Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier?

They prepare you for the theory side of issues, but, not so much the practicalities. Again..how many tradies do you know who went to Xavier or Scotch? Doesn't happen anywhere near as much. Maybe a search of Melbourne's legal and financial fraternity...

There does appear to be a disconnect coming out of university and getting work.
So we are using tradies as the example of why government schools are better for practical preparation...

You realise that areas such as law, finance, accounting, engineering, and medicine among a whole lot of others require significant theory based educations before you are able to even consider operating in those fields?

Furthermore many government schools offer nothing really different in terms of specific vocation based training when compared to private schools unless you go to one of these new tech schools that the government offers. Even then you still have to complete a significant amount of off site training which would not be provided by the school in order to learn. People I know went to one of the long standing schools like that and the only benefit they obtained was they were allowed to work practically one day a week over the year. Yet they still had to complete the same requirements over the time as someone who wasn't doing it as part of their school course. Above this practically based university programs such as nursing, teaching and medicine also require significant compulsory job based time to be spent as a part of the course much like carpentry does. There are a number of reasons however why job experience cannot be ascertained in high school in those industries and seeming schools like Scotch College and Xavier have multiple students who end up practicing in these areas it defeats the purpose of offering job based training.

As a side note, some of the best vet program schools (the vocational vce units) which offer on the job type training programs are run by private schools. A couple of the top girls schools have outstanding programs in multiple disciplines and I went to a fee school which offered what was considered to be the best food and hospitality program in the state.

The claim that government schools offer better practical experiences when com[pared to other school types such as private schools is a myth. The facts clearly demonstrate why private schools will offer less practical based courses than government schools. Furthermore even then there is significant evidence to demonstrate the quality of vocational units at non government schools is a higher standard when offered.

What the Opposition (and the Herald Sun) needs to undermine Daniel Andrews and hopefully have a slim chance of winning the next election is a major political scandal (ie Loans Affair 1975).

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

What the Opposition (and the Herald Sun) needs to undermine Daniel Andrews and hopefully have a slim chance of winning the next election is a major political scandal (ie Loans Affair 1975).
Mate they've been trying to manufacture one since day 1. And the only "Major Political Scandals" have been Guy and the HUN has downplayed them.

The Kennett Government made the first agreement for the Grand Prix, which, among many other things, enabled the redevelopment of Albert Park so it was no longer an embarrassment.

Since 1999, the ALP have been in government in Victoria for 14 out of 18 years, and have signed on for the Grand Prix a number of times. It is an area of bipartisan agreement.

The Kennett Government made the first agreement for the Grand Prix, which, among many other things, enabled the redevelopment of Albert Park so it was no longer an embarrassment.

Since 1999, the ALP have been in government in Victoria for 14 out of 18 years, and have signed on for the Grand Prix a number of times. It is an area of bipartisan agreement.

a few lib pollies are quoting this well done for being a patsy

Truth would be victoria has only had effective government for 14 of the last 18 years, please don't make another four year mistake

a few lib pollies are quoting this well done for being a patsy

Truth would be victoria has only had effective government for 14 of the last 18 years, please don't make another four year mistake
Yet despite federal Labor only having been in power for six of the last of the last 21 years all that ails the country is on them.

I don't recall the exact length of the first agreement, but it was around the 10 year mark. As your post inferred ongoing responsibility for the Grand Prix agreement solely belonging to one party, I thought it pertinent to give a more well-rounded picture of the facts regarding this issue - the ongoing operation of the Australian Grand Prix at Albert Park and the arrangement for Victorian Government assistance is an item of no disagreement between the Liberal Party and the Australian Labor Party at this time.

Not sure where IBAC sits on the political spectrum, but hopefully their investigation brings down Dirty Dan's inept government.

Genuine question.

Do you know what IBAC is investigating?