I feel sorry for M Rucci

Everyone seems to read what he writes and it seems to be talked about for days. Thats exactly what it is designed to do. Unfortunately what people think about his articles is irrelevent when it comes to selling lots of papers.
If Mark Williams was to coach the crows it would still happen because the paper relies on the large Crow supporter base to rush out and see what stupidity is in the paper today.
Its a shame really and perhaps unprofessional but thats what it has come to.

A week in the life of a newspaper ...

Monday: Arrived at work early because I knew the editor was pleased with me. May be I will get another pair of boots. Love it when those bloody Crows lose, even when it's just by a point way over in Perth. Pulled out my tape recorder and had another listen to my post-match press conference. Have to say I was very good last night - I had St Neil right under the pump about his lack of a game plan and lack of scoring potential. And how about the way he mentioned injuries. Got him with that one. I am clever. Can't wait for the rest of the week because three wins in a row were a bit had to take.
Tuesday: Went back through some old stories from last year looking for ideas but unfortunately my stories about Port when they were losing every week were not nasty enough. Too much talk about promising young players and building for a wonderful future. Can't wait until I can run that "Who is your daddy line?' again but that might have to wait for a few weeks. Almost forgot ... had to put together the Roast. Another chance to have a crack at St Neil, Triggy, Bill Sanders, Comrade Hurley and Crows supporters. Better have a little dip at Port as well just to show I'm credible.
Wednesday: Up early to read the Roast. Had a chuckle to myself - it;s even funnier this morning than I remembered. Triggy has probably already called a meeting to discuss his next plan of attack. Waited for email from the editor, who loves the Roast. He doesn't let me down ... brilliant, that will teach the Crows he says. To think the Crows think I'm biased! Had dinner with Choco and discussed game plans.

Morning: Mom helped me dress.

Rucci has been going on and on about Craigy saying it is not his job to promote the showdown etc... does anyone have the press conference Mark Williams did the day before the game where he said to the effect he didnt care how many people went? IMO much worse statement.

A week in the life of a newspaper ...

Monday: Arrived at work early because I knew the editor was pleased with me. May be I will get another pair of boots. Love it when those bloody Crows lose, even when it's just by a point way over in Perth. Pulled out my tape recorder and had another listen to my post-match press conference. Have to say I was very good last night - I had St Neil right under the pump about his lack of a game plan and lack of scoring potential. And how about the way he mentioned injuries. Got him with that one. I am clever. Can't wait for the rest of the week because three wins in a row were a bit had to take.
Tuesday: Went back through some old stories from last year looking for ideas but unfortunately my stories about Port when they were losing every week were not nasty enough. Too much talk about promising young players and building for a wonderful future. Can't wait until I can run that "Who is your daddy line?' again but that might have to wait for a few weeks. Almost forgot ... had to put together the Roast. Another chance to have a crack at St Neil, Triggy, Bill Sanders, Comrade Hurley and Crows supporters. Better have a little dip at Port as well just to show I'm credible.
Wednesday: Up early to read the Roast. Had a chuckle to myself - it;s even funnier this morning than I remembered. Triggy has probably already called a meeting to discuss his next plan of attack. Waited for email from the editor, who loves the Roast. He doesn't let me down ... brilliant, that will teach the Crows he says. To think the Crows think I'm biased! Had dinner with Choco and discussed game plans.

^^^^^

Gold !!!

:D :D :D :thumbsu: :D :D :D

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnypanther
no thanks - Rucci tells lies and therefore is the ideal running mate for Johnny Howard

Maybe Rucci didnt have lunch with Brian Burke or didnt want the Dawn service changed either.

I think you need to realise all pollies are liars, except maybe Nicole Cornes:)

perhaps - but little Johnny's lies have helped contribute to the loss of thousands of innocent lives in Iraq

I must be getting de-sensitised to Rucci's articles. I read very few of them these days because they're the same old bias digs at NC or the AFL in general. You just got to wonder what he hopes to achieve in the direction he is taking. Is he that obsessed and jealous of the Crows to jeopardise his career and dignity? Seems to be. He really is a sad and obsessed little man and I wonder where he is going to end up. I have visions of him being carted off in a straight jacket to a mental institution. Now wouldnt that make a good headline "Chief Sports Writer for the Advertiser thinks he's Mark Ruccitio":D

The Ferrett's articles should be next to Fred Bassett in the Comics scection as they are such a joke!:)

How can everyone be sooooo wrong about this guy (except most Port supporters!;) ) and he feels that he is the only one that is in the right about his 'unbiased' articles! :thumbsdown:

What happened to journalists that used to report on footy games and how they were won or lost and not go off on some kind of tirade and pushing their own importance & agendas.

