Markthirtytwo

West Adelaide F.C.
I can take the dropped chest or overhead marks, I can take the hand passes that go astray, I can take the clangers, I can take the easy shots for goal scoring only a point, I can take the sloppy play, but what I can't take are the shytehouse supporters that was at the game last night. Where were they?

It was until Brisbane had got a six goal break on us that a very few started barracking. The Adel-aide chant is a joke and it only goes for about 15 seconds and then complete silence. When I got on their backs and told them to support their team some just turned around, smiled and got back to what ever dreamland they thought they was watching, because it wasn’t a football match.

True football supporters make a noise, scream, shout, chant, stomp their feet, anything, but to just sit/stand there is completely beyond me, and not only is it embarrassing that a place like the Gabba can be a cauldron of noise from the start of a game to the finish, no matter how their side is traveling.

Disgusted is what I felt last evening, not because we lost, that was always going to be a 50/50 situation, but to hear frogs croaking from a nearby house’s pond is beyond a joke.

One thing I have noticed is around me not the same people go all the time so one wonders if more and more are sharing their seats and feel intimidated if they shout. Sitting down is another strange thing to me after years and years of standing and barracking from the terraces. Not even the young ones know how to barrack anymore.
I was completely ashamed.

Your thoughts.

I completely agree with you Markthirtytwo.

It's ashame really. When the game is in the balance, the crowd is basically dead quiet.... and that's when the players really need the support and cheering to urge them on.

Rach said:

It's ashame really. When the game is in the balance, the crowd is basically dead quiet.... and that's when the players really need the support and cheering to urge them on.

You should try Sunday arvo matches at the Gabba.Nice sunny day, a few pale ales.They don't give a fig about anything, its awful.

Markthirtytwo said:
I can take the dropped chest or overhead marks, I can take the hand passes that go astray, I can take the clangers, I can take the easy shots for goal scoring only a point, I can take the sloppy play, but what I can't take are the shytehouse supporters that was at the game last night. Where were they?

It was until Brisbane had got a six goal break on us that a very few started barracking. The Adel-aide chant is a joke and it only goes for about 15 seconds and then complete silence. When I got on their backs and told them to support their team some just turned around, smiled and got back to what ever dreamland they thought they was watching, because it wasn’t a football match.

True football supporters make a noise, scream, shout, chant, stomp their feet, anything, but to just sit/stand there is completely beyond me, and not only is it embarrassing that a place like the Gabba can be a cauldron of noise from the start of a game to the finish, no matter how their side is traveling.

Disgusted is what I felt last evening, not because we lost, that was always going to be a 50/50 situation, but to hear frogs croaking from a nearby house’s pond is beyond a joke.

One thing I have noticed is around me not the same people go all the time so one wonders if more and more are sharing their seats and feel intimidated if they shout. Sitting down is another strange thing to me after years and years of standing and barracking from the terraces. Not even the young ones know how to barrack anymore.

Your thoughts.

I support from the minute our boys take the field til the minute they leave it... however those around me miraculously find their voices when i happen to yell.... C'mon Adelaide.... I have no voice this morning and my throat hurts.

I was disgusted with a small section where i sit last night, northern balcony who booed and jeered Perrie, when he was taken off just before 1/2 time, and yelled at them, out of that woeful quarter you can fine one scapegoat for it, i mean all other 17 on the field held chest marks and didn't make a clanger? I know not.

Our crowd are disgraceful most have no idea how to barrack, and a side needs it more when we are actually losing ;) They seem to have no issue in bagging a select few players and mistakes, oh and i guess we all boo well when there is a percieved free kick that shouldnt be.

Most of us arn't supporters, bleeding for the club, rain hail and shine, travelling to the other end of the country cause we support them. No it's a chardonnay sipping outing where the meal of choice is pate` and half time entertainment is knitting.

Get some passion, get some desire, and bloody support the team....

Rant over!

Markthirtytwo said:
:D

tri-colours said:
I was disgusted with a small section where i sit last night, northern balcony who booed and jeered Perrie, when he was taken off just before 1/2 time, and yelled at them, out of that woeful quarter you can fine one scapegoat for it, i mean all other 17 on the field held chest marks and didn't make a clanger? I know not.
:mad: Cannot believe our own supporters would ever do that to ANY Crows player

I thought the support in Bay 132 was pretty good.... :)

As for the Perrie heckling.....frustration is an interesting emotion....sometimes manifested in different ways.

