Hypothetical: ONE of your top two players WILL be poached -- Who will you choose??

• Thread starter Thread starter Westy Boy

Westy Boy

Freo has offered $1,500,000 a season to your two most (potentially) valuable players. Obviously, considering salary cap constraints, they will only be able to snare one of them.

Under their new "tightarse policy", adopted in lieu of past embarrassments at the trading table, Freo has offered Bell, Hasleby, Black, Pavlich Longmuir, Waterhouse and draft picks 1,2,5,8,11,14,20,45,46,63 for Player X... so, you will be duly compensated.

With a little tinkering with X_Box_X's (I actually mainly used Darky's:D) suggestions, you must choose to lose one of your best players -- i.e. it is completely unavoidable, as there is absolutely no way you will be able to match Freo's offer.

Here we go:
Adelaide : McLeod, Ricciuto,
Brisbane : Voss, Leppitsch
Carlton : Ratten, Koutoufides,
Collingwood : Buckley, Tarrant,
Essendon : Hird, Lloyd, Misiti
Fremantle : Bell, Hasleby,
Geelong : King, Graham
Hawthorn : Holland, Crawford, Hay, Chick
Kangaroos : Carey, King, Harvey
Melbourne : White, Woewodin,
Port Adelaide : Primus, N.Stevens, Wanganeen
Richmond : Richardson, Ottens
St.Kilda : Everitt, Harvey, Hamill
Sydney : O'Loughlin, Kelly, Stafford
West Coast : Cousins, Gardiner
Wetsern Bulldogs : West, Grant, Johnson, Darcy, Brown
BTW: Extended it to 3 and even 4 players for a few teams with players who could be seen to be equally as valuable as the top two.
BTW2: Tried to make it: One gun key position player or Ruckman V One gun midfielder ... as I want to see which types of players you guys consider more valuable to your team.

Reckon it'll be very interesting to see how people consider the "great club man", who's been there for yonks and bleeds for the club -- for example: in our case- Johnno -- has supported the club for all his life and openly cried when he was drafted by us -- how could we choose to get rid of someone as passionate/loyal as that? But how can we afford to lose Grant, on the field and our superstar, the hero to our supporters for over a decade? How can we afford to lose West? What about Brown, our one true young gun, and most probably future captain? Where the hell are we going to find another ruckman of Darcy's calibre, if we find one at all?

Does North choose to let Carey go, one of the greatest players of all time, a legend of the club and the game, but with most probably 4 years at most left, or Harvey, a 10 year+ player, future captain? Ditto Collingwood and Essendon with Buckley/Tarrant, and Hird/Lloyd.

So pretty much, taking age, form, position, leadership, loyalty, passion and ability into consideration, I would choose.... sh!t this is hard and every doggies supporter would be dead against it, but Johnno. :( :mad: .... I feel like i've just done something sacrilegious!

For some it'll be easier, like Adelaide, where McLeod's standing (importance) is probably a considerable bit higher than Ricciuto's, hence they'll choose the latter. But I'm not in a position to say .. hence the topic!

I know a lot of people may not respond, as they absolutely love their champions, and couldn't bear to even consider one of them leave...... but if you HAD to, FORCED to, who would it be?

Thats a bloody tough question. Gardiner is one of the best if not the best young ruckman in the league and we all know how good Cousins is.

Hmmmmm

I think i will have to go with Gardy, the only reason is because Cox seems competent enough in the ruck. But if we lost Cousins our midfield would be non-existant.

Oh and im surprised you didnt add Wirrpunda to the WC list.

OH Man!!! How hard do you want to make this!

Voss or Leppa - the hardworking blood and guts captain, or the red roughie that turned down more money to stay with the Lions??

Will have to get back to you on this one.

How hard is this?
Definiteley not Lloyd, he is only 23 & hopefully barring severe injuries has a lot of great years to go, so it would have to be Hird or Misiti.
Misiti is so valuable, I think the Bombers have really missed him, we are not getting the centre domination that we do when Misiti is playing. Hird is a champion, but is prone to injuries & is getting on in years, so even though I know most of the other Bombers will want to shoot me for this, I would say sorry Hirdy you are a champ, but for the future of the Bombers, here is a surfboard as a going away pressie.:D

Originally posted by Westy Boy
Freo has offered Bell, Hasleby, Black, Pavlich Longmuir, Waterhouse and draft picks 1,2,5,8,11,14,20,45,46,63 for Player X... so, you will be duly compensated.

With these "replacements" in mind, probably Harvey.
A very small midfielder is probably easier to replace than a superstar of the game (Carey) and a mature and aggressive running player (King).
Harvey's main asset is his pace, and there is no shortage of speedy kids coming through the ranks every year. Harvey's goal sense and good disposal set him above most speedsters, but is something that is not impossible to find in anotehr player.

I'd actually keep Ricciuto and lose Mcleod. Roo's presence on the footy feild is more important to Adelaide's success and he's been more consistant that Macca.

Love watching Macca play though and I don't really want to think about him going.

Ahh you gotta love these posts.
Ok lets say for example Fremantle would trade those players.

I think I would give Bell.
Haselby is 19 and already up there with the best.
I think I would hang on to him

This is a tough one. King has already declined a Freo offer, so he would stay which leaves Boomer Harvey and the King. If they are going to throw everything at us, and the club will benefit from it - thanks for the memories Wayne.

Originally posted by ant
Yep, Ricciuto for me Westy, easy question.

I would go with McLeod, although a better player than Ricciuto, McLeod has dodgy knees and could breakdown at any time.

Freo should've had McLeod in the first place.

Probably right about McLeod's knees Blues Brat, but he's a special player, with that extra class and matchwinning ability. He's just moving into his prime. Roo's a great player but far from irreplaceable in the crows team. Not taking anything away from Roo but, "McLeod or Ricciuto?", well, that's an easy question for me.

Matt Allan for team balance reasons - and then......oh god.......well SOS and Braddles are still two of our top players so I'm choosing one of them purely due to age.....Braddles I guess but I feel guilty having to do that!:p

For the HAWKS I would Give up Holland for Pavilch,Black And 3 of freos first draft picks,then give 2 of the draft picks to the eagles for young daneil kerr(my choice for this years rising star)

Originally posted by shaneh
For the HAWKS I would Give up Holland for Pavilch,Black And 3 of freos first draft picks,then give 2 of the draft picks to the eagles for young daneil kerr(my choice for this years rising star)

Wakey Wakey now
Ill give you Bandy,Walker and our third pick (probally 18th)

I have to agree with Chicago. Johnno I'm afraid. If Grant was another 2 or 3 yrs older, it would have been him but we can't afford to lose the talls. This also meant Darcy was saved too. So it boiled down to the smalls. West is just too important at winning the hard ball. Browny could still have even more improvement in him which would make him a superstar then. I'm really sorry Johnno.

Westy - spot on selections for us. If you had put any other player in it would have been easy.

Originally posted by sabre_ac

Wakey Wakey now
Ill give you Bandy,Walker and our third pick (probally 18th)
I wouldn't give you dent for Bandy