I resign from this board

I kind of agree with the OP. I'm not trying to rub Essedon's victory in- it was a lucky escape.

Tonight, you won in he ruck IMO, you won in the midfield (for 3 quarters) but having said that it's against the worst ruck division in the competition and I don't think there's a supporter of any club in the country that doesn't know about Essendon's midfield deficiencies.

There will be no solutions until you admit to the problem, we got rid of Sheedy... that was our problem. The footballing public thought we were crazy but when you actually look into it with a bit of intention, Sheedy didn't have a game plan for his past 5-6 years.

Now, Ratten was a great player but a coach? I don't think so. He's got some ordinary cattle to work with, granted, but Carlton don't look like winning a game... until you play Melbourne.

At the end of the season, cut your losses. Ditch Ratten, delist Cloke, Russell (dud), Houlihan (unreliable and inconsistent), Banister (Essendon and Carlton dud), Thornton (dud) and Scotland (turnover king) and trade Waite (unreliable and inconsistent) and/or Fischer (potential trade bait). Your recruiting has been poorer than ours (before '06 that is). You need quality KPs at both ends of the ground... in particular defence.

Good luck for the rest of the season but unfortunately I think it will be a long one for Carlton supporters, it's a shame because the competition needs Carlton back up there! :thumbsu:

QUOTE]
postedby legendoftski
Oh you guys will win. Every underdog has been beating us for what, 8 years now.
[/QUOTE]

what do u mean dude? every week it is us that are the underdog. U seem to think that we are a side off all stars or sth. Ask any football writer they will say that Carlton's list is a bottom 4 list this year. i would understand your frustration if we were underachiveing but we aint. We are just not good enough.

I think we will beat Melbourne. I honestly believe that is one side we are better than this year. At risk of getting flamed i hope u can now all appreciate the monumental coaching job done by Pagan last year. 4 wins in our first 11 games and that was without Judd.

In any event i don't know what guys like Legendofstksi want us to do. Shall we ring the club and ask them to sack another coach? we could delist a few players at years end but who are we really going to replace them with?

Ban me. Call me a troll. But I waste too much angst on this board supporting this rubbish team since we spooned out earlier this decade.

Carazzo, Simpson, Fisher, Russell, Houlihan, Waite, Scotland, O'Hailpin, Walker, Bannister, Thornton are players that will never play finals footy, nor are worthy of it. This is the stone cold truth.

This game, more than any was a 'line in the sand' game for this 'developing' club in this 'modern' game of footy 70% of which is played between the ears. These guys are woeful. The youth are ordinary footballers at their very best, and don't have the maturity to keep them through. When Stevens, Fev et al. are gone we will be crap for another two decades at this rate.

Kernahan has been the biggest denial on this club with his role as behind the scenes head honcho. In nearly a decade our recruitment, list management, coaching etc..etc.. has been less than woeful, even after our punishment for cheating the draft.

Heads must roll, the fish rots at the head, and it's Kernahans' outdated useless mullet and position on the board should be cut off like a terrorist's propaganda video. Despite it's offensiveness (the terrorist videos), they make chilling statements about how bad things are and how disempowered some people are. In this case, the Carlton supporters who have been denied success for most of a decade.

You guys can pontificate about how rubbishy players 'will come good'. They just don't care and have paid off their mortgages well before you or I have, and we still lose.

Tonight's loss is unacceptable, and getting Judd won't turn around this side.

and if I hear the 'have patience' excuse again, someone might get a fat lip. There are alot of better teams out there with 'young lists'.....

so from here on end I resign from this board. I will glean the rubbish you talk about, and will probably get banned for talking the 'truth'.

Alas, even in cyberspace, morons still run the show.

Ease up...the old mio-cardial infarction can creep up at anytime.

Given your post I hardly need to say it, but you are a tool of the highest order. I took more out of tonight's game than just about anything over the last few years.

Fevola...played with purpose. If this is Fev off the piss, welcome to sobriety my friend.

Judd...a class above. Still quite obviously labouring, but racked up more contested possessions than Jordan Russel and Angus Monfries will see in a a combined lifetime of football.

Kruezer...just great to see. The work below the knees was great. Was competitive in the ruck, and knows where to run to on the ground, which puts him five years ahead of most young ruckmen.

Hadley...has already justified his selection. Brings hardness and poise to the team.

Cloke...Not sure how much more he needs to do to earn the respect of constant doubters. Many here have been proclaiming Hampson as our number one big man. I think tonight shows the order is Cloke, daylight, Kruezer, Hampson.

Murphy...a very pleasing consistency working into his game. Still a couple of questionable disposals, but the link up work with Judd is exciting.

Betts...clearly his best game for us, and hopefully he will come to understand that their is nothing holding him back from playing that game every week. It was nothing other than workrate that saw him rack up 27possessions.

Sure the skills were poor at times, and yes there were half a dozen passengers, but I wonder if so called supporters such as yourself are judging the game on the result or the performance.

