Howe many?

Maybe because he was tagged in the first half? You know, that one role they play to negate the impact of another player. :$

Gets released in the second half and suddenly has time and space to find the ball.
Perhaps might have been released a little round the ground but was certainly tagged at stoppages. You cant straight up punch blokes especially good players and not receive a genuine punishment. If he hadnt played on then I would have advocated he get 5 weeks.

WTF does this even mean??

Ordinarily it would have been a low impact (grading)," Christian said.
"But as a consequence of a potential to cause a more serious injury, we've upgraded it to medium impact.
"It's obviously something that we don't want to see in the game...”

Why not upgrade it to severe impact? Or first degree murder?
Do the rules really allow a player to be punished for potential impact?
Surely if it’s low impact, then it’s low impact.

We’d better hope that Christian bloke never gets a job at VicRoads:
He was caught driving at 4km/h above the speed limit, but we’ve jailed him for 2 years for potential culpable driving.”

Your assuming that shook up means concussion. Have you ever been punched in the head? Varying degrees of impact and time needed to clear your head.
Mate either he's right to go or he isn't
If Howe hit him so hard he couldnt play footy for a half then he shouldnt have been playing at all

WTF does this even mean??

Ordinarily it would have been a low impact (grading)," Christian said.
"But as a consequence of a potential to cause a more serious injury, we've upgraded it to medium impact.
"It's obviously something that we don't want to see in the game...”

Why not upgrade it to severe impact? Or first degree murder?
Do the rules really allow a player to be punished for potential impact?
Surely if it’s low impact, then it’s low impact.
It means he got upgraded because of the outcry
Aka "the look" loading

He plays for Hawthorn, he'll get an apology from Chrisso
Yeah, good call. :rolleyes:

• Howe could become the first player in more than four years to be rubbed out for the action
  • Hawthorn skipper Jarryd Roughead the last to be banned for such an incident back in 2014.
  • There have been 17 players fined for tripping since Roughead was last suspended.
  • NO WORRIES Eagle and Cat stars cleared

Selwood deliberately tripped an opponent earlier in the year and he wasn't even fined.

Mate either he's right to go or he isn't
If Howe hit him so hard he couldnt play footy for a half then he shouldnt have been playing at all
So you don't acknowledge in any way the degree by which someone is hit and their capacity to perform - amazing. For example a bloke get a corky and plays on? Whilst he is playing he aint at 100% is he.

Lets just hope he doesn't get any delayed concussion.

• Howe could become the first player in more than four years to be rubbed out for the action
  • Hawthorn skipper Jarryd Roughead the last to be banned for such an incident back in 2014.
  • There have been 17 players fined for tripping since Roughead was last suspended.

Selwood deliberately tripped an opponent earlier in the year and he wasn't even fined.
Did the bloke Selwood trip get a broken leg?

2 for the punch and straight to the tribunal for trip

Happy with this so far.

The commentators were so lenient about the punch in game and didn't even mention the trip on Fisher that I was worried Howe would only get one week for both incidents.

These kinds of incidents is where a red card would be useful..the punch at least.

Cripps wasn't his usual self in the first half and likely due to the hit which was a total cheap shot only a few minutes into the game.

This was more a kick than a trip...he broke fishers leg ffs. The other trips were just standard where the player fell but wasn't hurt.

I can't see the trip. I have tried. I just can't see it.

The footage in the afl website is very poor.

There is a good video of it from a different angle earlier in this thread.

Howe definitely trips him but anyone who thinks it was a dog act is being ridicilious.

Stuck his leg out so should cop the fine for tripping but there is no way in hell he meant to hurt him.

I can't see the trip. I h

Howe definitely trips him but anyone who thinks it was a dog act is being ridicilious.

Stuck his leg out so should cop the fine for tripping but there is no way in hell he meant to hurt him.

Id agree except imo he swung his leg, didnt just stick it out.

Happy with this so far.

The commentators were so lenient about the punch in game and didn't even mention the trip on Fisher that I was worried Howe would only get one week for both incidents.

These kinds of incidents is where a red card would be useful..the punch at least.

Cripps wasn't his usual self in the first half and likely due to the hit which was a total cheap shot only a few minutes into the game.

The commentators never let up about the punch the whole game, not sure how you reckon they were lenient. Howe was looking at 2 weeks as soon as he chipped him due to the media outrage. Deserved 1 but that's the way the MRP wheel spins, if the clowns with microphones are outraged, you're getting a bigger penalty

So you don't acknowledge in any way the degree by which someone is hit and their capacity to perform - amazing. For example a bloke get a corky and plays on? Whilst he is playing he aint at 100% is he.

Lets just hope he doesn't get any delayed concussion.
Yeah but he didnt cop a corky, he copped a punch to the head, if it impacted him as much as you say it did then he should have gone through the concussion protocol, which he clearly didnt

Happy with this so far.

The commentators spent the first almost 3 quarters saying Cripps has been quiet must have been the hit from Howe

They setup that narrative and kept reminding everyone Howe had hit him

First "highlight" from the match was Howe's hit as well

Media have been all over it even calling four weeks earlier today

I saw a few versions.

Doesn't Fisher do a 360 into his leg, that is planted on the ground?

Hard to combine a foot on the ground and a 360 and get a trip.

Normally a tripping leg is in the air

Players often stick their legs out when trying to change direction, which players can run into. Haven't bothered watching 1 million slo mo replays to see if that is what happened.

His leg was in the air and hit him mid shin

I agree his leg is in the air.... but the action starts before Fisher begins his 360 and the direction that Fisher goes turns it into a trip... imo.

Well done by Fisher to change directions so quickly. Can't see Howe predicting that.

Howe hits Cripps fist with head, in preemptive strike.

613509.jpg

Yeah but he didnt cop a corky, he copped a punch to the head, if it impacted him as much as you say it did then he should have gone through the concussion protocol, which he clearly didnt

The commentators spent the first almost 3 quarters saying Cripps has been quiet must have been the hit from Howe

They setup that narrative and kept reminding everyone Howe had hit him

First "highlight" from the match was Howe's hit as well

Media have been all over it even calling four weeks earlier today

It hit him hard enough to impact his play no doubt. Not enough to initiate a concussion protocol which is attributable to how tough Crippa is.

Of course the commentators have been all over it and even more so because it was a star player that was punched. What made it worse was that the ball was not in the vicinity.

Can you imagine your reaction if Ed Curnow had punched Smith in the head within the first 5 minutes? You would be going bananas.

I agree his leg is in the air.... but the action starts before Fisher begins his 360 and the direction that Fisher goes turns it into a trip... imo.

Well done by Fisher to change directions so quickly. Can't see Howe predicting that.

Im not suggesting he tried to hurt him by any means.. but i think there was intent to stop him or impede him with his leg/foot when he saw the blind turn coming.

Unfortunately due to momentum/positioning or not he also swung the leg which added to the impact.

Again.. he wasnt trying to break his leg, but there was intent to impede him.