General Bombers Talk Hypothetical - 3 player bounty

Hypothetical

The AFL feels sorry for us and decides to give us a few Tassie credits before they take the keys.

We get given access to any 3 AFL players from any team, on the proviso it improves us enough to make the wild cards this year. No future stockpiling...

Which 3 do you choose? And is there any combo possible that could get us there straight away?

I'm plundering Freo first

Josh Treacy. Need you to compete, get angry, talismanic, get up the ground as an option , back as a goal kicker, make the other forwards stand taller around you

Next, Luke Jackson, put the Cape on, ruck all day son, feed our mids, go wherever you want, do whatever you need to do, bring the freakshow

Tossed long and hard on the third, Daicos? Nas? Hmm seems like players icing a cake that we don't have

Player 3 .Harris Andrews. Fix the defence, kill the opps best, marshall the d50 , set up the ground

So, does that move the needle? Or are we too far gone?

Who would you choose?!

Actually how about Patrick Voss, Massimo D’ambrosio and Sam Draper as the 3 priority picks 🫠
ahhh shit, you just lit the Ant bat signal.

He'll be here any moment to tell us how bad these guys are

ahhh shit, you just lit the Ant bat signal.

He'll be here any moment to tell us how bad these guys are
I will leave all the sad sack whinging shit to you😛

Hypothetical

The AFL feels sorry for us and decides to give us a few Tassie credits before they take the keys.

We get given access to any 3 AFL players from any team, on the proviso it improves us enough to make the wild cards this year. No future stockpiling...

Which 3 do you choose? And is there any combo possible that could get us there straight away?

Josh Treacy. Need you to compete, get angry, talismanic, get up the ground as an option , back as a goal kicker, make the other forwards stand taller around you

Next, Luke Jackson, put the Cape on, ruck all day son, feed our mids, go wherever you want, do whatever you need to do, bring the freakshow

Tossed long and hard on the third, Daicos? Nas? Hmm seems like players icing a cake that we don't have

Player 3 .Harris Andrews. Fix the defence, kill the opps best, marshall the d50 , set up the ground

Who would you choose?!
Do we get the version they arrive as, or the version they become after we've Essington'd them?

Hypothetical

Who would you choose?!
I can’t argue against Jackson and Andrews. Great picks.

I think the foot skills of our midfield are so shit I’d probably go Daicos over Treacy.

Great picks and a great hypothetical.
For me im taking:
Sam Taylor (GWS) - Nothing against Harris Andrews just Taylor is a couple of years younger.
Riley Thilthorpe (ADE) - big, angry full forward who demands the footy and will straighten us up a lot!

Lastly we desperately need an A grade mid. Either a contested bull or a line breaker. Zac Butters, Chad Warner, Caleb Serong or Max Holmes would be the 4 names id try and convince to join us.

For me im taking:
Sam Taylor (GWS) - Nothing against Harris Andrews just Taylor is a couple of years younger.
Riley Thilthorpe (ADE) - big, angry full forward who demands the footy and will straighten us up a lot!

Lastly we desperately need an A grade mid. Either a contested bull or a line breaker. Zac Butters, Chad Warner, Caleb Serong or Max Holmes would be the 4 names id try and convince to join us.

Thilthorpe a great shout, can wax in the ruck with Jackson where Treacy can't

Still need something to kick too, chicken or egg?
I reckon our forward line would be more effective with better delivery.

We constantly kick it on 2MP/Caddy/Mays head.

Hypothetical

Who would you choose?!
To turn the actual club around we need 3 leaders to teach how to be a good club, forget just grabbing the best young talent.

1 Marcus Bontempelli (C)
2/ Isaac Heeney
3/ Josh Worrell - organise defence, good Essendon boy.

Heeney and Bont split time forward and midfield.

b: McGrath Reid Ridley
hb: Roberts Worrell Farrow
c: Duursma Bontempelli Day-Wicks
hf: Martin Caddy Durham
f: Kako Wright Merrett
r: Bryan Caldwell Heeney
int: Johnson, Sharp Robey Langford Redman

I'm not sure thats enough

Edit Tom Stewart is 33 he gets chopped

lets just go all out attack and forget about defending in the midfield
Nas and Horny one
then have one of the best sweeper type backmen in Wilkie or Andrews (or Stewart 5 years ago) to cover our arse if we turn the ball over.

Something about Wilkie, he's always zoning off, cab hr actually contain a man if required? Darcy ACL ruled out for me
Obviously talking if all fit and firing. Wlilkie is an impassable wall, his reading of the play is close to No.1 in the comp.

I reckon our forward line would be more effective with better delivery.

We constantly kick it on 2MP/Caddy/Mays head.

I reckon currently, well if sat was any indication, we pushed up so far to try and defend that when we actually got it there was nobody ahead to kick to, caddys paddock

I agree it was not as noticeable Saturday.

Also, not even arguing we couldn’t use an elite KPF 🤣

I'd probably go Oscar Allen, Tom Green and Sam Darcy

For me im taking:

and for context id swap Taylor for Mckay, Thisthorpe for Wright and the Serong for Caldwell.

Mcgrath - Taylor - Roberts
Ridley - Reid - Redman
Duursma - Serong - Martin
Robey - Caddy - Durham
Kako - Thilthorpe - May
Bryan - Merrett - Sharp

Sets us up nicely for the next 5 - 10 years

Have not really looked at all options but

Luke Jackson yes.
Wanganeen-Milera
Mac Andrew.

I honestly don't know if there is a combo that gets us there, but:

• Max Gawn (worst ruck stocks to one of the best of all time)
  • Josh Dunkley (would be nice to have a midfielder that's willing to defend)
  • Sam Taylor (assuming fully fit, best FB in the league)