I have no sympathy for North supporters.....

Westy Boy

Aug 10, 2000
Smeltona (DOGS)
.... INSTEAD I HAVE NOTHING BUT ADMIRATION AND RESPECT.

I was just wading through some of the rubbish on the boards, and took a minute to think how it must feel to have to defend your club 24/7. You wouldn’t have to put up with this kind of shit if you weren’t on the net. You wouldn’t see it, because people aren’t so ‘upfront’ in the outside world, but as soon as they get behind a computer screen....

So instead of talking about the club/financial situation, I thought I would make a post about its supporters. I don't know much about collective attitudes of rival fans except for what I see at matches (and unlike Dan24- I don’t think it gives me enough of a basis to form an opinion on ’em).... so the main measure I have is the web.... and from that, all I can say is that the North supporters spirit/attitude/persona is, collectively, the best of them all. A lot of the rival supporters see this, and I reckon that’s why they’re so hell bent on trying to get at you. To be able to keep your sense of humour (I’m laughing my arse off at some of the brilliant wit every time I see some of your posts) is even more remarkable, especially when considering some of the shit you cop from some of the stupid pricks around here... including ex-Collingwood coaches.

You should feel satisfaction and pride to have the kind of supporters you have here in the trenches fighting alongside you. I would be proud to have such intelligent and passionate supporters to call part of my club... Not once have I seen a roos supporter feel sorry for themselves. A few of you may not realise just how good you have it to be able to discuss the real issues with decent fellow supporters, so don’t take it for granted!
smile.gif

Just to put your ‘trouble’ in comparison to ours (and hopefully alleviate some fears) , looking at our annual report, we’re 5mil in the red, and unlike your membership which will hit 30,000 IMO, ours is WAY down and will probably struggle to reach 17,000! Yet we haven't received one bit of criticism from anybody (as a couple of you have pointed out- thanks for that!
wink.gif
) – but all this means is that North are more ‘news worthy’- hence- you should take solace in the fact that it’s an example of them finding any way to shoot down the most successful rivals.... in many instances with any complete and utter bullshit they can find. Take it as the sincerest complement/flattery of all, that people (journos/big footy posters etc) take time out of their day to try and bring you down.

On a positive note, Caroline Wilson aka UGLY **** CARO-(we’ll know if she reads this forum if there’s a story on the doggies by her next week!), and the recent media reports, ironically, IMO are helping North and it’s supporters form a stronger bond for a common cause. The publicity has made you step up and do everything you can to help the club you love. You can see it on here.... You can see it everywhere. You are all rallying to help North Melbourne. While you’re doing EVERYTHING you can for your club, on the official doggies forum people are debating “media loves North” (thought you would like that one!!- I put him in his place, posting as “Not_Blinkered”
wink.gif
) ... and other topics such as"why the hell should I pay 5 bucks to see them play in the praccy?" Great support for your team you spineless little f........

As soon as I read that, sadly, it put the difference in attitudes of the two clubs’ support bases (on the web anyway) into perspective. ‘89 was our moment of truth. We came through it, and a lot of our supporters have, little more than a decade later, forgotten far too easily, just like supporters of a few other clubs which have needed outside help on the main board seem to have. Don’t fall into the same trap when you get through these rough times.

I really admire the way you've all handled everything..... and add to this the fact that a lot of you guys have gone and paid an additional$300 on top of a membership, to sponsor Petrie (strong performance last Friday!) without even a whisper of "oh geeze... it's a fair bit of money, I don't know". Not once! That is love for your club. Wonder if Grim Reaper, Icon would do the same for their clubs? Hmmm. Doubt it The Icon/MB!!!!

You have put your clubs before yourselves. You should be congratulated, but all you get are smart arse remarks. I could only begin to imagine how much even some of the more ‘reasoned’ responses (in casual approaches/styles of writing-) sprouting ‘advice’ cut deep and generally shit me. I know they cut deep.... (you might find that insulting that a rival supporter is saying that), but they’re also talking about my team relocating/merging when they’re talking about yours. For the smart arses, all I can say is f*** ‘em! It’s out of spite, jealousy, and envy of what you are achieving. It’ll be all the more sweeter when you’re the stronger club later. But don’t follow their ways when they’re the one’s asking for a bit of respect for their situation in a few years..... just sit there with a rye smile and quote the pricks.

