Mr Ripper

Pink-cheeked and robust
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy FC
Now before any industrial sized flames start heading my way from WB land, I've nothing against your club per se; but if this flooding game plan of yours proves successful and everyone starts doing it, then God help football.

------------------
Olmy knows best

IF ANY TEAM IS LIKELY NOT TO WIN A GAME THIS YEAR IT'S THAT WEIRD, YELLOW, ORANGE AND BLUE COMBO DOWN AT WEST COAST LAND - GOD THEY REALLY HAVE PROBLEMS DOWN THERE

SHUT UP YOU LIONS SUPPORTING SCUMBAGS!!! BRISBANE SUCK!!!!! U JUST HOLD ON TO YOUR SEAT YOU ANTI BULLDOG MORONS!! HAHA .... HAVE YOUR JIBES AT MY TEAM NOW ******* BUT U JUST WAIT TILL WERE HOLDING UP THE CUP IN SEPTEMBER HAHAHAHA ..... AINT IT GREAT TO BE FOOTSCRAY!! HAHAHA ... I PITY YOU ALL... HAHAHA

but seriously Mr Ripper...
wink.gif

I know where you're coming from (and I agree it's fairly boring), but don't stress! There's no way flooding can be a successful long term game plan.... and certainly wont be adopted by many teams. It worked brilliantly as a suprise tactic, but as always, there's a natural progression (took Hawthorn only one week! lol) towards overcoming it.

I don't know why Terry is continuing with it, considering (IMO) that our best football was played in his first couple of years with us, with an open free flowing style of game. The thing I'm worried about is that it instills a feeling into the players heads that they can't beat a team on it's merits..... with team's like Carlton/Essendon last year- fair enough .... but against Adelaide in the Ansett cup? I reckon Terry is foxing, so I don't think we'll see it too often this year ..... don't want to see it actually ... unless we win of course.

BTW- Mr Ripper:- You didn't REALLY mean the topic headline did ya?

Of course not, Westy!
wink.gif

I hope you're right about Terry foxing too. Dunno if I could handle watching match after match of 8 goals to 6.

------------------
Olmy knows best

Originally posted by Mr Ripper:
Of course not, Westy!
wink.gif

I hope you're right about Terry foxing too. Dunno if I could handle watching match after match of 8 goals to 6.

Mr.Ripper, you reckon that was the main reason for the low scoreline?? As a Crows fan I was getting a little disheartened despite the win, I mean we only kicked 11 goals. I thought it was our entry into the forward line, but on reflection maybe there was congestion in the forward 50 that hindered our play. Thoughts???

Originally posted by ant:
Mr.Ripper, you reckon that was the main reason for the low scoreline?? As a Crows fan I was getting a little disheartened despite the win, I mean we only kicked 11 goals. I thought it was our entry into the forward line, but on reflection maybe there was congestion in the forward 50 that hindered our play. Thoughts???

Wallace definately went for a flooding the backline type of tactic. Crows statistically had less of the ball than doggies, but the ball spent a lot more time in Crows forward area than dogs. This was one contributing factor to a low scoreline, the other was that Crows blew some opportunities they should have converted. Richardson (unfortunately for his confidence) was main the culprit here. Also, Welsh had a shocker and was right out of it.

I think Walace had in mind to contain Adelaide for three quarters and run all over them in the last. It didn't happen, in fact Adelaide outscored doggies in the last. But the game did open up a bit in the last, and I think it was because Wallace relaxed the flooding tactics a bit. He may have been a bit surprised that Adelaide had more skill and steam than his guys did.

So if Adelaide are supposed to be a shit team, and according to some on this board a bottom two contender, where does this leave the doggies? Or Carlton for that matter if they can beat Crows at home (Optus) only by a goal in the dying minutes.

I thought I saw some signs of improvement for Crows. If we can clean up the ball movement a bit, get the marking going just a bit better, and have players like Hewitt get a little more match condition, and get Hart back into it, we will go OK.

I agree there Crows.ok, if we can keep this team relatively injury free for a couple of weeks I can see further improvement coming. Rather than having 5 changes every week, if we can some continuity within the side, it'll help. Regardless of what people on this forum think, I don't think we'll finish in the bottom two (touch wood).

How must the Doggies feel though, regarded as a top 6 contender I thought they struggled badly, considering I wasn't too enamoured with the Crows performance. Did they have anyone out of the side??

Ant, I'll put my cards on the table: I can't claim to be any sort of tactical analysis guru, so I won't make up any mumbo jumbo as to why or why not I thought the Crows struggled to score.

What I do believe is that the Dogs' flooding strategy has the potential to kill football (as far as I'm concerned, anyway) if it's not successfully and quickly countered (pardon the rhetoric).

It takes away much of the uniqueness our sport has - high scoring and man on man contests for starters - and, in essence, just turns the game into yet another variation of soccer in the way that basketball, handball, hockey and waterpolo are. ie: The ball comes out of defence and through the midfield with little or no pressure, before getting to half forward where the team in possession has to look for an opening to score and when the inevitable turnover finally comes, it's ditto repeato up the other end until someone scores.

I just hope we can see the end of The Flood one day real soon.

