Autopsy "I remember when"

I did the same. Must have been about 1970 or 71. I was filling in for my older brother, and somehow ended up with 100's of newspapers after "completing" the delivery round. I was surprised the round took me an hour when my brother said it would take 2 - 3 hours. Anyway, hedges served many purposes back then, and one was concealing unwanted evidence! I never told my brother, of course!!

The News was a rubbish paper anyway

Yeah - hedges were good for that but blocks of flats were gold for that as well.
Shove 10 or so into each mailbox and presto - all finished :thumbsu:

I remember going to Festival Hall to see a concert with Manfred Mann, Free, Deep Purple, and Sydney band Piranha (who played and awesome rendition of Santana's 'Soul Sacrifice'). I remember the ticket was around $12.50

I remember Berties, Sebastian's and the Thumping Tum were the only decent clubs in the big smoke. Great smoke filled caverns to see Chain, Daddy Cool, Lobby Lloyd, Spectrum, Healing Force, Madder Lake and a host of live Aussie talent.

I remember when the Southside Six was a great pub to catch up with good friends, the Tottenham Hotel was a venue for all-in brawls, when the Tarmac Hotel waitresses wore clothes, and when a bloke could watch a live band and chat up a nurse at The Chevron without being groped by Ssssssimon from Sssssaint Kilda.

I remember when my footy shorts had a button up fly :rolleyes:

I remember going to Festival Hall to see a concert with Manfred Mann, Free, Deep Purple, and Sydney band Piranha (who played and awesome rendition of Santana's 'Soul Sacrifice'). I remember the ticket was around $12.50

I remember Berties, Sebastian's and the Thumping Tum were the only decent clubs in the big smoke. Great smoke filled caverns to see Chain, Daddy Cool, Lobby Lloyd, Spectrum, Healing Force, Madder Lake and a host of live Aussie talent.

I remember when the Southside Six was a great pub to catch up with good friends, the Tottenham Hotel was a venue for all-in brawls, when the Tarmac Hotel waitresses wore clothes, and when a bloke could watch a live band and chat up a nurse at The Chevron without being groped by Ssssssimon from Sssssaint Kilda.

I only go as far back as zippers... We got a bleeder...lol

And the adjustable side buttons

I remember when the jumpers of my local junior club were all slightly different depending on how old they were.. and they would get wet and weigh an extra 15kgs just absorbing the water basically

lol!... I went from buttons to zippers to "Hey where's the opening! :oops: "

What! No Speedos? :D

I remember... Nathan Ablett?

I think I'm in the wrong thread... :O
No, you're in the correct thread. You're just taking the P155 out of a generation that destroyed the planet, the economy, and any hope you have of a decent future :p

Btw, next time your mum cuts your hair, tell her to try the soup bowl on her head instead of yours.

j/k ;)

No, you're in the correct thread. You're just taking the P155 out of a generation that destroyed the planet, the economy, and any hope you have of a decent future :p

Btw, next time your mum cuts your hair, tell her to try the soup bowl on her head instead of yours.

j/k ;)

It's all your generation's fault, that's my story and I'm sticking to it.

Blame the hairdresser in downtown Grovedale, I pleaded for her to give me the 'Cameron Guthrie look' but she insisted on me 'Getting what I was given!' :(

lol!... I went from buttons to zippers to "Hey where's the opening! :oops: "

What! No Speeds? :D

No, you're in the correct thread. You're just taking the P out of a generation that destroyed the planet, the economy, and any hope you have of a decent future :p

BTW, next time your mum cuts your hair, tell her to try the soup bowl on her head instead of yours.

j/k ;)
It's only a Geelong thing HTR, I'm living in Paradise,I'm loaded:p and the future looks just great or be it at bit to short,but I must agree that's a shit hair cut,sorry GY, old Bert Taylor up West Geelong or Roy Warren down Paco could have done a better job than that.

Sorry about the word ramblings, but I felt was being a little self-indulgent. Thanks for acceptance.
And as you may recall, the VEEDUBS was an error as I frequently did, and still type with CAPSLOCK on.
Bit ostentatious for my liking, hence the more true to character demure, Vdubs, which is the same pronounciation.
WHAT A BULL SHIT EXCUSE.

I sold a Les Paul to a guy from Perth who saw that same tour. He was as big a Free fan as I am so that was very cool. Heard a lot of good stories about that tour from a few older musicians over the years.

I remember well the first venture I made to Festival Hall was to see the second greatest pop group that has ever existed - D.E.V.O. A life-changing event for a 12 year-old, and proof that you are never to young to be given the true facts of life - ie, the world has de-evolved due to human selfishness, corporate greed and government incompetence, and our only way forward to a Beautiful World is to Whip It, Whip It good.

Anyone here get into 'World championship wrestling' followed by world of sport on Sundays. Best comedy shows on TV, Probably still are.
Yes.

WCW was a bit like Father Christmas. I realised when I was about 8 or 9 that the wrestling wasn't "fair dinkum". But wasn't Jack Little a legend?

Remember when he wore a neck brace after some guy 'dropped him on his head'
My dad was on a flight with a bunch of wrestlers who were "mortal enemies' sitting next to each other chatting and reading the papers. 'Fair dinkum' it wasn't, but great live theatre. Some of those guys could wrestle though.
'Sleeper hold' may be a good one for Chris Judd next year:D

My dad was on a flight with a bunch of wrestlers who were "mortal enemies' sitting next to each other chatting and reading the papers. 'Fair dinkum' it wasn't, but great live theatre. Some of those guys could wrestle though.

There were territories in the US were guys would be fired for travelling together. For exactly that reason.

Those were the days , "they'll be hanging from the rafters this Saturday night , at Festival Hall"
Bloody good night at the house of stoush cheering on Spiros or Mario , booing the likes of Skull Murphy and killer Carl Cox

Loved the Sunday TV show with Jack Littles over the top voice and the weedy Paul Jennings getting picked on until a "good guy" saved him.
How many times did Skull Murphy and Brute Bernard beat the absolute crap out of Con Tolios and Con Dandos ( probably two fruiterers from the SM market) as the last match on the TV show , only to be rescued by their ( Murphy and Bernard) opponents for the following Saturday night ? Classic Theatre :thumbsu:

I remember when Nathan Buckley, Michael Voss, James Hird and Mark Ricciuto epitomized everything that a good captain should be.

Hard at the ball, vocal on the field... Confident, without being cocky. Modest, without being timid. These four captains were the ultimate advertisement for everything our great game represents.

I remember when Nathan Buckley, Michael Voss, James Hird and Mark Ricciuto epitomized everything that a good captain should be.

Hard at the ball, vocal on the field... Confident, without being cocky. Modest, without being timid. These four captains were the ultimate advertisement for everything our great game represents.
Absolutely.

It made you realise how bloody good the game was. And that Premierships were friggin hard to come by.

He does. And ruciutto (sp?)

Edit: whoops, didnt realise you had roo in there.

If I had to blend selwoods courage.
It's Hird and Roo.

I still dont reckon he drives through a pack like voss or buckley.
He would have, I'm sure. But the gaps aren't open anymore.