have been asked by executive to train nurse practitioners to work at a future site in craigieburn (well the existing health centre) and Donnybrook to basically run an urgent care. But do tthey give us resource or time? * no that would be organised. They just say make it happen then we tell them umm * not possible and then they but “we promised the government we could”

That and we lack the nurses to do so.
We (northern Ed) have been asked by executive to train nurse practitioners to work at a future site in craigieburn (well the existing health centre) and Donnybrook to basically run an urgent care. But do tthey give us resource or time? * no that would be organised. They just say make it happen then we tell them umm * not possible and then they but “we promised the government we could”
Practice Nurses operate effectively at many GP practices now as I'm sure you know. And, even with their restricted duties, relieve pressure on GPs. Know some patients who prefer seeing them. They just need more extensive powers. But, as you say, there are people number issues. Hopefully with the changes to graduating and advanced training matters will improve.

I have been thinking over in tbe last few days that Jeff Kennett and his diversive and penny pinching of public assets and utilities regime has resulted ultimately in generations of long term Victorians (including people now reaching Boomer age) of never trusting the LNP again or at least have much more faith and trust in Dan Andrews and his public infrastructure spending agenda

Kennett closing down most of the Tech Schools here in Victoria was one of the most arrogant and short sighted decisions in Vic Poltical history..

I do not believe Victorians (imo the most educated and clued up voters in Australia) will never again accept an extreme right wing leader like Kennett again, the LNP have to accept this, or forever be in the political abyss in this state, if not overrun by the Greens.

Also issues with regards to LGBT and women's rights the Vic Libs need to start becoming more progressive for a younger generation of Victorians.

Former LNP Premier Ted Baillieu's son Rob, who is gay, made a very courageous and passionate campaign and comments against his Father's party and their own policies, not just against the LGBT community, but issues like climate change too.

The Vic Libs need to evolve and become more progressive.

Yes, its very hard, and add in how GPs are now often no longer bulk billing while ED is free...

And on my point about Northern occupancy, right now we have 108 patients in the department, with 41 awaiting an in hospital bed, another 10 awaiting a short stay bed and 16 waiting to be seen by a doctor with the longest person waiting 2 hrs 21 minutes

But do you hear us in the media, no you don't. Because we are the permanently ignored; the forgotten where nurses leave to the over resourced tertiaries; and who seem to have some permanent curse/ blessing that no matter what negative media appears it is always buried by other stories. Always.

Whats happening with Albo's urgent care centres?

They are some crazy numbers mate.

My guess is that at least part of it is people taking their kids to ED for ailments that could easily be handled by their GP. That also applies to emergencies at public hospitals generally, btw. Part of that is an understandable parental concern. Another is it's free and the payment gap at a GP is getting problematic for many. And the cost at a private hospital ED is expensive. Some might say exorbitant.

EDs not handling the incoming in Covid times is occurring throughout the country.

There are other considerations too, qualified staff shortages being one. Part of which is Covid related. As it is with Ambos.

Channel 9 had a story tonight with some woman outraged at how long it took to see a doctor at RCH yesterday, before matter of factly saying "I'm not going to pay $85 to see a GP" as though it's the stupidest thing ever. Maybe she got a bad edit, but I reckon your argument loses some weight if you're just portrayed as a tightass whose child isn't worth $85 to them. And I suspect it wasn't a bad edit, cos we've all met parents who think the world needs to stop for their little cum spawn - I think that's what's going on here.

Imagine what happens to the health system if all parents think that way? That paying $85 for your child to see a doctor (when you get nearly half of that back) is just the stupidest thing imaginable?

I totally understand that 85 bucks is an impost on a lot of people. This woman just didn't seem like one of them, she seemed like an entitled pain in the ass who thinks the world owes her child.

Edit: found the story on Twitter. Interesting that the woman who won’t pay $85 for a doctor has recently had her brows & lashes obviously done. I’m not typically one to judge how others spend their money - but “I’m not going to spend $85 on a GP” when you’ve just spent more than that on lashes & brows isn’t a great look imo

$85 to see a GP is highway robbery

You get 39 or something back from Medicare.

And as someone who has been genuinely broke, I've never had a GP or a psychologist throw me out cos I couldn't afford to pay. If you're in hardship (ie. have a pension card or health care card), you can generally find a bulk billing service.

Main time I object to $85 for a GP is when I have to go twice yearly to review my prescriptions, they have a 2 minute consultation:
"You still taking these..."
"Yep I see a specialist every year or two to review"
"Cool here's your prescriptions"

2 minutes and $85 later...

Luckily I managed to find a bulk billing place for this after looking for ages.

Main time I object to $85 for a GP is when I have to go twice yearly to review my prescriptions, they have a 2 minute consultation:
"You still taking these..."
"Yep I see a specialist every year or two to review"
"Cool here's your prescriptions"

2 minutes and $85 later...

Luckily I managed to find a bulk billing place for this after looking for ages.

I'd suggest that if you only need to see a GP twice a year you're miles in front!

You get 39 or something back from Medicare.

And as someone who has been genuinely broke, I've never had a GP or a psychologist throw me out cos I couldn't afford to pay. If you're in hardship (ie. have a pension card or health care card), you can generally find a bulk billing service.
And people still think we have free healthcare

There is one very nearby, I’m not sure if my triage nurses are remembering to make referrals.
Between VED, the UCC and the Respiratory Clinic I'm transporting about 50% of patients now. We recently also had clarification around the UCCs as well.

Also I've had arguments with parents about hospital destination. The RCH is not appropriate for every child and there is no need to skip perfectly good hospitals instead.

