Hypothetical Scenario

• Thread starter Thread starter Hasus

My first thought was to give half.

If he automatically wants it all, he's not a mate, and if you offer something relatively tiny (or worse, nothing), you're not a mate.

At the end of the day, you're still winning something very very nice.

In fact, even if it wasn't a mate and rather just an acquaintance, I'd still give half.
That reminds me. Walked out of Fusion at Crown and some dude that I only met inside was outside and he comes up to me and says lets have a punt. Why not, my mates had already left (without telling me, ended up hooking up with a chick, so that's fine) and I was wasted as ****.

We go to gamble and we seperate for a few minutes. I told him I lost 100 and I couldnt be ****ed anymore so I told him thanks for inviting me and have a nice night. He was smiling big time and told me he won 2K. ****, I thought, nice work. He says here, have 500.

I declined about 10 times before he says he'll shout me a few drinks. He ended up shouting me like 100 dollars worth of beers, entrance into another place and a cab home. Top bloke, but he went OTT really.

Here's another hypothetical just to keep this interesting. If you won a million on lotto with a quickpick someone gave you inside a card, would you feel obligated to offer them something? If yes, how much?

lol

Last year I got one of those tatts gift pack things from a girl friend I secretly leiked.

I wished and prayed as hard as I could to win. Not so that I would get about 10 million dollars for myself, but so that I could insist on giving half to her

It would have been awesome, she would have thought I was so generous and handsome, and her husband would have been jealous and resentful of me for a change

So yes, I would give away half. Unless it was a gift from a boy or a family member in which case they could get stuffed

Right on.

Unfortunately, I suspect most of my mates would pocket the $20k and not so much as shout their mate a beer.

You must have some shit mates!

I reckon 5k is adequate, go halves if you feel obligated to. Either way you can't complain! Probably start by offering half though.

Heres one for ya.

Every fortnight, my parents and another couple (family friends) went halves in a Tattslotto quickpick.

My mum and the female half of the other couple, always met for lunch at the same place every second Friday on their break, before going to the newsagency and getting there quikpick before they had to go back to work.

This went on for probably a year, was always a laugh and whatnot, never won anything.

Then, one friday, my mum was unable to make lunch and advised female friend to pick up the ticket, and she would fix her up the cash at a later date.

The ticket won $250,000.

My parents never saw a cent of it. The other couple bought a huge boat, renovated their whole house, bought a shack, and holidayed all through Queensland and the Northern Territory.

According to their logic, she payed for the ticket, therefore they got 100% of the takings.

Now THATS ordinary.

Dogs. I hope your folks never speak to them again.

lol

Last year I got one of those tatts gift pack things from a girl friend I secretly leiked.

I wished and prayed as hard as I could to win. Not so that I would get about 10 million dollars for myself, but so that I could insist on giving half to her

It would have been awesome, she would have thought I was so generous and handsome, and her husband would have been jealous and resentful of me for a change

So yes, I would give away half. Unless it was a gift from a boy or a family member in which case they could get stuffed

hahahahaha that's brilliant.

lol

VD, I just realised I completely missed an assignment because I never go to any lectures or tutes. I'm pretty devo, I probably would have done it if I knew I had it. That just cheered me up completely, funniest thing I've read on here for a while.

Not at all.

Given women are so money driven (as their lives revolve around materialistic goods driven by an insatiable desire for social acceptance) I can see how you wouldn't find it easy to hand over when it might be at the expense of that pretty little dress you've been longing for or a deposit on the new VW Beetle.

That's cool, you can't help the way you're wired.

The reality is, there are plenty of guys (and even the odd woman) who would hand half over no question. I would do it easily. In fact I'd feel incredibly satisified knowing I've done the right thing and quite the opposite if I didn't. I'd walk away from the whole thing thinking how lucky I am I have a mate who felt for me enough to throw me that $5 for a start.

Excellence.

Sheer excellence.

I guess we'll never know, but women tend to throw conscience and morals out the window when money is on the agenda. I know it's a generalisation, but it's too common to shrug this off as a coincedence.

Quoted for quality.

Rowie09's story displays a shithouse nature on the other woman involved.

Crazyq, awesome story.

Here's another hypothetical just to keep this interesting. If you won a million on lotto with a quickpick someone gave you inside a card, would you feel obligated to offer them something? If yes, how much?

^Yes, I would feel obligated. To be honest though, my first thought was not to give half, but still something quite generous that would still make them over the moon ($1-200000?). Reason being a quickpick inside a card is just a token gesture without much thought put into it, where as the gesture in the OP displays someone genuinely wanting to involve another in a good time, ie deeper sentiment involved imo. If someone suggested I give half though, no worries, as everyone is still still getting something very nice anyway. I just think the principle differs a bit in each case.