I'm not condoning the booing.......but supports feel the need to vent someway......Perrie's performance last night was heartbreaking.... :( ...but of course he had a few mates....and as my wife pointed out.....unlike Welsh - at least he was getting close to the ball to make a spectacle of himself... :p

Mad Dog said:
I'm not condoning the booing.......but supports feel the need to vent someway......Perrie's performance last night was heartbreaking.... :( ...but of course he had a few mates....and as my wife pointed out.....unlike Welsh - at least he was getting close to the ball to make a specticle of himself... :p
Your wife is very wise

Rach said:

Agree the CSG was crap last night and need to stop holding up that dumb CSG flag, that isnt even encouraging the team it is just self promotion bull crap
:mad:

Not sure if that others noticed a supporters in the southern end about 3 rows from the back trying to start a chant of “Adelaide, Adelaide”? Was or is he a member of the cheer squad, but who ever you are, keep up the good work as you are doing more than that “official cheer squad of the Adelaide football club” ever did at the beginning of the game

I leave every single game ‘horse’ as I lose my voice and can not talk and I am getting very frustrated as not a whole lot of others around me are not join in until the majority do (safety in numbers, boo to you all if that you can not cheer your side). mind you a few supporters are getting every emotional and tempers nearly flared after the game with this old guy telling everyone what he thought of NC coaching and the players skill levels.

Markthirtytwo said:

Your thoughts.

I yelled myself hoarse in the first half. Made a comment that there's a more noise in a picture theatre. A young guy in front of me turned his head, smiled shyly and then went back to his knitting.

Seriously, I didn't think it was too bad. There wasn't alot happening on the ground to get excited about, especially in the forward line. I thought the crowd was quite good when were making a charge in the last quarter.

The solution is very simple and 2 fold.
ALLOW ALCHOL IN YOUR SEATS!
1, People are louder when they are 1/2 cut.
2, the Knitting crowd couldn’t handle it and would eventually give up their seats.

I agree, Im stunned how quiet Crows supporters, are, its make me wonder, are people going to the footy to see the Crows, or because its an AFL match, and have just a satisfaction of being there.

This is another perspective. At the bullies game one lady sittn a few behind me was yelln out her brains cheering the crows on, only to have a nother crows supporter tell her to shut the F up etc. etc.

I would not feel comfortable havn my fellow supporters baggn me for cheering on the team and maybe thats y the crowd are a quite.

Maybe What we need is for a group to start cheering so then everyone will join in :) :confused: :(

What we need is for a group of people just to continually shout "Are you there?" while pointing at them in a rather malicious manner. That should at least get a reaction out of them.

Or a nice and rousing chant of "library, library, this a f**king library!" over and over.

jc67 said:
The solution is very simple and 2 fold.
ALLOW ALCHOL IN YOUR SEATS!
1, People are louder when they are 1/2 cut.
2, the Knitting crowd couldn’t handle it and would eventually give up their seats.

HALLELUJAH!

You wanna know the reason why supporters at Crows games can't get pumped? I'll give you some reasons why.

1. There's no alcohol allowed inside the stadium. Come join us outside at the pub and listen to the atmosphere - It's electric!

2. Because the intimidating 'AAMI' Stadium has been turned into a lifeless, soulless, cauldron of boringness. I mean seriously I used to rock up to games an hour early... then they started the announcement 'Patrons please be reminded that there is to be no drinking inside the stadium blah blah blah... Then I started coming 30 mins before the game... and the announcement got longer!

I think it now reads something like 'Patrons please be reminded that there is to be no drinking, smoking, speaking, breathing, moving, rustling of chip packets, laughing, standing, sitting, squatting or any other action that can remotely be recognised as living. Patrons are also reminded that they are to leave their souls at the gate as this arena is for spectating only not supporting.

3. We need a section for Ex-Pat English only in the crowd. Call me bias but we're the only supporters who know how to support loudly and with some wit. Just ask DB10 and some of the other old England boys how well we support our clubs in comparison. Whatever you do however be sure not to ask Ray Nolan (he has a habit of supporting scummy sides, bad bad man ;))

Why do you think CDFC are so loud - It's the English heritage baby!

4. Stop putting up chants for the people (AD-EL-AIDE, BO-O-RING, KILL-ME-NOW) and let them work out for themselves WTF they wanna call out to the players. Ok so this semi relates to point 2 but the more you put chants up for supporters to go with the lazier they become. Get rid of the crowd clap-o-meter BS as well. That thing makes the supporters cheer agreed but when it's not on nobody else bothers.

