Hypothetical Scenario

• Thread starter Thread starter Hasus

i'd hide it down my pants and then as offhandedly as possible ask him what he'd be willing to do for $10k. get him to do something crazy and hilarious and then give him the $10k (which he was gonna get anyway).

I'd have to go the good karma option and give it to him.

You would have sat there and done nothing if it wasn't for his kind gesture.

The problem is that when you win money, you automatically think of what you could do with it. Halving that money messes with those first thoughts. Secretly most would want their mate to say, it's okay, you keep it, although if he isn't swimming in cash himself, he is automatically thinking 'what could I do with half' instead of thinking that he never would have used that machine.

If there is no prearranged, here's some cash, give me half of what you win, then I reckon the right course of action is for you to offer half and be happy to give it. The right course of action for your mate (assuming he is financially better off than you) would be to accept quarter IMO.

You would win nothing without his $5, he would win nothing without your choice on how to spend that $5. His is a deliberate gesture but easy to do. Yours is a random piece of luck with a greater degree of difficulty.

Anyone who would hide the $20k is not a mate.

The people saying it would be easy to hand over half, you are all fking liars!!!

The people who are being honest; ie. the ones saying it would be tough you get 10 thumbs up for your honesty.

The people saying it would be easy to hand over half, you are all fking liars!!!

The people who are being honest; ie. the ones saying it would be tough you get 10 thumbs up for your honesty.

Doing the right thing and giving my mate half doesn't make me a liar.

All the people who wouldn't hand over half are the greedy pieces of shit.

At the end of the day your mate showed that he cared by giving you the 5bux so you repay that thought and give him half back. Yes, The amount of money involved is very different but it is exactly the same sentiment.

Not at all.

Given women are so money driven (as their lives revolve around materialistic goods driven by an insatiable desire for social acceptance) I can see how you wouldn't find it easy to hand over when it might be at the expense of that pretty little dress you've been longing for or a deposit on the new VW Beetle.

That's cool, you can't help the way you're wired.

The reality is, there are plenty of guys (and even the odd woman) who would hand half over no question. I would do it easily. In fact I'd feel incredibly satisified knowing I've done the right thing and quite the opposite if I didn't. I'd walk away from the whole thing thinking how lucky I am I have a mate who felt for me enough to throw me that $5 for a start.

Not at all.

Given women are so money driven (as their lives revolve around materialistic goods driven by an insatiable desire for social acceptance) I can see how you wouldn't find it easy to hand over when it might be at the expense of that pretty little dress you've been longing for or a deposit on the new VW Beetle.

The reality is, there are plenty of guys (and even the odd woman) who would hand half over no question. I would do it easily. In fact I'd feel incredibly satisified knowing I've done the right thing and quite the opposite if I didn't. I'd walk away from the whole thing thinking how lucky I am I have a mate who felt for me enough to throw me that $5 for a start.
Post of the year :):thumbsu:

Not at all.

talk is cheap hoffy.

tbh, i would hand over half but that's because i'm naturally generous.

I just find it weird (pathetic) that posters use this as an excuse to openly masturbate how fair "dinkum" they are.

talk is cheap hoffy.

tbh, i would hand over half but that's because i'm naturally generous.

But the others saying they would hand over half are ****ing liars rather than being naturally generous?

It is easier to be generous in life if you just reverse the situation, especially when you talking about a gift that you didn't have 5 minutes ago.

Here's another hypothetical just to keep this interesting. If you won a million on lotto with a quickpick someone gave you inside a card, would you feel obligated to offer them something? If yes, how much?

I would give them half but that's because I'm naturally generous :)
I checked the list. You are in the ****ing liar column. :cool:

I'd give it all to the homeless, every penny.
The light shines so brightly from within you that I dare not stare directly .... unlike that ****ing liar Binxy and his mates.:mad:

50/50, anything less and your a dog.
Really? Last time my dog won $20k on the pokies, I gave him a tennis ball and a scratch on the belly and he let me keep the lot.

Heres one for ya.

Every fortnight, my parents and another couple (family friends) went halves in a Tattslotto quickpick.

My mum and the female half of the other couple, always met for lunch at the same place every second Friday on their break, before going to the newsagency and getting there quikpick before they had to go back to work.

This went on for probably a year, was always a laugh and whatnot, never won anything.

Then, one friday, my mum was unable to make lunch and advised female friend to pick up the ticket, and she would fix her up the cash at a later date.

The ticket won $250,000.

My parents never saw a cent of it. The other couple bought a huge boat, renovated their whole house, bought a shack, and holidayed all through Queensland and the Northern Territory.

According to their logic, she payed for the ticket, therefore they got 100% of the takings.

Now THATS ordinary.

Heres one for ya.

Every fortnight, my parents and another couple (family friends) went halves in a Tattslotto quickpick.

My mum and the female half of the other couple, always met for lunch at the same place every second Friday on their break, before going to the newsagency and getting there quikpick before they had to go back to work.

This went on for probably a year, was always a laugh and whatnot, never won anything.

Then, one friday, my mum was unable to make lunch and advised female friend to pick up the ticket, and she would fix her up the cash at a later date.

The ticket won $250,000.

My parents never saw a cent of it. The other couple bought a huge boat, renovated their whole house, bought a shack, and holidayed all through Queensland and the Northern Territory.

According to their logic, she payed for the ticket, therefore they got 100% of the takings.

Now THATS ordinary.

That is completely ****ed up.

As I pointed out earlier though, the key determining factor here is the female. This just adds further credence to my arguments.

Materialistic goods. That's what they live for. They can't see it as they've never known any other way (maybe Tess). It's one of the many sad realities of this world. :(

BTW, if it was your mother in the situation, she may well have given half away. I guess we'll never know, but women tend to throw conscience and morals out the window when money is on the agenda. I know it's a generalisation, but it's too common to shrug this off as a coincedence.

That is completely ****ed up.

As I pointed out earlier though, the key determining factor here is the female. This just adds further credence to my arguments.

Materialistic goods. That's what they live for. They can't see it as they've never known any other way (maybe Tess). It's one of the many sad realities of this world. :(

BTW, if it was your mother in the situation, she may well have given half away. I guess we'll never know, but women tend to throw conscience and morals out the window when money is on the agenda. I know it's a generalisation, but it's too common to shrug this off as a coincedence.

hahahahaha :D:D:D wtf!