The Snell and Barnes injuries are each here.​
Video repeats midway through without audio.​
I'd start it at 3:28, unless you just can't​
live without rap and explicit lyrics​

Jason back @ KP leading the victory song​
Rd. 14 2002, v West Coast​
[click image for more pics]​

I remember when the cheersquad used to walk around the boundary at half time hold I blanket stretched between four of them and people used to throw coins in it. And half eaten pies and half full VB cans.

At the same time, someone would walk the boundary with a little chalk board with the winning ticket of the raffle written on it in white chalk.

I remember being allowed into the rooms at every home game and watching the team going through their pre-match.

I remember sliding down the dirt hill on empty pie boxes behind the city end goals.

I remember a Geelong v Collingwood game that is officially listed as having 24 odd thousand at it and the ground being absolutely chockers. There was not one spare bit of room on top of the cyclone fence that ran along the top of the terraces on the Moorabool St side, the old pine tree behind the city end goals was standing room only and there was no Hickey / Wade stand behind the river end goals. Apart from the Past Players and Brownlow stand and the Jack Jennings pavilion, everywhere else was standing room. Must've been 40 thousand + there that day, easily.

I too remember going to games at VFL Park the Footscray way. Not because the driver wanted to avoid the Westgate tolls but because the Westgate wasn't finished yet.:eek:

I remember the (seemingly) century old toilets behind the city end goals at the ground and the Latrobe Terrace entrance that used to make your eyes water when you used them, they were deadset rancid.

Absolutely spot-on HTR. :D
You forgot the bit about trying to get into the boots the next week after you tried to dry them too quick on the hearth in front of the fire.;)

I used to get home from playing little league on a Sunday at North Shore. It would be freezing but no matter how cold it was mum wouldn't let me in the house until she had hosed me off in the back yard then I could go in and have a shower. The cold water out of the hose actually used to warm me up. It would take ages before I could actually have the hot water at any sort of a level in the shower, you had to do it slowly or else it would just burn the crap out of you.

I used to get my brother's hand me down boots until my feet had stopped growing. My first pair were Adidas Striker Mediums with the steel toe and screw ins, my next pair were a pair of Adidas La Plata, thankfully they were moulded.

And the undiscovered Terry Bright, and the great coaching of Billy Goggin, and watching players land on the velodrome and lose flesh??

There was the cyclone fence down behind the Church St end goals over the back of the hill where you stood. The fence had numerous holes in it. When Radojevic was at the height of his powers, at home games when the Roosters were kicking to that end, kids would wait outside the ground behind the fence with a mate or 2 inside. When Joe would slot one through, a kid would grab the nice new Rossie Faulkner and throw it over to his mate.

It must've cost them a fortune.

I remember having my first Cheeseburger at Belmont in Newcastle NSW. I thought it was the most disgusting half assed attempt at a hamburger I had ever had. I think they've gone downhill since then! ... now on a track to Mt Isa or something - genuine response coming up

As a special treat we would sometime get a hamburger from the fish and chip shop. There was one in Daylesford that made especially nice ones, we used to stop and get one on the way back to Geelong from either Bendigo or Boort.

I had my first McDonalds hamburger in Geelong when I was about 8, it was from the Seagull Paddock one (opposite Ford). I thought it was the most disgusting thing I'd ever eaten. I didn't eat anything from McDonalds again until I was 18 and had a car, I wanted to go through the drive-thru :D

Remember when WSC was on in the late 70s? You could go in and say 2 all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions, on a sesame seed bun and you'd get a poster of the cricketers, you'd have to buy a big mac too of course.

I used to take those posters with me to the cricket and sit outside of the Hilton Hotel, it was where the players stayed and as they came out to walk to the G they would sign it for me.

You know, in the good old days when there were no lights at the G so all the one day games were during the day so that actual cricketers that liked cricket could go and watch a game.

I probably haven't eaten Maccas now for 15 years, it's still revolting.

I remember sliding down the dirt hill on empty pie boxes behind the city end goals.

I was going to post that.
But my memory of it was so vague I wasn't sure if I'd just imagined it.

Strange how we find ourselves creatures of habit, even when we think not. I've never ventured past the wing to the city end to watch a game. My favourite spot with cloud cover was always between HF and wing / river end / outer,.. otherwise it was members standing room until the damned seats went in,... then the lower level Wade Stand became home.

45 and a bit
Yeah ok. May have just missed playing with or against each other at North Shore.

I'm 44 in January.

I played there from when I was 6 right through to 13.
Played with the Saints in under 10's and then went to the Demons.

Played some under 14's under Bomber and then stupidly asked for a trade to Bannockburn.

I remember collecting these. Epic.

841a.jpg

7d35.jpg

F**K YES!!! I had forgotten all about these!

I remember the folks not letting me run onto the ground at princes park when Gaz kicked his 100th for the year against Norf in 94 or 95

I also remember in the early 90s and games at KP, a Paul Brown would kick a goal and get polite applause... Gaz would touch the ball and the crowd would go mental!

I remember watching the footy on 7 and the whole 'if you don't want to know the score from blah blah look away now' and 'tip of my tongue' by Diesel would play...

And Sandy Roberts and Ian Robinson (I think was his name) calling games!!

Yeah ok. May have just missed playing with or against each other at North Shore.

I'm 44 in January.

I played there from when I was 6 right through to 13.
Played with the Saints in under 10's and then went to the Demons.

Played some under 14's under Bomber and then stupidly asked for a trade to Bannockburn.

I think we've chatted about this before a couple of years ago.

Bannockburn?

My first game of U/18s, it was the first game of the season, 5 minutes into the first quarter out at Bannockburn. Snapped my leg, a la, Nathan Brown of a few years back.

The next time I played out there was the next season, I grabbed the ball on hb, took off up the wing, had a couple of bounces then put my good foot into a rabbit hole, ripped all the ligaments in that ankle. Was all downhill for my footy career after that, grrrrrrrrrr.

And what were you doing in the great town of Boort?

My mum, brother and two sisters were all born there, Dad was from Bendigo. I was the only one born in Geelong. I had relatives all over the place up there. Boort, Durham Ox, Barraport, Rochester and Bendigo.

I remember the folks not letting me run onto the ground at princes park when Gaz kicked his 100th for the year against Norf in 94 or 95

I also remember in the early 90s and games at KP, a Paul Brown would kick a goal and get polite applause... Gaz would touch the ball and the crowd would go mental!

I remember watching the footy on 7 and the whole 'if you don't want to know the score from blah blah look away now' and 'tip of my tongue' by Diesel would play...

And Sandy Roberts and Ian Robinson (I think was his name) calling games!!

Yeah remember all that too, except I ran on for the 100th goal!

Sandy was a brilliant caller.

Also remember listening to 1278 3AW on Saturday Arvos with Rex and the team (still sing that opening jingle from time to time), then waiting for the AFL today replay hosted by Drew Morphett. I would round off the night by making sure my footy boots were immaculate for the next day and would pack my bag too.

Great times

I also remember when everyone tucked their jumper in and more importantly pulled their socks up
In the big league and locally...

'If you aren't going to be a good footballer you at least need to look like one!!'

Getting 30 cents minimum chips from the fish n chip shop across the road from the ground (just an aside - did anyone ever buy one of those pickled onions that used to be in a jar in every greaso?)
Yep.And I remember the old Fish and Chips wrapped in Newspaper.Talk about hygiene.