Hurley Statement!!!

• Thread starter Thread starter nickh32

I think the fact that he is young is why his punishment might seem a little light but due to that fact it is geared towards educating himn and a second type chance. It may also seem light compared to other leadership groups trying to outdo each other with tough penalties in order to shut the media up.

You're on the right track there TD. Robson is keen to let everyone know that young Hurley has never before in his short life infringed society's rules, and an over zealous reaction by the club is counter productive. I reiterate, over zealous.

I heard all he did was knee the Cab Driver in the groin now they say his facing 5 counts of assualts. Wtf acutally happened. Why didn't the ****ing hungry jacks workers intervene.

chef-lrg.jpg

5 months to sort out what to do and the club can't announce what is happening in total.

As said, poor non directional leadership with a follow the leader punishment.

5 months to sort out what to do and the club can't announce what is happening in total.

They've punished him for breaking team rules! Punishing him for anything to do with the court case before it happens isn't really a good idea i don't think!

Just when we all thought you had turned the corner back into Napier St, the smell of an early loss has driven you back into knockers paradise.

FYI, Robson is leading very nicely.

They've punished him for breaking team rules! Punishing him for anything to do with the court case before it happens isn't really a good idea i don't think!

Exactly, they can't punish him for someting he hasn't been found guilty of.

Ummmm. Yes.

Decide on your punishment and go through with it. Don't wait 5 months then come out with part 1 of punishment with part 2 to come at a later date some time.

Undeniable that this has been handled very poorly.

Just when we all thought you had turned the corner back into Napier St, the smell of an early loss has driven you back into knockers paradise.

FYI, Robson is leading very nicely.

Not at all worried about 1 NAB cup loss. Just remaining objective which you unfortunately are unable to be which makes your opinion irrelivent.

Get an opinion on footy other than whinging whenever someone says anything negative about Essendon.

If Robson is in charge of this decision and how it's played out then you'r a fool if you think that's good leadership. Blind faith.

Rubbish. They have. They've punished him for an act that he's admitted to which is now before the courts.

Should the club just concede and accept the proposed AFL sanction of 7 home and away games?

Im sure the rest of the clubs in the comp would be thrilled with us for setting that precedent.

Just let it unravel mate, many peoples interest at stake here.

Should the club just concede and accept the proposed AFL sanction of 7 home and away games?

Im sure the rest of the clubs in the comp would be thrilled with us for setting that precedent.

Is the proposed AFL sanction just a rumour at this stage?

7 Matches would be the most ridiculous punishment in the history of football. As i've previously said, I don't care if he gets to play strait away. It is widely acknowledged that this has gone on and festered far too long.

If we give him 7 games do you honestly think he would stay at Essendon? The GC would treat him like a king.

It doesn't matter who they are at the club. From a unknown rookie to a player of Hurleys status. He breaks the law or brings the clubs name down with his actions then he should be punished with due accord.

Hopefully the "extension" of the punishment will fit his poor form.

If Mudflap's saying it, it's more than likely true.

He's nearly always on the money.

Intersting that the AFL (I heard the rumour on SEN yesterday also) would sugggest a seven game ban, when last year they were perfectly satisfied with Adelaide's 1 week suspension of Nathan Bock for striking his girlfriend.

Seems the AFL are being swayed by all this Indian bashing crap and are wanting to look loike they are doing something. If it is true.

I mentioned in another thread that the AFL will have a say in Hurley's sanction - But in saying that I doubt that EFC will accept a 7 week penalty.

Not at all worried about 1 NAB cup loss. Just remaining objective which you unfortunately are unable to be which makes your opinion irrelivent.

Get an opinion on footy other than whinging whenever someone says anything negative about Essendon.

If Robson is in charge of this decision and how it's played out then you'r a fool if you think that's good leadership. Blind faith.

I reckon a poor show in the next game will just about do it.

Show me an objective Bomber and I'll show you a liar, but as I have pointed out before, you have that phony element which makes my whinging justified.

Now, regarding Robson, he's played it quite well, and with input from the impressive Hamilton. Robson, played it well because, in case you forgot, didn't have much time to acquaint himself with young Hurley when all this occurred, then there was Lloydy moving on and a new captain in the making, the drafts, footy trips, the police enquiry, delivery of the sanction by the captain etc. But you would prefer a hasty decision and the opportunity to can the leadership of the club in preference to a measured and considered response. You also throw Knights in to the decision making process, not sure where he fits in, probably something to do with Sheedy and Hislop.

Hopefully the "extension" of the punishment will fit his poor form.

Of course it need not extend to missing any more games does it now. A game of footy is all that this first time offender and naive young man knows, and derives a salary from it. The extension thus needs to be rahabilitative rather than punitive and pecuniary.

I don't see how banning a player from football helps the player in anyway. All it does is make the AFL look like they are doing the right thing.

A Diversion Order. That might work.