• Thread starter Thread starter Sammy D

Sorry in advance if this has already been mentioned

I was writing something up on the blog (a rare occurance I know :o ) and this rumor I heard a couple of weeks ago popped into my mind and I'd be interested to hear the boards opinion on this...

Hypothetically say Bomber is resigns/is fired come the end of the season & we're in the market for a new coach and we looked at getting this man:

NSWToCCarey.jpg

Thoughts?

It definitely would be a plus to have him teaching Tom Hawkins from the very start of his AFL career and I think he would have the full respect of the playing group for his career on the field...

Remember, I'm just throwing this out there, so dicuss.

It has been mentioned before, but that's OK. Some people think he's a sleaze-bag and wouldn't want him. I, for one, would not object at all.

Re: Sleeze bag, there's thousands on thousands of men and women who hold positions of fame / power / authority and have had affairs etc. Yes they are **** for doing so, but it's doesn't change their ability to be successful.

Having said that there's way to many people who wouldn't accept Carey because of this, and this could hurt the club's back pocket.

Me - I'd jump at having him head coach, the point of having T.Hawkins from his AFL get-go I couldn't agree more with.

I didn't like Carey before he ****ed his best mates wife. I mean I don't know him personally, so I don't think I can properly judge him as a person. I sure as hell do not want him as coach though.

By the way I saw him coach during the legends game.............he's not great.

jacross said:
I didn't like Carey before he ****ed his best mates wife. I mean I don't know him personally, so I don't think I can properly judge him as a person. I sure as hell do not want him as coach though.

By the way I saw him coach during the legends game.............he's not great.

Fair enough, but why wouldn't you want him as a coach?
Also, the Legends Game is a highly serious affair, so if he didn't do well in that, geez he must be cr&p;)!

Jack-Packenham said:
Going on this theme why not Gary Ablett Snr.

I would love to see him back at the club even in an assistant role.

Becuase he lacks the communication skills that Carey has.

I would love to see Gaz back at the club but maybe is a specialist role. One on one with a forward.

thehoff said:
Becuase he lacks the communication skills that Carey has.

I would love to see Gaz back at the club but maybe is a specialist role. One on one with a forward.

Nice ideas. Anyone know what sort of contract Carey's got with Collingwood at the momment?

Much as a dislike Carey he talks a lot of sense on Fox Footy...Does anyone have an opinion on how he's done with Collingwood?

thejester said:
Much as a dislike Carey he talks a lot of sense on Fox Footy...Does anyone have an opinion on how he's done with Collingwood?
From 15th to top 4 in a year, with all the players back in. Rocca and Tarrant sometimes fire and Didak's been a beauty. Not a bad record BUT I dunno how much is attributable to Carey though... I'll fish a guy I know who'd know for his opinion.

it wont be King and otto rumors anymore it will be The king and King rumors instead

Carey will keep his role in the media for a few more years yet IMO. However, when the time is right, I'm sure he could apply himself well to the job of being a coach.

Persoanlly, I reckon he is great on TV.

year of the cat said:
We could have a coaching panel of philanderers -

Coach: Leigh Matthews Assistants: Wayne Carey, Gary Lyon, Sam Newman

Don't reckon too many of the players would bring their wives/girlfriennds to the social functions

I'm sure you could add a few more names to that list.

I think on one hand he could be a potentially good coach. We all make mistakes in life and pity him his are splashed across the front page of every newspaper in Australia. I wonder how many here would like it if the same occured to them. But I wouldn't want him as the Senior Coach. Maybe as an assistant coach for the forward line, that would be good.

CatmanForever said:
I think on one hand he could be a potentially good coach. We all make mistakes in life and pity him his are splashed across the front page of every newspaper in Australia. I wonder how many here would like it if the same occured to them. But I wouldn't want him as the Senior Coach. Maybe as an assistant coach for the forward line, that would be good.

Is that cos you don't think he has enough all round coaching experience (understandable)?

I'd rather get a bloke who's actually had some experience coaching (or assistant at AFL level) and have him as just a specialist forward coach (like he is at Collingwood now).

EDIT: Just noticed that CatmanForever said something similar a couple of posts above.

Unfortunately my Collingwood "source" didn't know any specifics but just commented that the forwards had scored well in most games in 2006. Maybe the assistant idea is a good one...

im sure that carey would be a MUCH better forward coach then ken hinkley.. lol!!

but like, i think that the cats should be chasing Gary Ablett SNr back to the club to just even do a specialist roll, he would bring knowledge, and enthusiasm to the club, can you imagine how happy the guys would be ( nath and gaz included ) would be to have gary ablett snr walking around showing them a few tricks???

good idea me thinks, just on what i heard about them when he walks through the club rooms before a game..

Carey was also good across half back, so his value as an assistant coach could be worthwhile. Why not get Carey as an assistant coach and Gazza Snr as a speciallist forward coach. While we are at it let's get Sam Newman to coach our rucks.

thegerman said:
Heaps better out there, Cresswell would be number one with a bullet. If he is available when/if Bomber leaves the scene, he is easily the best choice. Will not demand too much cash, but still better than mediocre and our midfield just loves him.

Ahhhhhh!!!! Get over him. Henpecked and doing nothing at Brisbane. As for Carey - he wouldn't accept an assistant coaching role at Geelong whne he already has a job at Collingwood.

Carey would be a quality head coach, forget the 'we need a coach with senior experience' smack, we won't get one. I'd happily take Cresswell as well, he's familiar with alot of our setups from his time here a few yrs ago. We could always harrass Gary Lyon even though it's unlikely he'd come on board. Bottom line is, we can't keep Thompson and his garbage setups/plans. There needs to be new ideas and a fresh face at the club......i'm still willing to coach for half Thompson's salary if Costa opens his eyes and really wants success.