The most ironic thing is he a Port supporter, the only journo that acts this way is a avid Port supporter, says it all really.

The rest of Australia dont understand it because we aren't Port supporters and therefore dont have the "Port Adelaide mentality". To Port supporters Rucci's behaviour is just their normal everyday life. Wake up, spend all day obsessing about the Crows then go to bed at night. Repeat daily

Have not read that trash for years quite time at work early hors of Thursday morning paper lying around and i thought oh well lets see if it has improved
read his roast

NEVER AGAIN

What i would like to see is we stop buying it 2 weeks is all it would take Rupert would be here in a flash

Totally agree with all above. I wouldn't so much have an issue with him being biased if he were not the cheif football writer- it brings into question the integrity of the 'Tiser.
I also think he fuels (and feeds off) the much publisised rivalry between adelaide and port power supporters.
Herald Sun and Inside Footy for mine.

I stopped buying the rag a couple of years ago because of Rucci's rubbish. In response to this thread I read the sports section on the net this morning. What a crock of crap! Tried to reply to one of the articles by MC, but couldn't get the message to send. Maybe they've found a way to reject any pro-Crows messages.

I actually think that he is a walking, talking advertisement not to barrack for Port. Dont read what he writes if it frustrates you.

Take todays article for an example of his journalistic skills. In a whole page article about the Crows injuries, he makes many assumptions, claims that Port fixed there injury problems long ago (Remember the end of last year, how extensive their injury list was !!)

But to back it all up, his two sources were : An unnamed report, from an unnamed source that was leaked to the Advertiser, and another from a "Medical specialist" that did not want to be named.

The only conclusions you can draw from that article are that Rucci obviously has now raised his attacks on Craig, and that Rucci is purely a liar that has absolutely no substances to his articles.

On a positive note though, I think the best person that put that picture of Rucci next to his articles certainly has a sense of humor. Now that it a funny picture!

Some comments on the injury article.
---------------------------------

Lets have a look at some of the "facts" used in this article and see what is actually fact.

Who asked the question at Subiaco? Was it Mr Rucci himself, if so why not say so.

What body language indicated a raw nerve? Was this body language sending a different signal to what Neil actually said. If so, should the reader rely on a “journalist’s” views on body language.

"sports science" in inverted comas implies that it was not sports science that Neil Craig has brought to the AFC but something else. This is merely innuendo designed to insult without a factual basis.

Craig was defensive about his bike program apparently. No quotes or facts to back this up, perhaps it was body language again.

Sydney have “proven” injuries can be avoided by good management. A one club example is no statistical basis on which to prove anything. It could have been luck! Mr Rucci has jumped to one conclusion about Sydney and another conclusion about Adelaide based on unanalysed statistical data. Brilliant “logic”.

Ivan Maric injury "seemingly" based on training stress. Again, no facts or sources for the implication of bad injury management.

Sourced reports from Adelaide players that Craig pushed his squad too hard? Which sources and which players? Again all innuendo based on no published facts. I bet these sources are "confidential" for "ethical" reasons.

Pre-season training in 2005 recalled for pushing his men too hard too soon. Recalled by whom? Innuendo again.

Craig has not released any data to justify his position. Rucci would be an “expert” on this.

Independent report leaked to the Advertiser. Of course no inkling of who wrote this report and for what purpose and as to what facts they had access to in writing the report. Again, innuendo.

Methods work against accepted models elsewhere. Which models and where? Details please.

Cycling has been linked to the injury count. By whom? Adelaide’s aerobic drills are now under increasing question? From whom? One Sports medical expert has been quoted. Again unnamed. What a surprise.

This article is not based on facts but is merely an attempted hatchet job on Neil Craig by a journalist who is too lazy to write a well informed factual piece when he can more easily rely on rumors gossip and unnamed sources.

It’s the perfect example of why Mr Rucci will never be credible.

yeah you feel sorry for him but then after 2 mins you dont really give a shit anymore. Problem is most crowies seem to forget that last bit and give the attention he wants, which means he sells more papers and is a c grade celebrity at the same time -exactly what he wants. Nothing would make him happier than when hes booed at the showdowns, yet everyone still does it.

That may be true but if it is, how sad does that make his life if that's how he gets his kicks.

He can follow that path to unhappiness as far as I am concerned.

I feel sorry for M Rucci