Rumour I hope it is not true

Remove this Banner Ad

Brendan Fevola joins band of hologram believers
David Riccio From: Sunday Herald Sun April 04, 2010 12:00AM

BRENDAN Fevola is part of a phenomenon sweeping world sports and Australian football codes: a $60 bracelet which claims to increase an athlete's core strength by as much as 500 per cent.

One insider told the Sunday Herald Sun that St Kilda players wear the bands, but a spokesperson yesterday could not confirm that.

In my non-bigfooty life I am a scientist and skeptic. We have dealt with holograms and magnets before. There is no scientific basis for which a hologram can interact with the body's energy fields. This is not a failing of science - it simply can't work. We would have to rewrite the fundamentals of physics to make these claims valid. These are laws of physics - not radical theories, that I am talking about.

Please say it isn't so - that the Saints have not been sucked in to these conmen's claims.
$60.00 a con doesn't sound like much - but these are $2 pieces of junk that are being pedalled off.

As a scientist, I would like to investigate these items and establish from their manufacturers just how they work. Then I would like to design an experiment to test their claims using a double blind methodology.

Knowing that exactly this was done this a few years ago, I am highly sceptical about this version with the same claim. I believe that it is going to be just as effective - a total flop.

Ah yes the insider, where the Hun writers pop on over to marketing and ask if they've heard anthing juicy from joe blow during their promotion and run with it.

"So while I was dropping off the latest ad campaign for SupahCoach (with Sheeds as a rabbit, epic lols yeah?) Gary said that he saw bigfoot buying a coffee in the lobby!"

*story is run*

"Oh turns out that Brunhilda just hadn;t shaved for the day... we'd like to issue a retraction calling the German exchange bigfoot, that was racist of us."