Use your imagination Crows fans

THE SOLUTION:

Give me 4 weeks, 500,000 dollars (for personal expenses ;)) , another 500,000 dollars for alcohol supplies and a section of the crowd. Come the end of the 4 weeks I'll give you a pumpin stadium.

That's Raves 2 cents

Can someone guage the reactions of the crowd at Subiaco for me? Alcohol IS allowed at seats , but I dont know if they generate as much noise. Like the Crows there are some supporters whose sole intention is to be seen.

PerthCrow said:
Can someone guage the reactions of the crowd at Subiaco for me? Alcohol IS allowed at seats , but I dont know if they generate as much noise. Like the Crows there are some supporters whose sole intention is to be seen.

They're louder but not by much.

ATM they're amongst the loudest but that's not hard when you're winning... You have a lot to cheer about.

Rave Slave said:
They're louder but not by much.

ATM they're amongst the loudest but that's not hard when you're winning... You have a lot to cheer about.
Whats with the your? I am a Crow through and through. Of the few games I have been I have noticed the level to be similar to Adelaide. So I was surprised at the alcohol allusion( not Illusions ;) )

PerthCrow said:
Whats with the your? I am a Crow through and through. Of the few games I have been I have noticed the level to be similar to Adelaide. So I was surprised at the alcohol allusion( not Illusions ;) )

Misread me mate :p

You're meaning the team in general not you specifically, The PerthCrow bit kinda gave me a fair impression of where your allegiances lie ;)

The crowd noise tonight was very interesting. The first half was absolutely disgraceful. There was this guy sitting in front of me who gave a bronx cheer every time the Crows made a clanger. After the 2nd or 3rd time I did point him out and called him a ********er, but he had his transistor radio headset on so couldn't hear me. By the 10 SECOND mark of the 1st quarter, the morons behind me (whom I've whinged about on numerous occasions) were in full negativity swing bagging everything the Crows did.

Then there was the losers (and that's what they are) who gave Perrie (and to a lesser extent, Burton) the bronx cheer when they got dragged in the second quarter. While I'll be the first to admit that both had shockers, this was totally uncalled for and out of line from the supporters. These people are not real supporters of the AFC. They're just a bunch of tossers who turn up to Crows game for the sake of doing something with their so-called lives.

To those that did this and are reading this Please do not come back. You are a disgrace to the supporters of the Adelaide Football Club, and the AFC will be better off without your support.

However, I thought the noise in the second half was an improvement, and as the game got closer, so did the noise level, but this is to be expected.

What I ask all REAL Crows supporters to do is to keep up this good work, and to be this noisy even when the side is 6 goals down.

Nothing will happen without the club's intervention. They need to take the initiative and expand and promote the cheer squad. I suggest they even have two, one at either end. With all the fans the club has got, surely they can find a substantial number of people willing to sit together and form a large group that does make noise. Not just after goals, or big plays, but the whole game. Like soccer fans.

In reality, there's not much we can do as individuals to change the culture of 40,000 fans. The club has to act.

Crowz Gal said:
This is another perspective. At the bullies game one lady sittn a few behind me was yelln out her brains cheering the crows on, only to have a nother crows supporter tell her to shut the F up etc. etc.

I would not feel comfortable havn my fellow supporters baggn me for cheering on the team and maybe thats y the crowd are a quite.

Maybe What we need is for a group to start cheering so then everyone will join in :) :confused: :(

Good points you make, but another reason I believe is the number of people listening to radio headsets, rather than soak in what's happening around them. One solution that was mentioned years ago was having a crowd announcer, like they do in US sports, who keeps you informed of what's happening. This negates the need for radio at the game and satisfies those that want the injury updates, player changes, stats etc. These comments could be made in stoppages or prior to centre bounces. It would also have been good to have had the Mistral Vision Superscreen, which would have been large enough to display stats. etc. The crappy Panasonic thing we have is not much bigger than my plasma screen, but I guess it's better than the previous scoreboard.

afc9798 said:
It would also have been good to have had the Mistral Vision Superscreen, which would have been large enough to display stats. etc. The crappy Panasonic thing we have is not much bigger than my plasma screen, but I guess it's better than the previous scoreboard.

But the Mistral Vision screen has an inferior picture quality to the Panasonic one. Have you seen the Mistral screen at Adelaide Oval - it's terrible, always flickering, parts blacked out etc.