I have been thinking over in tbe last few days that Jeff Kennett and his diversive and penny pinching of public assets and utilities regime has resulted ultimately in generations of long term Victorians (including people now reaching Boomer age) of never trusting the LNP again or at least have much more faith and trust in Dan Andrews and his public infrastructure spending agenda

Kennett closing down most of the Tech Schools here in Victoria was one of the most arrogant and short sighted decisions in Vic Poltical history..

I do not believe Victorians (imo the most educated and clued up voters in Australia) will never again accept an extreme right wing leader like Kennett again, the LNP have to accept this, or forever be in the political abyss in this state, if not overrun by the Greens.

Also issues with regards to LGBT and women's rights the Vic Libs need to start becoming more progressive for a younger generation of Victorians.

Former LNP Premier Ted Baillieu's son Rob, who is gay, made a very courageous and passionate campaign and comments against his Father's party and their own policies, not just against the LGBT community, but issues like climate change too.

The Vic Libs need to evolve and become more progressive.
For all their faults, Kennett's government was the most competent I've seen in Victoria during my lifetime. Look at where Victoria started and ended under Kennett's leadership. I call it progress.

The Vic Libs only need evolve to be more competent. Few voters care about gender pronouns and glue protesters.

It's possible that you lie on the fringes if you think Kennett was extreme right. The LNP under Kennett were center right, much like the ALP of today.

For all their faults, Kennett's government was the most competent I've seen in Victoria during my lifetime. Look at where Victoria started and ended under Kennett's leadership. I call it progress.

The Vic Libs only need evolve to be more competent. Few voters care about gender pronouns and glue protesters.

It's possible that you lie on the fringes if you think Kennett was extreme right. The LNP under Kennett were center right, much like the ALP of today.
Agree, but this govt is clearly better and the voters agree

destroyed 2 large prosperous towns in the latrobe valley (and surrounding areas) .... kennett can go f$%k himself

one of the great political highlights of my life is watching him humiliated on live tv on the night of the 1999 frankston east by-election

Seeing him pontificate about how millennials haven’t had any “bad times” shows he doesn’t understand the political landscape. He talks at young people, not to them.
GFC and a pandemic don't count!

Between VED, the UCC and the Respiratory Clinic I'm transporting about 50% of patients now. We recently also had clarification around the UCCs as well.

Also I've had arguments with parents about hospital destination. The RCH is not appropriate for every child and there is no need to skip perfectly good hospitals instead.

:thumbsu: as reflected at the RCH in the past few days. When they* cant discharge patients the logjam begins.

* all hospitals with EDs.

Agree, but this govt is clearly better and the voters agree

& post the Danslide will the public as forgiving? The problems in health wont go away.

'Also continuing her outstanding work to support Victoria’s recovery from the pandemic and deliver the best healthcare for every Victorian in every corner of our state, Mary-Anne Thomas will continue as Minister for Health and lead minister for the Department of Health, and will take on the key Parliamentary role of Leader of the House.

She will add the portfolios of Health Infrastructure and Medical Research to her responsibilities as the Labor Government continues to build and upgrade health services across Victoria – and will cement Victoria’s proud place as a global leader in cutting-edge health research. The Minister will also deliver our significant election commitments in women’s health, ensuring it gets the funding and focus it deserves.

Gabrielle Williams will gain the Ambulance Services portfolio, as well as continuing to rebuild the state’s mental health services from the ground up as Minister for Mental Health and delivering truth and justice to First Victorians as Minister for Treaty and First Peoples.'

:thumbsu: as reflected at the RCH in the past few days. When they* cant discharge patients the logjam begins.

* all hospitals with EDs.
I was turned away from the RCH in the late 80's after Warragul hospital called them and told them they were transporting me there. In the 2 hours between calling and arriving, they'd filled up, and I was back in an ambulance to the Austin or Alfred, where I spent about a week in a room full of steam for my Bronchilitis. Not sure if they even use that treatment any more.

A LOT of parents take their kids to the RCH instead of a more local hospital because of the wait-times at the other hospital EDs.

I was turned away from the RCH in the late 80's after Warragul hospital called them and told them they were transporting me there. In the 2 hours between calling and arriving, they'd filled up, and I was back in an ambulance to the Austin or Alfred, where I spent about a week in a room full of steam for my Bronchilitis. Not sure if they even use that treatment any more.

A LOT of parents take their kids to the RCH instead of a more local hospital because of the wait-times at the other hospital EDs.

All a part of the same problem that is not going away.
FWIW,Warragul is my local & I've only got nice things to say about them even whilst suffering staff shortages thru Covid.

Steam isn’t used now. Likely was Austin as I think Alfred (like rmh) freak out if a child arrives (certainly when I worked rmh it was a bit omg) Alfred could be different

All a part of the same problem that is not going away.
FWIW,Warragul is my local & I've only got nice things to say about them even whilst suffering staff shortages thru Covid.
The ambulance back then was not a metropolitan style ambulance. I recall it being more like a panel van and an uncomfortable stretcher. But people have been there on a Saturday with sporting injuries and out pretty quick.
Steam isn’t used now. Likely was Austin as I think Alfred (like rmh) freak out if a child arrives (certainly when I worked rmh it was a bit omg) Alfred could be different
I hadn't seen any treatment like this since. I was sat in a bed with a tent above it in a room full of steam for a long time with parents only allowed to stay overnight on rare occasions. In hindsight I've always wondered if it did any good.

My point is that hospital turn-aways are not new and I think parents (and many people) are hyper-vigilant about respiratory illnesses which are probably mostly cold/flu, but people are being cautious and treating them like COVID.