How's your Day Going?

The beaches and harbour make it kind of good. I like how it's not laid out on a grid either - all those streets that snake around. But yeah, if your heart's in Melbourne (and your hawks), it's a bummer.
I live in Adelaide lol, anyway I do love it here as terrible as it is, I love my local footy club, my mates and just everything about the place. Sydney might be nice but I'd hate it

Ah, there you go. Apologies. The reasons stay the same, I guess. When might this move happen?

Not sure at all, would either be later this year or early next year.

I'd sue your parents HSSB! Sending you to a Penal Colony, BAH.

Pretty soon your mates in Adelaide wont recognise you.

You'll have a tree stump for a neck and the vocabulary of a cave man.....or you'll be soon as camp as a row of tents hanging out for the next gay mardi gras.

Nice place to visit and compare and remind yourself how lucky we are not living that nightmare.

On a brighter note, my day improved immeasurably when I came across my new signature just before.

Yes, snaithy is a interesting one, a genuine good bloke, he has offered me his sister on his next trip to melbourne. Good to see him back

You'd want to make that Adelaide GH, that is where princess Jane resides. She is 40, tiny, hot as, ex model, smart, loves golf, Scotch, drives a Merc, is single and she shows an ever increasing interest for the Hawks, (previously a Tiger). If you are skinny, nerdy looking, wear glasses and cardigans you are a good show.

No problems for the sig Grizzle guts.........i think that could possibly be the first time i have ever been quoted and not had it read out loud in a court of law. You're not a pig are you?? I do not see the value of Ellis and i honestly think he needs a shake up. Just seems to have no fire in him, but he aint the only flea on the dog at present.

On topic, my day was so lazy, except for gym where, on their music video loop, they had Justin f...ing Beiber playing....can you believe that? In a gym. Not happy. Public holiday today and none of the 3 skinny girls in Mackay were in the cardio room....damn it. I try not to judge and think I'm a nice bloke but i have NEVER seen so many obese people in my life as in this town.....very sad really.

Coal board medical tomorrow, should be fun. I best go and study for my urine test, they tell me it's a doozy. :D

Nah, I'm not on the force. But I do love your quote. Quality all the way.

Good news on not being bacon....we can be friends.
Thanks for the compliment.....Ellis the Camel, frustrating man. Tell me, what do you think he would have done - skun him some cats or got his eyes ripped out?

Ever had that little scenario play out when you tell your 3 year old to stop it (whatever it may be - splashing his soup all over the place, throwing shit at his little sister, breaking the dishwasher, squealing like a car alarm, etc) and they just keep doing it? I reckon I had that happen six ****ing times tonight. Drove me to the point of madness. I felt a fury I've never felt before - and I gotta say, it is a very shite feeling to yell your head off at someone 3 times smaller than you and watching them break down in tears - man it just makes you feel like a coward.

Parenting - anyone got a manual?

Ever had that little scenario play out when you tell your 3 year old to stop it (whatever it may be - splashing his soup all over the place, throwing shit at his little sister, breaking the dishwasher, squealing like a car alarm, etc) and they just keep doing it? I reckon I had that happen six ****ing times tonight. Drove me to the point of madness. I felt a fury I've never felt before - and I gotta say, it is a very shite feeling to yell your head off at someone 3 times smaller than you and watching them break down in tears - man it just makes you feel like a coward.

No manual. I know the feeling. What else can I say?

Just come out the other end of two weeks of our little 3yr old in the most foul of moods. He was such a little t%rd that I seriously contemplated putting him on the nature strip, and you're right LP, it makes you wonder about yourself.

In all fairness to him, he was unwell. I know how he was feeling because I caught his cold. I'm glad I did because it made me appreciate just how miserable he was.

Had a chat with Garry McDonald today.

Lovely fella.

He is. He's a model train freak too - has like miles of lines in his basement. or at least did.

If you are skinny, nerdy looking, wear glasses and cardigans you are a good show.

GH knows just the person. He evens carries his own paper bag with the holes for the eyes cut out...just so he doesnt scare the girls.

Bit late LP. page 1 reads.. parenting..best to avoid if possible.

Had a chat with Garry McDonald today.

Lovely fella.

Is the voice of the scary creature in Katie Holmes movie shot here in Melbourne that should finally be out in June July.

Have met his son David (he wisely decided to stay behind the cameras and not go through the public dramas his father has faced) he directs all the Australian version of 'As the Bell rings" a joint Disney Channel 2 production.

Bit late LP. page 1 reads.. parenting..best to avoid if possible.

Rusty, well, I don't have any.

BUT, I will say, hang in there, there are many challenges, with behaviour, but, as long as they are healthy....if you know what I mean.

Have spent the day locked in my room writing an essay. Have only eaten a muffin. Can't call it a bad day because I like what I'm writing on and it's a flexible question, but ... it's hardly a good day.

Did get Friday night off though, so winning there.

Wouldn't worry about it LP - revenge will be tenfold as a teenager when at times they treat you like your nothing more than a piece of chewing gum under their shoe. :cool:

Re: Clarkson surely is under the pump

All good now CP, just had a rough day!

On another note I've been asked to put together a website in two weeks, including all the design. We decided that professional help was too expensive and that they wouldn't hit the deadline. Just have to make sure it doesn't look look like a DIY job!

An age old problem since the beginning of time. I know exactly how you felt, i realized some time ago whenever i got angry with them i was only getting angry with myself. They are a smaller version of who you are.