So get carried away...tear up your membership, do whatever makes you feel better, I honestly couldn't give a ____. I was there in the good times, Im here in the bad times, and i'll be there for the good times again,

I kind of agree with the OP. I'm not trying to rub Essedon's victory in- it was a lucky escape.

Tonight, you won in he ruck IMO, you won in the midfield (for 3 quarters) but having said that it's against the worst ruck division in the competition and I don't think there's a supporter of any club in the country that doesn't know about Essendon's midfield deficiencies.

There will be no solutions until you admit to the problem, we got rid of Sheedy... that was our problem. The footballing public thought we were crazy but when you actually look into it with a bit of intention, Sheedy didn't have a game plan for his past 5-6 years.

Now, Ratten was a great player but a coach? I don't think so. He's got some ordinary cattle to work with, granted, but Carlton don't look like winning a game... until you play Melbourne.

At the end of the season, cut your losses. Ditch Ratten, delist Cloke, Russell (dud), Houlihan (unreliable and inconsistent), Banister (Essendon and Carlton dud), Thornton (dud) and Scotland (turnover king) and trade Waite (unreliable and inconsistent) and/or Fischer (potential trade bait). Your recruiting has been poorer than ours (before '06 that is). You need quality KPs at both ends of the ground... in particular defence.

Good luck for the rest of the season but unfortunately I think it will be a long one for Carlton supporters, it's a shame because the competition needs Carlton back up there! :thumbsu:

Mate, sheedy wasn't ur problem, if u seriously think ur season has been propelled after tonights win, then enjoy living a life of disillusionment!

A lot has gone wrong for Carlton this year. In a perfect world O'Hailpin would not have lost 10kgs in the lead up to round 1 and would be a permanant FB. Walker and Fisher would be fit. Judd and Stevens would be 100% fit. Jamison, Hampson, Kreuzer will all be top players. Gibbs and Murphy will be stars. Carlton are a bottom 4 side, but will not be for long.

Very well summed up DG. Couldn't have said it any better than myself. One thing I will add though - we need some speed. We don't have any jets waiting in the wings at Preston, but i'd like to think that the recruiting department might go for some leg speed in November.

grow up, their just kids that need direction. As for the bitchmond supporter in regards to JUDDY u idiot, dont cry over spilt milk monkey, at 50% Judd is better than any of your players by at least 49%,
PS> Terry Wallace the site I promised to send you is www.seek.com.au
richmond eat their own..
GO BLUES

We are all hurting after another loss, but the positive signs still remain. We just need to get a good performance out of most our 22, and the wins will come.

spot on the money, one week our forwards perform, the next week, only our backs do, the week after, only our mids! we really need our whole team to gel at once. we need a full consistent effort from our entire team...if we can play like we did in the third tonight consistently throughout the year than we will be a force to be reckoned with!

Mate, sheedy wasn't ur problem, if u seriously think ur season has been propelled after tonights win, then enjoy living a life of disillusionment!

2/1 is better than 1/2. Its also better than 0/3 :thumbsu:
But look on the bright side, what is worse than equalling your worst losing streak to the bombers?? Wait I know... Breaking the record to collingwood:D cherry on the cake :thumbsu:

spot on the money, one week our forwards perform, the next week, only our backs do, the week after, only our mids! we really need our whole team to gel at once. we need a full consistent effort from our entire team...if we can play like we did in the third tonight consistently throughout the year than we will be a force to be reckoned with!
hold up!!!

5 minutes ago you were saying we are a joke of a team and a rabble...

now HBF says we need to gel your all for it...

grow some balls and stick with an opinion...

if you weren't so ignorant in the first place you would have realised their were plenty of postives in tonights game

hold up!!!

5 minutes ago you were saying we are a joke of a team and a rabble...

now HBF says we need to gel your all for it...

grow some balls and stick with an opinion...

if you weren't so ignorant in the first place you would have realised their were plenty of postives in tonights game

lol, mate, u r a real one eyed groupie aren't ya?! typical wide eyed supporter who can't see our teams failings and continually looks on "the bright side". seriously, i know there was plenty of positives! unlike u tho, i am willing to constructively cristise this team and strive for better! for years, yes, we have been a rabble. and it is because of basic things like being unable to "gel" as a team that we continually wollow at the bottom of the ladder!

I thought Carlton had a real crack tonight, yes they lost, but plenty of positives.

the dude that started this thread is no supporter, he probably bet on essendon to win.....

change his name to abraham lincoln..... tosser!

lol, mate, u r a real one eyed groupie aren't ya?! typical wide eyed supporter who can't see our teams failings and continually looks on "the bright side". seriously, i know there was plenty of positives! unlike u tho, i am willing to constructively cristise this team and strive for better! for years, yes, we have been a rabble. and it is because of basic things like being unable to "gel" as a team that we continually wollow at the bottom of the ladder!
'we are shit'--so contructive

mate whats the point of gettign angry? sure i'm disaapointed but whats there to be angry about? The team tried their guts out and came up short? If i thought they were capable of more at this point i would be angry but i don't think they are. how is demanding that things be better going to accelarate the development of the young players? we can be positive and focus on the positves or we can just get angry each week and rant and rave and scapegoat. i would rather stay positive thanks. the club is going about it the right way and i know u hate hearign it but it takes time.

totally agree. this team has played three games with juddy and one with kreuzer in it. they were our 2 big recruits. juddys game was better, fev & betts had a good one and kreuzer looks to be a future star. it will take time. maybe the whole season will be poor, maybe only the first half who knows but only time will tell. im not jumping ship just yet it has only been 12 years since our last flag. some clubs have had to wait 43 or 72 years and their supporters stayed on board. be patient and dont expect wins just yet and you wont get disapointed.