So you're at a bar dancing and look around to find your handbag (which was on a table next to you gone).
You go to the bouncer at the door and ask him if anyone has just ran out of the club. he says no. So you wait at the door knowing the theives will eventually have to leave.
Sure enough 10 minutes later, 2 short, fat, unnattractive bogans, IN THEIR 40s walk out with your and your friends handbag.
You go "YOINK, that's my handbag"
They say "oh so sorry, we thought it was ours"
"riiiiiiiiiight, you tried to steal it and have been caught"
*their faces scowl up*
"orrr git fkd"
Anyways, they leave after that.
Ok, this is not a hypothetical, this really happened to my friend and I on friday night. I regret so much that i didn't call the police. I mean, it was awesome to catch them out (and seriously, how dumb are they to walk out with handbags they'd stolen). But it would have been sweet poetic justice to watch them hauled into the back of a police van and charged. I would have kept the charges going and taken time to give evidence in court to teach them a lesson.

They would probably get off given they handed it back and running with the dialogue as you suggest, created what could be taken in court as reasonable doubt (in that they claim they thought it was theirs).

I haven't studied criminal law, but I'm tipping they'd get the benefit of the doubt as technically they didn't steal anything, they gave the bag back. Do you honestly think they'd have been convicted? You would've gone to a lot of trouble following it up and been left looking like a goose.

Happy for a n00b lawyer like Reep to prove me wrong here, but I can't see how you'd be able to take them down.

They would probably get off given they handed it back and running with the dialogue as you suggest, created what could be taken in court as reasonable doubt (in that they claim they thought it was theirs).

I haven't studied criminal law, but I'm tipping they'd get the benefit of the doubt as technically they didn't steal anything, they gave the bag back. Do you honestly think they'd have been convicted? You would've gone to a lot of trouble following it up and been left looking like a goose.

Happy for a n00b lawyer like Reep to prove me wrong here, but I can't see how you'd be able to take them down.

Hypothetically, YES! and it would have been awesome, they would have caused a big scene, i would have antagonised them with a smug smile fromt he back of the court room which would have sent them into a slapper rage.

:D:thumbsu:

If they were tall, fit, attractive "bogans" in their early 20's, would that have made the situation different?

perhaps, but that would be up to the reader.

I made a special mention of their age because imo it made the whole thing worse.

Repping the 3 year bump

This is why whenever you give someone money to gamble with you always say "here take this and whatever you win we split"

This makes it easier for the guy to accept and covers for any wins, small or big

In this specific situation it's at least half

One morning you are driving to work, and as per usual you are running a bit late, so you are driving a touch faster than the speed limit. You reach down to your stereo to change the CD, when all of a sudden your car hits something solid. You spin to a stop, but not before several more cars have run into you and each other in an attempt to avoid the accident.
As you look up and out of your car, you can see that you hit a person, and that the person is not looking very good. In fact, you are sure that they are dead. You shakily get out of your car, and look around at the damage that has been caused. Several cars have been badly smashed up, but more importantly you have killed someone with your careless driving.
As you are standing there in shock, a woman comes up to you, tears running down her face, and obviously very shook up. As a natural reaction, you ask her what is wrong. She gives you a funny look, and then she explains that she just ran over someone. You ask her where this person is, and she points towards the person that you ran over!
You don’t understand why, but for some reason this woman thinks that she caused this accident and killed the person, when in fact you are well aware that you were the cause. Whoever accepts the blame is likely to be placed in jail for a very long time. If you let the woman take the blame, there is a very good chance you will get away with it all. However, there is also the chance that you could be placed in jail for even longer for trying to cover it up.

One morning you are driving to work, and as per usual you are running a bit late, so you are driving a touch faster than the speed limit. You reach down to your stereo to change the CD, when all of a sudden your car hits something solid. You spin to a stop, but not before several more cars have run into you and each other in an attempt to avoid the accident.
As you look up and out of your car, you can see that you hit a person, and that the person is not looking very good. In fact, you are sure that they are dead. You shakily get out of your car, and look around at the damage that has been caused. Several cars have been badly smashed up, but more importantly you have killed someone with your careless driving.
As you are standing there in shock, a woman comes up to you, tears running down her face, and obviously very shook up. As a natural reaction, you ask her what is wrong. She gives you a funny look, and then she explains that she just ran over someone. You ask her where this person is, and she points towards the person that you ran over!
You don’t understand why, but for some reason this woman thinks that she caused this accident and killed the person, when in fact you are well aware that you were the cause. Whoever accepts the blame is likely to be placed in jail for a very long time. If you let the woman take the blame, there is a very good chance you will get away with it all. However, there is also the chance that you could be placed in jail for even longer for trying to cover it up.

Reminds me of 'the machinist'.

that monstor is going to jail

You didn't see the impact, how do you know she didn't hit the person first or force them into your path? I wouldn't be admitting anything and would allow the witness accounts to play out.