Then i thought of all the things i would get up to , i was a devil of a kid, and the only way my parents knew how to control me was smack..........my parents were strict with me and my brothers but thinking back we gave them hell.
What amazes me is how the grand-parents get along with the grand-children, they give them everything and they get away with a lot more than what we were allowed. When i bring this up with my parents they brush it of and say there only little........but you never let me and my brothers get away with that....."it was different then" they reply......why was it different??????

Times have truly changed............

On a lighter note, it is go slow day for me at work........i have completed all my deadlines... no emails off any importance, taking it easy and i am leaving early for a round of golf at the Yarra Bend Golf Course - life is Beautiful.

An age old problem since the beginning of time. I know exactly how you felt, i realized some time ago whenever i got angry with them i was only getting angry with myself. They are a smaller version of who you are.

Then i thought of all the things i would get up to , i was a devil of a kid, and the only way my parents knew how to control me was smack..........my parents were strict with me and my brothers but thinking back we gave them hell.
What amazes me is how the grand-parents get along with the grand-children, they give them everything and they get away with a lot more than what we were allowed. When i bring this up with my parents they brush it of and say there only little........but you never let me and my brothers get away with that....."it was different then" they reply......why was it different??????

Times have truly changed............

The thing I can't seem to get my head around: I want my son to be headstrong, opinionated and disobedient. I really like these traits - just not with me! I don't want him to be a follow-the-leader and obey-without-question type. Really hard to teach the difference. The trap is that you want then to know NOW. Most lessons have to be told 100 times before they get through. If you lose your cool after telling them 10 times then you're the one that is missing the point!

Have to laugh though. I picked my son up from crechee about six months ago and saw him getting pushed around by other kids (that's not the funny part). I sat him down and said "don't let anyone push you around - if someone hits you, or tries to take your stuff, you hold on with everything you've got!" Went to pick him up last week and saw the carer try and gently take a toy off him. The kid just wouldn't let go. He didn't scream or rant or rave, he was just 100% focused on not letting go. I felt sorry for the carer, she had no way of breaking this determination.

That's when I kind of realised it's going to take a looooooooooooong time to teach him the subtleties of life. Must be confusing for a kid.

The thing I can't seem to get my head around: I want my son to be headstrong, opinionated and disobedient. I really like these traits - just not with me! I don't want him to be a follow-the-leader and obey-without-question type. Really hard to teach the difference. The trap is that you want then to know NOW. Most lessons have to be told 100 times before they get through. If you lose your cool after telling them 10 times then you're the one that is missing the point!

Have to laugh though. I picked my son up from crechee about six months ago and saw him getting pushed around by other kids (that's not the funny part). I sat him down and said "don't let anyone push you around - if someone hits you, or tries to take your stuff, you hold on with everything you've got!" Went to pick him up last week and saw the carer try and gently take a toy off him. The kid just wouldn't let go. He didn't scream or rant or rave, he was just 100% focused on not letting go. I felt sorry for the carer, she had no way of breaking this determination.

That's when I kind of realised it's going to take a looooooooooooong time to teach him the subtleties of life. Must be confusing for a kid.

It takes patience and Love to teach the young, i have learnt that as i go along. You want them to be better than yourself and learn everything but it takes time.

I think you are a better parent than you think Leather Poisoning.....you remind me of myself when i would sit my kids down and explain to them exactly what you told your son....always stand up for yourself....My dad instilled this into me and my brothers , i remember him saying to us i am always here for you.... i was a bit of an arrogant kid when i was young in a nice way if that makes sense.

Your right it is not easy to teach the difference it is hard and you do lose your cool. Instilling values and confidence is a good thing and it will come with time, one thing they do pick up are your actions more so than long winded pep talks.
Anyway i think your on the right track mate, i am not an expert nor do i have a degree in Child Phsycology only the 3 chlidren i have 11yrs - 8yrs - 6yrs.

It takes patience and Love to teach the young, i have learnt that as i go along. You want them to be better than yourself and learn everything but it takes time.

I think you are a better parent than you think Leather Poisoning.....you remind me of myself when i would sit my kids down and explain to them exactly what you told your son....always stand up for yourself....My dad instilled this into me and my brothers , i remember him saying to us i am always here for you.... i was a bit of an arrogant kid when i was young in a nice way if that makes sense.

Your right it is not easy to teach the difference it is hard and you do lose your cool. Instilling values and confidence is a good thing and it will come with time, one thing they do pick up are your actions more so than long winded pep talks.
Anyway i think your on the right track mate, i am not an expert nor do i have a degree in Child Phsycology only the 3 chlidren i have 11yrs - 8yrs - 6yrs.

Well I've got a degree in psychology and I can tell you it doesn't ****ing help!
Haha
Thanks for your kind words Arkadia. I'm pretty comfortable with my parenting - but I tend to post about it when I'm in extreme moods. You speak a lot of truth in there - the highlight for me being that instilling confidence is a good thing. For me, this is the most important thing. If you like something, be proud of that, you are as important as everyone else, don't hold back, there's too much fun waiting for you to hold back!

Going to vent.

The reason our society is going to utter shit is due to the complete and utter patheticness of both our legal system and our police force. Both are completely irrelevant and useless and only purpose they serve is to act as a deterrent to those intelligent enough to not commit crimes anyway. I'm sure there are some exceptions but in general they can all get ****ed.

Re: Clarkson surely is under the pump

It's one of the great pleasures and frustrations of parenthood isn't it when you see your actions and words emanating from the little ones.

All good now CP, just had a rough day!

On another note I've been asked to put together a website in two weeks, including all the design. We decided that professional help was too expensive and that they wouldn't hit the deadline. Just have to make sure it doesn't look look like a DIY job!

You're probably already across it LP, but Adobe CS5 has really good built in tools for creating web pages straight out of InDesign. WordPress is also great for creating simple, professional sites.