Don't know why i posted this incoherent little thesis..... just thought i would put a positive spin on things and give some appreciation for manner in which you’ve gone about it, tell you that your work isn’t going unnoticed by rival supporters of the club, giving ya's an outside perspective/ state the respect from a fan of a team who's in much the same boat .... knowing very well that ‘sympathy’ probably hurts more than someone hating you. Seen some brilliant posts (special mention must go to Shinboners on the main board for a couple of pearlers) from a lot of you.

PS:- Gonna follow Sandie's lead .... (as weel as keep a promise from last year)... don't have much time with Uni and work..... so details on any mail out packs for a North membership would be appreciated.

PPS:- GO RICKY GO RICKY

NMFC - stick it up ‘em!!

[This message has been edited by Westy Boy (edited 16 March 2001).]

Wow...It obvious WESTY is very passionate about his beloved Bulldogs and fully understands what we are going through.
Thanks for support and I hope the Dogs have a successful season.

------------------
Are We Not Men
We Are DEVO

Bless you Westy

this is my first post on here and I'm glad it's to respond to a message like this

I guess you never look for or expect support from other clubs' supporters (my partner is third generation Collingwood, so I know), but it's a nice surprise to get it

and keep up all the great work North people, on this board and everywhere else - makes me proud to be counted as one of you

ps. really looking forward to hearing the club mentioned without the word "cash-strapped" in front of its name - very lazy journalism

WOW - what a great post/epic! hehehe

Yep, I'll be in on buying you a brew at our next game.

WOOF WOOF

------------------
If you see me getting mighty,
If you see me getting high,
Knock me down,
I'm not bigger than Life

R.H.C.P.

Westy,

Your article really sat me down on my backside. Thank You for your encouragment and kind words. Good luck to the Doggies in 2001,( except against the Kangas.)

[This message has been edited by hotham (edited 16 March 2001).]

Westy

I'm almost tempted to grow a Hawkins mullet out of admiration for your post (but I think I'll resist the temptation). A true football supporter that realises we will all be the poorer for it if the vultures do get one of the battling Victorian clubs to tear apart. I'll be waiting for the Wilson article!

Are you sure you are not my Doctor Westy, he follows the Bulldogs and he is always telling me that he wished we merged, he always has nice things to say about the Kangas. I hope you get a membership and if your team are not there at the end of the year you can come sit with us and be a Kanga for a day. And if a Kanga supporter ever gives you s..t let us know and we will have one of the girls in here deal with them, maybe Malibu or 35eye, if they are not available, then I am able to do it on my own, dont you worry about that

Great post Westy - being a Footscray/Sunshine local myself, I know how the threatened merger in 1989 decimated the people around here, and losing a much-loved part of the community (such as a footy club) does hit hard. No doubt having experienced this yourself has given you a much more sensible outlook than some of the hypocritical or moronic posters you refer to, and it has made you a respected and welcome contributor to our section of the board.

What say we all buy Westy a pot at the next Roos vs Dogs game. Mate, you'll be smashed by half-time.
beerchug.gif

After reading that soppy load of drivel, may I suggest you lay off the Scotch a bit, Westy Boy. You sound not only emotional, but tired and emotional as well.

I can just see you there, staggering next to your computer ...

Westy Boy: "I love yoush all ... hic! ... Thoshe bashtardsh won't leave yoush poor Roosh alone! ... hic! ... I hate thoshe bashtardsh! ... hic! ... but I love yoush guysh ... (staggers - mood inexplicably changes)... exshept for you Shinbonersh ... I hate you Shinbonersh!!" (falls unconscious to floor with a loud Thud!)

Barman TT: "Last Drinks? Anyone? Anyone???"

[This message has been edited by TigerTank (edited 16 March 2001).]

Nice post Westy
smile.gif
I'm a Bulldogs member as well as being a Roos member.
So I'll be cheering for your team this year.... except when they meet the Roos.
wink.gif

[This message has been edited by True_Roo (edited 16 March 2001).]

Originally posted by TigerTank:
After reading that soppy load of drivel, may I suggest you lay off the Scotch a bit, Westy Boy. You sound not only emotional, but tired and emotional as well.

I can just see you there, staggering next to your computer ...

Westy Boy: "I love yoush all ... hic! ... Thoshe bashtardsh won't leave yoush poor Roosh alone! ... hic! ... I hate thoshe bashtardsh! ... hic! ... but I love yoush guysh ... (staggers - mood inexplicably changes)... exshept for you Shinbonersh ... I hate you Shinbonersh!!" (falls unconscious to floor with a loud Thud!)

