Autopsy "I remember when"

Apologies for intruding but I remember the first game I ever watched was Adelaide vs Geelong.
Don't remember the scores but I loved seeing the scores tick off and constantly looking at the team names.
This was 1998 BTW but my first full game of memory was Adelaide beating Sydney 155-74.

Also, remember the game where Geelong beat West Coast by 135 points in 2008 and the highlight was Bomber demolishing a sanga.

I sold a Les Paul to a guy from Perth who saw that same tour. He was as big a Free fan as I am so that was very cool. Heard a lot of good stories about that tour from a few older musicians over the years.
I hope you sold that Les Paul to buy a Custom, and not a Sandman panel van :D

On the Melbourne leg of the tour - I remember Jon Lord borrowed Manfred's keyboard for most of the gig that night, having rocked his own to a point where it toppled forward and crashed to the stage floor. Ian Gillan was hoarse and continually left stage for 'lubrication', and Richie just seemed totally lost/flustered by the amount of jamming whilst Gillan was off. At least Purple made good by holding a free concert for disgruntled fans a couple of nights later. All I can add is, Paul Rodgers,.. brilliant then, brilliant now!

Anyone here get into 'World championship wrestling' followed by world of sport on Sundays. Best comedy shows on TV, Probably still are.
Nothing like going from Jack Little and Brute Bernard to Louie The Lip and Captain Blood - Compelling TV viewing :D:eek:
Also loved the WCW Monday morning tag-team challenge in the school sandpit. Not so hot on the oft applied three foot ruler across the butt, for putting an opponent in the Indian death lock :mad: :D

Funniest thing I ever saw was when Mario Milano went over to the dark side. You just knew that growing a moustache was going to change his nature. I think that move was scripted by Tony Bartuccio.

I seen lots of Rose and Famechon at the House of Stouch.
You're so lucky! I was a little too young. Though I remember sitting at the kitchen table listening to Rose vs Harada on the radio.
Loved dropping into the old bus shelter as I got a little older. Some of the prelim bouts, where they'd often search Nth. Melbourne bars to fill the card, were worth the price of admission.

Also, remember the game where Geelong beat West Coast by 135 points in 2008 and the highlight was Bomber demolishing a sanga.
Bomber had peculiar ways of celebrating....

Apologies for intruding but I remember the first game I ever watched was Adelaide vs Geelong.
Don't remember the scores but I loved seeing the scores tick off and constantly looking at the team names.
This was 1998 BTW but my first full game of memory was Adelaide beating Sydney 155-74.

It wasn't any of the 28 goals the Cats kicked? Or that Geelong kicked the second highest score at Subi or recorded the second highest win? Or the fact the game broke the record of the biggest winning margin against West Coast at Subi... by eight goals?

An enjoyable game whatever other records were smashed.

I hope you sold that Les Paul to buy a Custom, and not a Sandman panel van :D

Definitely not. I now have a Standard, a SG, and soon a Studio. I had a Hummingbird too at one point. I want to get eventually a Duane Allman Goldtop as well, but we'll see. These pesky things called family and commitments keep getting in the way of guitar purchases. :)

Outside of the finals, my favourite Cats game, and I remember it well. I doubt we'll ever see such a perfect, artful display of the game, featuring such an array of stars second only to the Milky Way on a clear night.

Definitely not. I now have a Standard, a SG, and soon a Studio. I had a Hummingbird too at one point. I want to get eventually a Duane Allman Goldtop as well, but we'll see. These pesky things called family and commitments keep getting in the way of guitar purchases. :)
Only 11k. What's the problem? :D

Good thing you're a Gibson man. Divorce would be first option for Fender enthusiasts :D

*I wonder who's kissing her now.....*

I remember when confetti was thrown up in the standing area after every goal. Gary Ablett kicking a bag against Hawthorn at KP in '93. That was the first match I ever went to. I somehow managed to see the whole game in the standing area being only 9 years old at the time. :confused:

Good thing you're a Gibson man. Divorce would be first option for Fender enthusiasts :D

*I wonder who's kissing her now.....*

Don't worry, I've already told her that while Fenders might be exquisite guitars, and a lot of great guitarists like them, they aren't Gibsons. I said the same thing to Derek Trucks in Adelaide a few years ago (at a Q&A) and he laughed his head off.

Oooh, the Truckers. Warren Haynes fan as well?

*Almost forgetting this is a football board* :oops:

Anyone here get into 'World championship wrestling' followed by world of sport on Sundays. Best comedy shows on TV, Probably still are.

Yep, Jack Little commentating and later also with Lord Layton. Mario Milano, Mark Lewin, Larry O'Dea, Spiros Arion aka The Golden Greek, Andre The Giant, Killer Kawolski, Johnny Gray (often the wipping boy), King Curtis, Brute Bernard, Harley Race. My favourite Yank wrestler from the old days was Tex McKenzie. But who can forget the now politically incorrect "Mighty short people".

Some great names there Rabbi
Also remember Roy "the man with 1000 holds" Heffernan , Killer Karl " brainbuster" Cox , Haystacks Calhoun and Don Leo Jonathan
Did Tex have the claw hold or did he just do the big knee lifts as his specialty?

