I guess Richmond aren't Fair Dinkum

Richmondfan#1

Jul 6, 2000
We have beaten 5 of the top 6 teams of last years ladder. I thought that was enough to prove that we are actually here to play this year.

The commentators at todays game were hopeless.
"If richmond win this game they are the real deal"
"Richmond need to win this to prove they are fair dinkum"

Essendon are a very classy team, i'm not too surprised they won. I am however slightly shocked at the scoreline!!

Unlike Collingwood last year, we won't just be round 5 wonders. I am sure we can do better - i am sure we are doing better.

Our boys did put a lot of pressure on their Richmond counterparts, and the game should have been won in the first qtr (if not for inaccurate kicking for goal).

I don't think Richmond played well...but i believe that they weren't allowed to. The Dons denied Richmond's playmakers the space that they needed to do damage.

This shouldn't underrate the our performance though. Richmond were simply outgunned!

I was worried that might happen, that the media would come out and say "we told
you so, Richmond are pretenders".

That's not fair. I've watched Richmond play a few times and I think that they are fair
dinkum. They just came our and laid an egg; that happens. You are a better club
than you showed today and I think that the days of finishing 9th are over for awhile.

5-2 is nothing to sneeze at. There are 12 teams on the ladder that will wish they were 5-2
at the end of this week.

Get real richmond was pathetic and they missed a good chance of telling us all that they have arrived,if essenscum had of kicked straight it would of been one of the greatest shillackings ever seen in a long time.

Two things will happen here richmond will be better for it or they will simply not recover thats how bad this loss was,They went into this game today confident of winning or at least taking it up to essenscum they failed on all counts.

They should publicly apologise to there supporters.

I saw Richmond V North last week and I think Danny Frawley's comments didn't help matters for the tigers today,

How many times do Coaches Presidents etc talk up a game and then they don't deliver, I remember back in 1992 Terry Wheeler saying that the dogs were going to win the Pre season comp and what happend they lost to Melb in the Second round.
and there have been alot of other clubs who have done the same year after year,

At least one good thing came from the game for the tigers, they would of made a healthy profit, This doesn't count for anything on the Ladder but It does make the balance sheet look a little better,

Maybe next time Richmond,

RF1 - Don't worry about the loss. Essendon are a class team and IMO the benchmark again this season. I think Richmond are the real deal this year (you have one of the best coaches in the league) and will make the finals easily.

Richmondfan#1, don't be too disgruntled, even though the Tiges were outclassed today we may have found a crumbing forward the could be - dare I say it - SPEEEECIAL!! Krakouer will only need half-a-dozen possessions a week to reek havok given some more time to develop.

As was previously mentioned on this thread 5-2 isn't too bad with a winable game against the Crows to come this Friday night. Could be worse, we could be Collingwood at 3-4 and P.A at Footy Park this week (read soon 3-5). :D :D :D

I guess Richmond aren't Fair Dinkum