I hope all Bomber fans appreciate what they are going through.

• Thread starter Thread starter Cats2001!

Cats2001!

Watching my side (Geelong) let me down AGAIN in a very bad loss today - not to mention the St.Kilda loss last year, and all the failed GF attempts, I hope you bomber fans who go to the footy to watch your side every week for win after win appreciate how lucky you are.

For teams like Geelong, Richmond, Collingwood, Fremantle, St Kilda, the Bullies etc. who continue to have dissapointment after dissapointment each year - I urge all Bomber fans to cherish what they are currently witnessing with their team - because it cant last forever - and you can look back in 10 or 20 years time just remembering how lucky you really were.

Its frustrating following AFL. But for you Bomber supporters - you, at least for now, are the luckiest fans on earth.

Well I for one do. I keep trying to tell some of the less temperant typee around here to enjoy it whilst it lasts because it wont last forever. When I hear people like Mr Ripper yearn for the day when they see their side break the ice and reflect on having seen all the flags my side has won in my lifetime I realise how dman fortunate I've been.

Takes away a little of the pain of not managing as a player. Yet.

You've got a good coach and some damn good kids on the list so I wouldn't lose heart. You'll get there. Just hopefully not this year :)

Cats2001

Give up now!

You will never see Geelong win a premiership.

It is written in the stars.

It will only end in tears.

Your club was a joke.

They are a joke.

They will always be a joke.

Cats2001,

We ARE appreciating it - don't worry about that!

I can remember pre-84 when the Dons hadn't won (a GF) in my lifetime, and the first GF I went to (83) we were slaughtered, and as a young Dons supporter I felt the bitter disappointment that you have felt since.

The thing with passionate supporters is that eventually the good times come, and when they do, they'll be so much sweeter!
I know that statement sounds trite, especially to supporters of teams that haven't won in a LONG time that have experienced a longer period of depair (than I have, and hopefully ever will), but it's true.

In the meantime, we should all continue to passionately support our teams, rant about them when they 'let us down', and enjoy the highs when they come.

People keep telling me that Essendon supporters are arrogant and conceited, and I'd be the first to say that some of us are. But the majority of the non-bandwagoner supporters who remember the grim (and happy!) days of watching the Bombers slug it out at Windy Hill in sh1tty weather are thrilled with the team we have at the moment.

Unfortunately (?), now I live in Sydney and am thus unable to tale part personally in this amazing period by getting to many games (only a few a year), but even from affar I know how magic the last couple of years have been for the Essendon FC.

We may stir the pot from time to time in this forum, and say things that make us appear smug, but don't EVER think we don't truly appreciate and enjoy this amazing time in our clubs wonderful history.

Keep supporting your club through thick and thin, and hopefully when your time comes(hopefully not against us ;)), you'll appreciate it for what it is - another peak... that will again be followed by a trough...
that will one day be followed by a peak...
that will again be followed by a trough
that will one day be followed by a peak...
etc etc...

See what I mean?

PS. To those of you that absolutely hate EssendonFC, sorry if I bored you with that post. I think it's the alcohol talking!!

Ditto SydneyBomber

almost word for word what I was going to say... I was 14 when I went to the 83 GF - smoked a whole packet of Sterling Extra Mild by half time and felt as sick as Tim Watson (although not gutlessly and cynically king hit by Colin Robertson)...

We do appreciate it - well I would if I was in the pharking country!

Then again, I saw 84 and 2000 live - so can't be too pissed off hey?

PS. Cats2001 - don't give up mate - the cats have provided great value over the last 15 years and will again.

I certainly appreciate the great team we have at the moment. Most of the Bombers 'round here realise how lucky we are (well, at least i do). Like Dave says, when i read posts by the likes of Ripper, it makes me think how lucky i am to watch such a great side every week. Carn the Dons!

where's wally?

You don't have to win a flag to enjoy a season either. Last year was one of the most enjoyable seasons I've watched in a long time, because no one expected the Hawks to make the finals, let alone win one, and seeing the Hawks win the first final since that windswept day at Waverley in 1991 was a fantastic moment.

It wasn't like the 80's where you knew they we had a great team that SHOULD win nearly every week.

I'm sure most essendon supporters realise how good they've got it, and for those who don't, well they'll be in for a rude shock when inevitably, the Bombers don't win 20 games in a season!