This is a great thread of memories. A few of mine..
I remember when.....

- You rocked up at 11am to watch the reserves.
- Actually standing on the ground in the last 5 minutes of the game ready to run on as soon as the siren went.
- Getting in the rooms after games.
- Going to all the old school grounds, Windy Hill, Princes Park, Junction Oval, Victoria Park etc.
- Standing on cans in the outer so you could see.
- Lou Richards and Peter Landy commentated the game of the day, todays commentators should have a listen to these to to see how it should be done.
- Following Gary Ablett snr from end to end.
- Going down and watching training under lights and filling your autograph book.
- Collecting footy cards
- Garry Hocking collected your garbage and waiting at the window for a wave.
- Waving a flag
- The footy record was heaps smaller and you actually took notice of the little league ladder.
- A Junior Supporters Club membership off the tv show got you into every game.

Best day I've ever had at the footy was the day the VFL side kicked 32 goals against Casey, and our seniors kicked 37 against Melbourne in 2011. Got to the ground about halfway through the first term of the VFL game when we had 4 goals on the board, so I saw us kick a combined 65 goals that day. :D:thumbsu:

I remember Peter ZYCHLA.
Could there ever be a player so low?

Alphabetically speaking of course.

Decent scrabble hand that surname, especially on a triple word score. :p

Used to love watching Wide World of Sports on Saturdays when they'd have a wrestling bout on, usually in about 3 or 4 instalments. My whole family used to love watching it - even my grandma and uncle used to get into it. Remember going to see a show at the Arena in Geelong where Vulcan from the original Gladiators was on the undercard and Sabu was in the main event.

Best day I've ever had at the footy was the day the VFL side kicked 32 goals against Casey, and our seniors kicked 37 against Melbourne in 2011. Got to the ground about halfway through the first term of the VFL game when we had 4 goals on the board, so I saw us kick a combined 65 goals that day. :D:thumbsu:

Decent scrabble hand that surname, especially on a triple word score. :p

Used to love watching Wide World of Sports on Saturdays when they'd have a wrestling bout on, usually in about 3 or 4 instalments. My whole family used to love watching it - even my grandma and uncle used to get into it. Remember going to see a show at the Arena in Geelong where Vulcan from the original Gladiators was on the undercard and Sabu was in the main event.

That would be a great day.

The best one on memory for mine was just watching probably our best forward line ever demolish Brisbane at KP. Everyone was just on fire.
Ablett, Brownless, Stoneham, Lindner. I am unsure if Russell was playing that day too, but it is hard to put him into that lineup.

Just an amazing game. Actually unsure if the ressies played that day. I got to run down the race with Stoneham and went into the rooms.
Those were the good ol days.

Some great names there Rabbi
Also remember Roy "the man with 1000 holds" Heffernan , Killer Karl " brainbuster" Cox , Haystacks Calhoun and Don Leo Jonathan
Did Tex have the claw hold or did he just do the big knee lifts as his specialty?

Who remembers Jack Little working with Pau Jennings, who went on to become a famous impersonator?

And Brute Bernard's buddy Skull Murphy?

I admit to being terrified in my early days of watching WOS.
And my father sagely advised me that only blokes who didn't work hard at school ended up having to wrestle for a living!! Took me some time also to work out they were performers.

Seeing where in the cricket season-with the Ashes coming up - i will post something in memory lane -relevant to that

I can remember going to the Melbourne Show around 1970 - there was all the usual stuff - rides - side shows - but mixed in with that - they had a net set up - there was Bill Lawry ( who could have been Australian captain at the time) John Scholes and Allan Connolly all in their creams

Scholes was batting - Connolly who was a fast bowler was bowling - and Lawry had the microphone - and was keeping the onlookers informed - re technique wise - after Scholes played certain shots - i can vividly remember after Scholes played one shot - Lawry saying - that was a beautiful cover drive by John Scholes

I dont reckon you would get the Australian captain today - out at the Melbourne show - giving an all day cricket clinic - but back in those days - money hadnt feucked sport up

Love it.. cricket related memories!! I remember going to boxing day about 5 years back.. we started at young and Jacksons at 8am.... actually I don't remember much more than that..... :D

Being serious I remember the 1st game of cricket I went to at the G... was a day nighter in about 97.. Australia Vs Sri Lanka the series the Sri Lankans changed one day cricket forever with Jayasuria and that kaluwitharina(?) teeing off in the 1st 15 overs

I also went to a day nighter when I had just finished year 12 against India.. Punter made a ton, Ganguly did for India and I think it was the 1st game that both Shane and Brett Lee played in.. being a 17 year old I spent more time looking at the chicks in the crowd and just the general mischief than I did the game I reckon :D

And showing the type of behavior the BCCI today show when one of the Indians got ran out in a tight call the Indian fans cracked the shits and had the game stopped for half an hour or so because they started pegging bottles and rubbish on the ground

Good times

I remember when confetti was thrown up in the standing area after every goal. Gary Ablett kicking a bag against Hawthorn at KP in '93. That was the first match I ever went to. I somehow managed to see the whole game in the standing area being only 9 years old at the time. :confused:
lol!... and dunny rolls sailed overhead in an attempt to scone the umpire or an opposition player :D