30k Posts 10k Posts HBF's Milk Crate - 70k Posts TheBrownDog
Sep 13, 2000
Melbourne cricket ground. Australia
Horks
Have you noticed how normally mild Footy forum posters go Feral when there's no footy on ? Try and cool it guys.

Anyway, Here's one for the Budding PR execs amongst you.

A footy club is in dire straits and needs to re-locate or merge. You are the PR Exec charged with 'selling' it to the members. How will you do it ? Previous attempts have been disastrous. You can choose the relocate OR merge optin to sell but the attempt is to get approval from 75% of current members and 50% 0f 'potential' members. The club has (rightly) established that unless they can retain 75% of current members, the venture will fail.

PLEASE Don't name any AFL club, Present or past. This will just take us off subject.

Those opposed to mergers etc (like me) can just do it as an 'advocate' exercise

everyone talks about moving to sydney or tassie, where obviously you arent going to keep 75% of your members
how about moving to a big vic country town, say like ballarat or bendigo, its only a bit over an hour away from melbourne and can be promoted as that towns team, those towns have huge populations and im sure it would attract the towns folk to the team

what do ya reckon

Relocate or merge, it doesn't matter. The principle is exactly the same.

The only way to "sell" the idea to members and supporters is to TELL THE TRUTH.

All communication should be along the lines of: "We could either fold and disappear completely, just forget about us like what happened to University. Or we can merge/relocate and at least live in people's minds. The choice is yours."

Lay all the cards on the table. This is the balance sheet ... it's all there in black and white. If merger/relocation is the only solution (which it is in this hypothetical case) then "the masses" should be made aware of the fact in no uncertain terms. If they choose to die then so be it ... you've done the best you can.

Aside from honesty, it is also important to retain as many cultural links to the old club as possible. Use of the old home ground for club functions is one such means, as are club colours and club heroes.

If the club moves interstate, retain a VFL side in Victoria using the old colours. Brisbane, for example, should have formed a relationship with Coburg-Fitzroy. It would have been a PR coup, plus any 17-year-old kids drafted from Victoria (who isn't ready to be selected for senior duty) could stay in their home state and be eased into an interstate AFL club's culture.

Unfortunately there are no easy answers to this one.

TT has hit on the main point...communication with the members.

However, as Pess's PR consultant in this hypothetical, the one problem with the merger option is that you may only have control over the actions of one club. You may do everything correctly for your club and your club's members, but it will mean nothing if the other club does the wrong thing.

TT's right about communication with members. They need to be assured that such a move will keep the club alive. As a member, I would not mind relocating, if it was part of a new plan to establish new revenue streams and make the club more profitable.

I would want the following promises from the club:

A bloated subsidy from league administrators, to build facilities and to poach players.

Subcontract club administration to an Indian firm.

Gambling revenue from social club would be used to fund better facilities. Swimming pool, gym etc.

Private investors and others with money would be offered sulubrious packages and incentives, for supporting the club.

[This message has been edited by James2 (edited 02 October 2000).]

Hypothetical