Like I said in other posts, when your team wins, easy easy to have 'sympathy' for the losers. This isn't democracy geniuses, it's sport.

And the only thing I can accept at this point is that we are rubbish. There is nothing else to debate until we actually manufacture a win.
well fcuk off like you said you would.

Ban me. Call me a troll. But I waste too much angst on this board supporting this rubbish team since we spooned out earlier this decade.

Carazzo, Simpson, Fisher, Russell, Houlihan, Waite, Scotland, O'Hailpin, Walker, Bannister, Thornton are players that will never play finals footy, nor are worthy of it. This is the stone cold truth.

This game, more than any was a 'line in the sand' game for this 'developing' club in this 'modern' game of footy 70% of which is played between the ears. These guys are woeful. The youth are ordinary footballers at their very best, and don't have the maturity to keep them through. When Stevens, Fev et al. are gone we will be crap for another two decades at this rate.

Kernahan has been the biggest denial on this club with his role as behind the scenes head honcho. In nearly a decade our recruitment, list management, coaching etc..etc.. has been less than woeful, even after our punishment for cheating the draft.

Heads must roll, the fish rots at the head, and it's Kernahans' outdated useless mullet and position on the board should be cut off like a terrorist's propaganda video. Despite it's offensiveness (the terrorist videos), they make chilling statements about how bad things are and how disempowered some people are. In this case, the Carlton supporters who have been denied success for most of a decade.

You guys can pontificate about how rubbishy players 'will come good'. They just don't care and have paid off their mortgages well before you or I have, and we still lose.

and if I hear the 'have patience' excuse again, someone might get a fat lip. There are alot of better teams out there with 'young lists'.....

so from here on end I resign from this board. I will glean the rubbish you talk about, and will probably get banned for talking the 'truth'.

Fluck off then d1ckhead we don't need pathetic supporters like you giving us diehards a bad name, why don't you piss off over to punt road where you can whinge like the rest of them. YOU ARE WEAK AS PISS PS: go grab a f-ing tissue you f-ing sook

You are a joke mate! seriously, some of u _____ need to grow some balls and ____in get angry! we can't keep accpeting these "our boys will mature" "we need to learn to play together". "we cant play 4 quarters of footy" excuses! We've gone near on a decade being the, woeful, pathetic, laughing stock team of the afl! when are some of u finally gonna look in the mirror and stop accepting these honourable defeats?!
Let's assume we all do as you suggest (if not already the case) and from now on (a) get angry and (b) refuse to accept these honourable defeats.

How in practical terms will that change anything?

And how do you know that people aren't already angry, upset, disappointed, etc at how the club is travelling? It could just be that many people here try to keep their emotions in check when posting. Not everyone has to go off his/her brain after each loss to prove that they hurt you know.

You've already forgot we were playing another bottom-four team.

Here's an defintion of denial:

de·ni·al (d-nl)
n.

An unconscious defense mechanism characterized by refusal to acknowledge painful realities, thoughts, or feelings.

Yeah, we're millionaires on paper, but losers on the scoreboard.

essendon bottom 4 team? are you joking ?? seriosly ... the beat kangas by 40 odd points... and kangas almost rolled the hawks ?? not a bottom 4 side. Yes they got thumped by 99 points last week... but they did play geelong ... gee cant wait til we play em :eek:

go barrak for geelong .... you and that other Fu**wi*

Let's assume we all do as you suggest (if not already the case) and from now on (a) get angry and (b) refuse to accept these honourable defeats.

How in practical terms will that change anything?

And how do you know that people aren't already angry, upset, disappointed, etc at how the club is travelling? It could just be that many people here try to keep their emotions in check when posting. Not everyone has to go off his/her brain after each loss to prove that they hurt you know.

i dont doubt that half our supporter base are in dissaray and really upset! i just want the players to show the same passion as the long suffering supporters!!! its just not good enough anymore! its 2008, we've sucked since the year 2000. this team has been a bottom of the rung....the worst of the worst...For nearly a decade. that IS NOT ACCEPTABLE for any club. and IS NOT acceptable ANYMORE. WE ARE CARLTON!!!!!

Whilst it is understandable that you are upset and angry at our ongoing losses, doing your block like that really paints you in a very poor light.

Whether you like it or not, supporting a club does not involve continual success and prosperity - there are going to be hard times.

Taking your bat and ball and going home because we are crap (and have been for some time) is not what supporting is about in my view.

I would suggest you take an extended break from this board to allow yourself to cool down.

I would also suggest you use that time to think about what it means to be a supporter of this club.