Hows everyone's preseason going?

understudy

Nov 12, 2002
North East
I'm only doing about 20 min 5 kms and 42 min 10kms but hope to crank that up now back into it so its alright for this time of year. Need to focus on the weights though as need to improve the strength.
Skills not a problem but will get the balls out soon just for the bloody fun of it. Thats what its all about after all.

I'm doing 20 minute stubbies, over about 5 hours, with little more than a 45 second wee break every half hour or so.

I hope to lift my tempo to 15 minute plastic cups (schooners) by season proper, so then I can forsee the need to buy two draughts pre-game/at the breaks and excercize my bladder, so that I can get completely tonked and not miss a minute of the game via bathroom breaks.

I am in pretty good nick!!

Originally posted by FIGJAM
I'm doing 20 minute stubbies, over about 5 hours, with little more than a 45 second wee break every half hour or so.

I hope to lift my tempo to 15 minute plastic cups (schooners) by season proper, so then I can forsee the need to buy two draughts pre-game/at the breaks and excercize my bladder, so that I can get completely tonked and not miss a minute of the game via bathroom breaks.

I am in pretty good nick!!
Got a coach? :D

Raising the tempo. Perfecting my sculpted biceps my curling jugs and pots. Bulking up in the pectoral major region by doing push ups but I can't get fully down to the ground as a girl is blocking my fall;)

• Banned
Fair enough

So what have u got the weight down to then?

Just hope I don't have to fork out in the interest of ur health if u end up needing some work as a result of ur strenuous preseason.

I went to one out of four pre chistmas footy trainings (due to basketball) and I start up again soon

My endurance is good (6.7.5kms in 26 mins), my strength is ****ed up as I am built like a rake. Kicking is fairly accurate but not long enough, handballs alright.

• Banned
Geez

Now working out three times a week and benching around my own body weight. Running four times a week or more.

I thought u guys on here would all be in shape being footy nuts and all. Sounds like you all need to get off the couch and head down to the park and the gym.

in shape???

I'm a footy FAN! couldn't run a lap to save myself.

Sorry to disappoint yer! Some here will be fit, particularly the young blokes (I've seen some of them run around a footy oval and it fair makes me cry), but I think a few will agree when I say a number find you don't have to do much exercise to lean on a pipe-rail fence.

Originally posted by understudy
I'm only doing about 20 min 5 kms and 42 min 10kms but hope to crank that up now back into it so its alright for this time of year. Need to focus on the weights though as need to improve the strength.
Skills not a problem but will get the balls out soon just for the bloody fun of it. Thats what its all about after all.

This sort of training should put you in good stead for a wheel chair at about 30 (or sooner or a coronary), crank it up.

It's your shout, I couldn't be bothered getting it.

s

Whenever I feel the need to exercise come on, I lie down until it goes away.

Originally posted by Rohan_
Raising the tempo. Perfecting my sculpted biceps my curling jugs and pots. Bulking up in the pectoral major region by doing push ups but I can't get fully down to the ground as a girl is blocking my fall;)

Just don't puncture her though!

Re: a

Cmon is there anyone out there doing a real preseason?

Oh well I guess u guys are a fair cross section of society nowdays.

I'm doing a footy pre-season, basketball and a physical education course

Been walking every day and doing sit ups each night but have only been getting fatter and fatter by the day so today changed the routine a bit and swam all day plus just did a 10 k bikeride. Am absolutely buggered and the Maccas i ate for lunch probably still hasn't worked its way off :(

Actually this thread kick started my preseason. Been on two runs in the last two days in a bid to get fit for football and a few open water swims coming up in the next few weeks.

Love sweating it out during a run during summer.

Kicked the Sherrin around a couple of times, gone for a bit of bike riding, that's about it.

There's a club near me, which I only just heard about (new to the area), they play in a league which stretches the NSW South Coast, might head down during training in January and see what it's like.

Need to brush on every aspect of the game basically!

Bikeriding has less impact on the joints and allows you to stay in an aerobic "burning" zone longer than running. However you have to go out for a while (at least 45 minutes) to see any results with bikeriding.

Re: a

Cmon is there anyone out there doing a real preseason?

Oh well I guess u guys are a fair cross section of society nowdays.

I've started again. Over November/December I havn't been doing much running as I've been fixing up calf muscle problems I have been getting when running. Now they look like they are fixed up and I have started to get into it again this week, till about mid feb or late feb. I have been running 3 times a week, been swimming a few times a week and been on the bike - warm up to whats ahead. Pretty fit, but will get even fitter by mid Feb.

Over the next 6 - 8 weeks starting yesterday I will swim 5 times a week, Run 3 times a week - but now thats more speed endurance training and I ride 6 times a week - sometimes more - morning and night. As I had a reco in 2001, I am on the bike more, especially after I've been for a run. I've been doing weights the last 2 months. Every Monday/Wednesday/Friday are upper body and every Tuesday/Thursday/Saturday are lower body workouts.

Haha

Good to see we are all getting into it. Seems this post was worthwhile afterall. Perhaps we can all help each other and all benefit from trading stories on our progress.

PS Spidergirl - give the mcdonalds the flick. No wonder ur getting fat - theres probably nothing with a higher fat content than that food - avoid it at all costs.

Also long sessions on the bike are good but you could also mix it up by going down to ur local oval and try doing run throughs/sprint type stuff and a few casual laps - excellent for burning off some fat.

Re: Haha

PS Spidergirl - give the mcdonalds the flick. No wonder ur getting fat - theres probably nothing with a higher fat content than that food - avoid it at all costs.

Thing is i reckon its the amounts of pasta i eat more than Maccas because i used to go to school next door to Maccas and would have it for breakky lunch and tea every day. Never put on any weight at all if anything was skinnier. That woulda been about a year ago so whether its just all catching up with me now i dunno but i am suspecting its the pasta doing more harm.

Some nuff nuff the other night said i looked like Vin Diesel, when will the kids of today get off the crack

SENZA CALCIO NON C'E VITA

C'E SOLO BIANCONERI

FORZA JUVE

FORZA COLLINGWOOD

Preseason sucks. At least it all starts next month thank god. There are only so many re-reruns of the footy show and matches from 1996 that you can watch.

Just finished two weeks of holidays. I surprised myself by still bothering to get up at 5:30 each morning to go swimming. I swim everyday for an hour. Gym at night for one hour, and alternate perhaps with boxing for 30 mins. Then half an hour of toning exercises per day.

Weekends are the same. SO I work out around 20 hours per week.

Hows everyone's preseason going?