------------------
Olmy knows best

Originally posted by ant:
I agree there Crows.ok, if we can keep this team relatively injury free for a couple of weeks I can see further improvement coming. Rather than having 5 changes every week, if we can some continuity within the side, it'll help. Regardless of what people on this forum think, I don't think we'll finish in the bottom two (touch wood).

How must the Doggies feel though, regarded as a top 6 contender I thought they struggled badly, considering I wasn't too enamoured with the Crows performance. Did they have anyone out of the side??

According to the TV commentary before the game, doggies were close to full strength. At least as close as Crows were.

According to the realfooty website:
"The Bulldogs, who used two loose men in defence, did not get their first score - a point to Brad Johnson - until the 22-minute of the first term."

This explains why the ball was mostly in Adelaides forward half and also why we found it a bit tough to score (no space). It also explains why doggies had hardly a touch in their forward line - there was nobody there!

Being the Ansett Cup, i would think Wallace was trying a few tactics to see how they work. Seeing as though the didn't do well, he'll probably drop the flooding tactics.

Personally, i think the Bulldogs can go all the way in 2001, with a bit of luck beating the don's. If i had to give a tip for an outsider i would defeintealy go dogs.

------------------
Go to Footy Tips and join the Big Footy tipping competition. For Information on how to join, just ask.

visit the Easts Cricket Club

A must for anybody into statistics - http://cromulent.freehosting.net/

The crows are defently not a bottom 2 contendor!

But, We need to be better when the ball gets inside our fifty. I think out half time we went in 36 times for 4 goals! somethin like that anyway.

When Ladhams started to fire,that Statistic started to change

Anyway who cares!

WE WON!

------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000

Originally posted by Westy Boy:
SHUT UP YOU LIONS SUPPORTING SCUMBAGS!!! BRISBANE SUCK!!!!! U JUST HOLD ON TO YOUR SEAT YOU ANTI BULLDOG MORONS!! HAHA .... HAVE YOUR JIBES AT MY TEAM NOW ******* BUT U JUST WAIT TILL WERE HOLDING UP THE CUP IN SEPTEMBER HAHAHAHA ..... AINT IT GREAT TO BE FOOTSCRAY!! HAHAHA ... I PITY YOU ALL... HAHAHA

Gees Westy... Had me worried for a minute there, thought the quality of your posts had taken a major nose dive!

Originally posted by Westy Boy:

biggrin.gif

Actually, Westy, I thought you had started getting Joffa to start the first paragraph of your posts from now on....

I think that Wallace is foxing too. Anyone who thinks that they have figured out Plough's tactics does so at their own peril. Beware the Bulldogs in 2001
Together We Win!!!!!!!

Carob6

If you used the flooding tactic every week there is no way you would be able to win enough games to make the finals so i think the flooding tactic will be used only occasionsally if at all.

BTW i reckon the flooding tactic is good to watch if it is working like against Essendon last year. But if it's not working it is terrible to watch. That game against Adelaide in the ansett cup was so frustrating...it was probably one of the worst games i have seen.

GO DOGS for 2001!!!
biggrin.gif

I am quietly confident we are in for a big year!

------------------
aka HahnPremium37
<A HREF="http://www.geocities.com/isdogisgood" TARGET=_blank>
http://www.geocities.com/isdogisgood
</A>

On March 3, I claimed:
It takes away much of the uniqueness our sport has - high scoring and man on man contests for starters - and, in essence, just turns the game into yet another variation of soccer in the way that basketball, handball, hockey and waterpolo are. ie: The ball comes out of defence and through the midfield with little or no pressure, before getting to half forward where the team in possession has to look for an opening to score and when the inevitable turnover finally comes, it's ditto repeato up the other end until someone scores.

Excerpt from http://www.afl.com.au/news/story_217762.htm

Parkin said he had spent the Sydney Olympics watching as many ''territorial team sports'' as possible, including water polo, hockey, handball and ''even basketball''.

''I was convinced in the end that we have reached the stage of every one of those territorial games -- we have become as boring as hell to watch,'' he said.

''When we lose possession now we charge back into the back half to make it hard for the opposition.''

Elaborating later, Parkin said he enjoyed watching one-on-one contests, but there were fewer of them now because players were so fit, fast and athletic.

Parkin said the game had always depended on its intrigue and uncertainty as a contest and said he did not want it to become like basketball.

Thank you, Parko. Nice to find someone who agrees with me.
biggrin.gif
Now, let's see if we can do something about those maggots!
wink.gif

------------------
Olmy knows best

Popular theory now says Port has shown the way to beat the "flood", not sure if that is true or not, but I can say with certainty that watching "long range bombers" is exciting.

Port has a few of them, notably, Dew and Francis, who in your team qualifies for this title?

------------------
Chris

(Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Claus)

Originally posted by Turlough:
IF ANY TEAM IS LIKELY NOT TO WIN A GAME THIS YEAR IT'S THAT WEIRD, YELLOW, ORANGE AND BLUE COMBO DOWN AT WEST COAST LAND - GOD THEY REALLY HAVE PROBLEMS DOWN THERE

Boy G4E sure hates West Coast. Just cant get over those grand finals the cats lost can he?
biggrin.gif

Vis