Mega Thread "I need to vent" thread.

I'm interested in that letter.

I must say revenue raising through fines is a huge bug bear for me. My local council recently changed all the free parking in the vicinity of my work to push people into paid parking that the council owns. They then upped the daily parking rate and smashed the area with parking cops. I have a spot where I can park for free, and walk a bit, because I refuse to pay. But that tactic by council makes me pretty cynical and angry.

I will post the letter here on Monday mate.

I asked him “nicely” twice if he thought it was fair and reasonable to fine me after I promised to take the receipt of payment to his Police Station in the next hour. He said he still was.

That’s when I got pissed off and told him I hope he reached his quota for the day.....he said he doesn’t have a quota......I said bullshit.

The letter, or similar, is widely available on the net.

https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/70291

The last time I was pulled over for speeding, the copper himself told me that as I had a good record for over two years that I should go home and google The letter and I would not be fined.
Did as instructed and fine withdrawn.
This is no “loophole”, it’s actually the law.

The last time I was pulled over for speeding, the copper himself told me that as I had a good record for over two years that I should go home and google The letter and I would not be fined.
I don’t speed so have no need for a magic letter.

I’ve had my licence for 30 years. Not a single speeding fine.
I’m fortunate hardly ever for me, but has happened.

Good work by you.

The biggest nuisance is parking fines, I’m pretty careful to read signs probably.

I'm interested in that letter.

I must say revenue raising through fines is a huge bug bear for me. My local council recently changed all the free parking in the vicinity of my work to push people into paid parking that the council owns. They then upped the daily parking rate and smashed the area with parking cops. I have a spot where I can park for free, and walk a bit, because I refuse to pay. But that tactic by council makes me pretty cynical and angry.
They were out and about around Victoria Park today while everyone was at the footy. Seen a couple of cars who had been pinged for parking in a no standing area. There's no real reason for it to be no standing either and it wasn't a couple of years ago.

Cops fine driver for going too slow and people rejoice
Motorists are praising police in Western Australia who fined a driver for travelling 28km/h under the speed limit on the freeway.

https://www.news.com.au/technology/...e/news-story/279bd2c8e4980c8fe99ba4958e5118bb

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/l...w/news-story/c11219626b592faca7118bdaf3d3f5e5
February 18, 2014 11:31pm

FEATHERFOOT motorists are being dragged to court for driving too slow.

Victoria Police says it is summonsing drivers crawling along at “abnormally low speeds” and obstructing the path of other motorists.

Magistrates’ Court data obtained by the Herald Sun shows 33 drivers were nabbed in the past three years.

But State Highway Patrol Inspector Simon Humphrey told the Herald Sun: “They would have to be doing 55 in a 100 zone, in peak hour.

“We encourage people to drive at or under the speed limit. If people are comfortable driving a couple of km/h under, we encourage that,” he said.

“We just don’t encourage people going 50km/h under the speed limit — it’s about common sense. It’s about obstruction rather than speed.

“If you are going 50km/h down the Monash Freeway at 1am with no cars on the road it’s not a drama, but if you are doing that speed at 7am, in the right-hand lane during peak hour, it might be a problem.”

The data shows some of the motorists walked away with a fine, but for most the charge was struck out or dismissed.

The maximum fine for an offence of “obstructing the path of a driver or pedestrian” is $289 — the same as for those who exceed the speed limit by 10-15km/h.

I would love you to post any evidence of this ever happening.
Been multiple reports in Queensland papers of drivers holding up traffic doing 70 in a hundred zone and getting booked, but if you don’t believe me try it one day up here

My wife pays all our home bills.

Apparently my registration has lapsed by two days.

I have just received a $806.00 fine.

A big f u to the officer that would not let me pay the registration in front of him just now.

Quota my arse 🤯😤😡

That’s tough and unfortunately the luck of the draw.

My wife was pulled up (2 cops having a perve and decided to check her out), and they found the car rego had just lapsed (by a few weeks).

They told her to pay her rego ASAP and let her go. May have helped that she was in the job.....

Yeah I think if you admit fault and haven’t had a speeding offence for 2 or 3 years, they will let you off.

I’m fortunate hardly ever for me, but has happened.

Good work by you.

The biggest nuisance is parking fines, I’m pretty careful to read signs probably.
Mine are tow truck drivers. Been in Melbourne a couple of weeks and I parked my work truck in a loading zone that become a clear way at 7am. Was working 20 meters away, looked up and the truck was half way on the back of the tow truck at 7.01. Had been there since 6am, totally my fault but the guy was a dick about it. $415 dollars later.

Mega Thread "I need to vent" thread.