Barman TT: "Last Drinks? Anyone? Anyone???"

Now TT that wasn't in response to the fact that I (a Roos supporter) knew that Tony Free (and not Jeff bloody Hogg) was skipper at the Tiger before Knights!!!
biggrin.gif

Cheers

Gonzo

Originally posted by Gonzo:
Now TT that wasn't in response to the fact that I (a Roos supporter) knew that Tony Free (and not Jeff bloody Hogg) was skipper at the Tiger before Knights!!!
biggrin.gif

... And I've now deleted your name from my "Get well soon" card list too, Gonzo.

mad.gif
mad.gif
mad.gif
mad.gif
mad.gif
mad.gif
(... and I would have printed more angry faces if the bloody computer let me)

------------------
TT - Obligatory bad-tempered Richmond supporter (and getting more bad-tempered by the minute!!!)

My God....all these North haters putting us as top 8 material in the ladder predictions, Sandie takes out a North membership, Westy Boy posts something that has left me lost for words, well, except two "thank you".
smile.gif

But I tell you guys, it's a plot! They're out to get us, and this time, it's really devious the way they're doing it. Their plan is to compliment us so much that we lose that "us versus the world" mentality that bonds us so close together....smothering us so much with love that we'll suffocate to death.....yep, we can see through you Westy Boy and Mantis and all you others who come to praise us*.....

Paranoid Shinboners

*Of course, we'll definitely know if USC reads bigfooty if straight after her article slagging off the Dogs, she prints one that praises us!
biggrin.gif

Thanks for the great posting.

I think what helps us Roo fans is that we not only have a great admiration for our club, but also for the game itself.

As a Sunshine Girl, I have also followed the Doggies over the year and always wish them as much luck in the season as I do the Roo Boys.

Must admit, I have never extremely happy or upset at our clashes as I feel that the game is just a strengthing of both sides. (I know it sounds soppy, but it is true, unlike or clashed against Ess... Essen ... Essend..., I just can't bring myself to say that name!!!)

Shiny happy people holding hands!!?
rolleyes.gif

Let's all be friends !!??
rolleyes.gif

Why don't we have a group FRIGGING hug !!!!????
rolleyes.gif

What the hell is the matter with you people???

Is this Bigfooty or some kind of weird, hippy love-in????
mad.gif

------------------
TT - Am I the only person 'round here who hasn't gone completely INSANE??????

Originally posted by TigerTank:
Shiny happy people holding hands??
rolleyes.gif

Let's all be friends ???
rolleyes.gif

Is this Bigfooty or some kind of weird, hippy love-in????
mad.gif
mad.gif
mad.gif

Why, are you feeling like the grape peeler at a Roman orgy or something?

For your dose of p*sstaking, may I recommend that you visit the Melbourne board on their rules and regulations thread where you'll find a few of us happily taking the micky out of the most Micky Mouse of fans, the Melbourne ones.
biggrin.gif

Originally posted by Darky:
Shall I pour you another beer before you enter the group hug?
biggrin.gif

I do NOT, I repeat NOT group hug anyone, PERIOD!!!
mad.gif
mad.gif
(feel free to pour me the beer though!)

Sickening, isn't it?

At last! Another sane individual on this increasingly insane board!!

... TruculentTiger

Where the hell did you dig up the word truculent from???

------------------
TT - Obligatory bad-tempered Richmond supporter

Just got alerted to this thread after checking the roo forum for the first time in a few days.....Wow!

Westy makes quite a few good points.

I just hope that in ten years time I'm not seeing heaps of cars driving around with Beware stickers on 'em & we're in the $$$ troubles again al la "up yours oakley" stickers and the doggies.

So lets stick it up 'em for at least long enough for my grandkids to go see NMFC play....and we've got a way to go on that one - haven't got kids yet!!

C'mon TigerTank, I'm sure you're a big softie under all the grumpiness.

Would it make you feel better if we got Westy to write a soppy story about the tigers and how much they'd love to make the finals.

Originally posted by Gonzo:
TT

Stop you're whinging and get back to work -
biggrin.gif

And now you're off my Business Card list too ...

------------------

Originally posted by Malibu:
C'mon TigerTank, I'm sure you're a big softie under all the grumpiness.

I am officially the baddest, nastiest, most ill-tempered individual on Bigfooty - and you'd better believe it!!
mad.gif
mad.gif

I throw hand-grenades into group hugs!

------------------

I have no sympathy for North supporters.....