I must admit I didn't feel any sorrow for the Cats on Saturday though...I doubt any Hawthorn supporters did after what had happened the week before!

In my lifetime, I have seen every Victorian club at least play in a Grand Final of some description (Fitzroy won the 1978 night GF) EXCEPT the Bulldogs. That's right - not only have they not won a day or night grand final, they haven't even MADE one. I have barracked for those Doggies since 1975 - and how we cherished even a home & away victory during the late 70s and early 80s. As I filed out of the MCG after the 97 prelim. vs Adelaide, I saw a little boy in a Bulldogs jumper sobbing uncontrollably and being nestled into the arms of his disillusioned father. Some Crows supporters slagged off at us as we shuffled solemnly away. Good for you Crows I thought. Your team has made a Grand Final after 6 years in the competition. Mock us, and laugh at our anguish. I thought of the young boy and saw myself. But now the man sheds tears inwardly, in private.

When Kevin Sheedy said last year that Essendon supporters had been through enough hardship, I choked on rage. For obvious reasons.

Sometime, somewhere, somehow, those Doggies are going to win the premiership and the glorious victory will not be disrupted by the beeping of my alarm clock. Please!! But whatever happens, I will love them until the day I die. Football needs love.

Originally posted by windyhill
I`ve been a member since 1973,i have seen the good the bad and the downright filthy,so I am loving our current run.
It can`t last forever though.

1973!
'Spose we'll have to put yer on the "veteran's list" ay "Arsenal"?
:p

where's wally?

:D Round of Applause WWB :D

I was at that game as well and yes i did cry when we lost and was devastated when Libbas goal was called a point. it did go through and when we made a mockery of our chances.
What soothed my pain was a seeing some arrogant crow getting his head belted in, sounds bad but was good at the time.

When we win the flag, our celebrations will be something never seen before in AFL ranks. just u watch.

P:S: inspiring stuff WWB, i think im gonna watch the game Dpgs v Eagles now, the last game at WO and in Deniss Cometties eyes it was a cauldron there...EJ.

You just reminded me WWB of how after the 1997 GF how all the players interviewed were saying how much heartache they and their supporters had been through in the past 7, yes 7 years in getting the flag.

I thought what about the poor guys in the other rooms, or the old South supporters, or Fitzroy, Geelong, Bulldogs or Melbourne?

Where are all the Crows supporters today anyway? :)

Spot on WWB.

That September '97 afternoon was one of the saddest days of my life.

I saw my first Doggies match in 1976 and became a member in 1977. I have been a member ever since except the year I lived in Perth ('89) and except for that year, did not miss a Bulldogs home match from 1977 until my last match on 19 March 2000. I returned to the states three days later. I cried twice at the footy - the '97 Prelim Final and my final match - we lost both. In '97 I felt as if the world had ended. Last year, at my first and last match at Colonial, I had the same feelings.

Now I live in hope, planning to return to Melbourne in Jan 2002 if things settle down here at home. I can't wait to see our first match next year. I guess I might never really know what seeing my team in the Grand Final feels like. But then again, I live in hope about that too! :)

Oh WWB, I do feel the same, but, for a different mob also. Why oh why did you guys not beat Adelaide??? I would much rather have watched my mob lose (if we were to lose) to you guys than Adelaide!!!! At least the Cup would have stayed in Victoria. You guys had them beat, but you let them back in! Of course, in '98, my mob did the same thing against Hawthorn in the home and away season at Waverly, only, we let them back from even further behind. However your loss allowed Adelaide to play a low profile in the GF, and pull off an unlikely Premiership.
Although my team won the 97 Night Premiership, it doesn't compare to a Day Premiership. Like you, I've not seen my mob win a Day Premiership, in fact I've only seen them play in one Day GF (I was too young for the other two, I'm now 36). Oh the pain of it all. Yes WWB I understand your pain.

(P.S I assume those of you reading this have figured out who 'the other mob' is, so I won't insult your intelligence by telling you. I think it should be obvious)

Reading in the paper today about Jamie (sp?) Bolger made me realise that if the worst thing we have to worry about is footy then we're doing ok.

I'll get off the soap box now and return you to your normal viewing.

I am definitely appreciating what is happening with the Bombers at the moment. Mind you once they start on the downward spiral like all the opposition supporters are saying & hoping will happen sooner not later, I will immediately jump off the Bomber bandwagon & on to the next successful team.:rolleyes: