- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
- Other Teams
- Glenelg, MUFC, Triple 8
- Banned
Geez mate so you're already penciling in losses for the Crows this year?![]()
Nope I dont do that.

Geez mate so you're already penciling in losses for the Crows this year?![]()
Once again if's
So is that poor training practices by Craig???? Poor coaching by Craig????
Or was the depth on our list exposed and they werent upto it???
yes !!!
what did Hart and Skipworth contribute in 2006 ?
Hart was great for 8 games before getting injured - Skippy played 6 games in total.
So what is the marginal difference between last year and this year ?
- nothing from Skippy, Gibson, and Obst in 2006 cancels out 3 of our new recruits for 2007.....(nothing = nothing)
Roo for 7,
- Injuries are difficult but lets say that not having Biglands and Trent in 2007 compares to losing
Macca for 4,
McGregor for 5,
Burton for 8,
Welsh for 18,
Perrie for 16,
Torney for 16,
Bock for 17 in 2006.
- Clarke's absence is cancelled out by Hudson's inclusion...
So at the margin you are comparing one third of Hart's season against 2 new recruits.
Hardly enough evidence to absolutely say that the list is worse in 2007.......![]()

Without rehashing it again, you take the top forwards out of any team and they will struggle.
Yes I do believe Craig has alot to answer for last years fade out. We were cruising, he flogs them on the track and we lost all momentum and players to injury. So you think leaving Cornes to his own to get BOG as good coaching?
Craig is a great manager and motivator. Great game day coach? Not yet.
Nope I dont do that.
West Coast we have beaten once in the last two years, so wont beat them
Bulldogs got badly exposed by their hard running style late last year and would expect that to continue in the coming years, wont beat them
St Kilda we have done well aginst in the past due to their lack of ruckmen, they now have two experienced ruckmen and would expect them to take us to the cleaners
So if we are in your opinion the same as last year, yet Hudson gets injuried, Roo struggles, Burton does a hammy and is out for four weeks, where does it leave our list/structure then???
A paddle may come in handy I would think![]()
Oh?
Seems to me like you've penciled in a few losses there.
Time to stop being so negative.
Same as 15 other clubs
We shall see how negitive you are during the course of 2007 then, it should be interesting.
So if we are in your opinion the same as last year, yet Hudson gets injuried, Roo struggles, Burton does a hammy and is out for four weeks, where does it leave our list/structure then???
A paddle may come in handy I would think![]()

you still don't understand my point.....
you are asserting.....now......that the list in 2007 is crappier than 2006.
I'm saying ....now......that there's no substantial evidence to suggest that.
we can all do "what if" scenarios as you have above.........my point is that yours are all negative.....which is what leads you to "we have no show for 3 years"......whereas some others have "what ifs" that lead them to a more positive conclusion.
The thought processes are not that different - just the perspectives.........which is why I'm not bagging you for your negative summation of our chances.......just asking you to acknowlege the validity of some contrary views (including mine) and that they might be just as feasible as yours.
![]()
People are entitled to their opinions, Im just laying my cards on the table now, maybe Im silly for doing that, but I anit prepared to go throught he disapointment I went through the last two years because I was stupidly blind to where the AFC was really at.

my theory, is that you finally opened to your eyes to what has been happening the whole way through a 250 game career.
peanut.
Or, maybe I looked beyond his tap ruck work to see what further value he added to the club as a player.
In 2003 Clarke played in 22 games. He took 21 marks. If I'm a peanut for thinking that we won't miss his output then I am happy to carry that label.
shame the club didn't have your foresight.

It's no secret that one of the most interesting issues for 2007 will be how these 3 are managed.
Is is a lay down certainty that Hudson will lead the rucks with one of the other 2 coming off the bench?
Will we play all 3 ?
What I'm most interested to know is........of all the people here who have attended training sessions ....has anyone noticed if any of these guys have been involved in the forward line set up drills??
If so - there's a possibility that all 3 could be in the plans. A few here have suggested Meese as a make-shift fwd......not that I'd neccessarily support or slag that.......but has anyone noticed any signs at training that they could be heading this way ?
Please note: this thread is not about our 2008 ruck set up....![]()

How psychic you were with your last comment of your post, MD.![]()
Sadly, it's just been hijacked into another umpteen page ramble of negativity based on nothing more than assumptions that the whole season will go pear-shaped before it has started.![]()
Personally I'm looking forward to another entertaining season of footy where we win more games than we lose, and where we finish depends on whether the footy gods sh it on us again as they did last year, or smile upon us for a change.![]()
While our rucks may not prove to be be dominant, we have the prospect of the return of Hudson to look forward to, plus an interesting duel between Maric and Meesen for the other ruck spot.
In the mid-field, apart from the big names, we can watch the development of young lads like van Berlo, Porplyzia, Knights, Pfeiffer and most of all, the emergence of a gun of the future in young Douglas.
Up forward, will Nick Gill make it at this level?? Will Bock emerge as a quality CHF?? In the SANFL will Sellars and Tippett grow week by week to push for AFL selection? Will Roo play mid-field or stay up forward and kick 50 to 60 goals?
Down back, will Jericho find his position at last and become a rebounding defender instead of a damp squib up forward?? Can Hinge force his way into the defence line-up??
Etc, Etc.
We have so much to look forward to this season, yet there are some that want to wallow in woe before a ball is bounced in anger.![]()
God spare me please!!![]()
how did I know ??!!.....How psychic you were with your last comment of your post, MD.![]()
We have so much to look forward to this season, yet there are some that want to wallow in woe before a ball is bounced in anger.![]()
how did I know ??!!.....![]()
exactly !
For all the shortcomings that have been identified from 05 and 06.....we still managed to make 2 PFs.
I'm looking forward to the club still finishing Top 4....and watching how some of the issues can be addressed.....![]()
West AdelaideGreat Post .....Iam genuinely excited for the exact same reasons ....it may be good or bad but lets enjoy the ride, not get off before the journey's even startedHow psychic you were with your last comment of your post, MD.![]()
Sadly, it's just been hijacked into another umpteen page ramble of negativity based on nothing more than assumptions that the whole season will go pear-shaped before it has started.![]()
Personally I'm looking forward to another entertaining season of footy where we win more games than we lose, and where we finish depends on whether the footy gods sh it on us again as they did last year, or smile upon us for a change.![]()
While our rucks may not prove to be be dominant, we have the prospect of the return of Hudson to look forward to, plus an interesting duel between Maric and Meesen for the other ruck spot.
In the mid-field, apart from the big names, we can watch the development of young lads like van Berlo, Porplyzia, Knights, Pfeiffer and most of all, the emergence of a gun of the future in young Douglas.
Up forward, will Nick Gill make it at this level?? Will Bock emerge as a quality CHF?? In the SANFL will Sellars and Tippett grow week by week to push for AFL selection? Will Roo play mid-field or stay up forward and kick 50 to 60 goals?
Down back, will Jericho find his position at last and become a rebounding defender instead of a damp squib up forward?? Can Hinge force his way into the defence line-up??

How quickly we forget.
Foresight wasn't the issue, lack of options was. As soon as the club had a decent other ruck option (Hudson 2005) they off-loaded Clarke as quickly as possible. South Adelaide followed by South Adelaide reserves.
It wasn't Clarke's stellar form or the club's high opinion of his abilities that brought him back to the fold - it was Hudson's knee injury. Clarke was not a part of the club's plans. If Hudson hadn't injured himself Clarke would have retired (or been delisted) after the 2005 season, having played only a handful of games that season.
We are now where the Club wanted to be in 2005.

but hey, little old you knows best![]()
What do you mean knows best? All I have been saying is that despite what many people are saying, I don't think the loss of Clarke and Biglands this season will have an adverse effect on our performances. In fact I believe the opposite will be the case and I am excited about seeing Hudson, Maric and Meesen team up.
NC obviously agrees with me. He could have talked Clarke into another season if he'd wanted him.