SS11

I think u people missed the point about M1 today. Its pretty easy to pick on the protesters isnt it??

Least they have the guts to stand up for what they care and belive in..ok so some might eat macca's and wear nike clothes>

but the corporates have millions they are using for shit little things, instead of the third world people. Just cos they dont have jobs and are poor, doesnt mean theya re scum. Least they care about the environment and third world countries. And they stand up for it.

You might care about this also, but how can u change anything by sitting at home or working and saying look at those idiots protesting..Wont solve anything, least M1 is trying.

I think you miss the point, SS11.

I do not need to be lectured on the environment by people who litter and vandalise. Nor by someone who drives a stinking, polluting Volkswagen Kombi

I do not need to be lectured on globalisation by someone who buys a fully imported car (Yes I do know a protester who has done that recently!).

I do not need to be lectured on "starving masses" by someone who opposes the genetic engineering technology that would allow us to feed every one on the planet.

I do not need to be lectured about "poverty" by some schoolgirl wearing a private school uniform. What the hell would a private school kid know about poverty??

If these people want to do something for the planet, tell them to plant a f@cking tree!

We pay taxes so these people can waste time and taxpayer money disrupting everyone else, and sprouting a political philosophy that I personally find disgusting and morally bankrupt.

Ignorance is absolutely no excuse for spreading lies.

------------------
TT - The obligatory bad-tempered Richmond supporter

Oh, and why do they have to deliberately look and act so offensively? I'm not especially fond of some multinationals either, but I'll be damned if ever join a bunch filthy scumbags with no respect for anything or anyone else but themselves.

[This message has been edited by TigerTank (edited 01 May 2001).]

Very emotive issue and im sure a good deal of the protestors are well meaning, however, Bill Gates for instance donates millions to charities every year, BHP, McDonalds etc employ thousands of people in this country alone, many of whom would be unemployed and struggling otherwise. Poverty in third world countries wont be solved by destroying multi Nationals, all youd be doing is creating more poverty in areas which are currently thriving. Corporations today are very aware of there responsibilities to the environment and most are good corporate citizens, McDonalds for instance has changed all there packaging in the past 10 years for environmental reasons. The problem lies more with corrupt regimes in places such as Africa, the Middle East and Asia, where democracy is a dirty word and the protestors who are currently enjoying there day in the sun because they live in a democracy would be shot if they tried to voice there opinions. So all you protestors, remember it is your right in this country to demonstrate for what you believe in, but what gives you the right to disrupt people from going about there daily lives? Hundreds of people would have been denied a wage today because of closures due to your protests! Too me thats just not right.

We had a debate about this in Business Management (year 12) today and here is some things we came up with:

FOR:
*Provides Jobs - Worldwide (millions)
*Reduces prices (at least in theory)
*Increases competition
*Gives the consumer choice
*Provides Investment in Australia
*Infrastructure - Provides local people with jobs building the infrastructure for these companies.

ANTI:
* Potential for exploitation of third world companies
* Profits returned to overseas "parent" company
* The companies are foreign owned
* Ownership of own resources - for example if Shell had taken over Woodside then Shell would own the leases on the resources which were formerly Australian owned!!

There ya go!

Originally posted by SS11:

Some of them are ok tho...well the ones I know.

Of course some of them are OK. Some of them work hard, and some probably mean well too.

It doesn't make them any less wrong.

------------------

If these 'M1" people were really serious about wanting to change the world they should be throwing bombs, assasinating political and business leaders, physically seizing control by occupying key buildings in Sydney Melbourne and Canberra and generally doing the REAL revolutionary stuff.

TT is absolutely goddam dead right - these people aren't serious, they are just out for a good time, shout a few slogans, bait the police, spray some graffiti, feel all warm and self-righteous inside, and then they will go home to their nice middle class houses and eat good meals and watch commercial tv before climbing into their nice warm beds.

Personally I sympathise with the issues they are trying to raise, but these so-called 'demonstrations' are exercises in politically correct middle class fantasy.

Peaceful demonstration - schmeecful demonstration I say.

If you really want change - throw some bombs, chop off John Howard's head, Blow up the Stock Exchange - you know - actually BE a revolutionary, and stop playing silly little pretend games all the time.

Mao Tse Tung is right - power comes from the barrel of a gun - not some dork waiving a placard.

cheers

From what I saw on bourke st it was mainly union members (AWU members) that took advantage of a day off. The rest were school kids and the usual unemployed hippies that have nothing better to do than annoy anyone within the CBD.

Lets attack the real evil - the AFL

Joe Gutnick is right.

But don't boycott your own clubs - that is what they want.

Boycott the "AFL Record" or something like that. If the sales went down by 50% on a particular week, they'd soon get the message

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel:
If these 'M1" people were really serious about wanting to change the world they should be throwing bombs, assasinating political and business leaders, physically seizing control by occupying key buildings in Sydney Melbourne and Canberra and generally doing the REAL revolutionary stuff.

cheers

That way I can get serious about being an armed counter-revolutionary, instead of a pontificating office worker in a suit.

See, everybody wins!

------------------

Originally posted by Pessimistic:
Lets attack the real evil - the AFL

Easier and safer to take on the Government than the AFL. They are far too powerful and have a vice-like grip.

They can blackmail people by scheduling Richmond and Hawthorn home games at Princes Park :(

------------------

Originally posted by TigerTank:

I do not need to be lectured on the environment by people who litter and vandalise. Nor by someone who drives a stinking, polluting Volkswagen Kombi

I do not need to be lectured on globalisation by someone who buys a fully imported car (Yes I do know a protester who has done that recently!).

I do not need to be lectured on "starving masses" by someone who opposes the genetic engineering technology that would allow us to feed every one on the planet.

I do not need to be lectured about "poverty" by some schoolgirl wearing a private school uniform. What the hell would a private school kid know about poverty??

If these people want to do something for the planet, tell them to plant a f@cking tree!

We pay taxes so these people can waste time and taxpayer money disrupting everyone else, and sprouting a political philosophy that I personally find disgusting and morally bankrupt.

Beautifully put TT.

where's wally?

Who's lecturing you. Do you have listen?

Why shouldn't people protest? So poor old Maccas have to pay someone to clean up after the nasty people spray painted there walls? I'll tell you what offends me. It using a government provided police force as some kind of private militia against the citizens that pay for them in the first place. I pay my taxes(and Ive paid a lot) too, so don't give this bullshit about protesters being some feral army who do nothing for society.The REAL society wreckers are multi-nationals.

Originally posted by localyokel:
Why shouldn't people protest? So poor old Maccas have to pay someone to clean up after the nasty people spray painted there walls? I'll tell you what offends me. It using a government provided police force as some kind of private militia against the citizens that pay for them in the first place. I pay my taxes(and Ive paid a lot) too, so don't give this bullshit about protesters being some feral army who do nothing for society.The REAL society wreckers are multi-nationals.

local, its not the cleaning of the graffiti, its the innocent people trying to make a living who are abused just because they want to go to work, 90% of the protestors were quite well behaved and made there point ligit, its the moron 10% that loses everybodys sympathy, i have a mate who has a small business in the city who had to close for the day, he also had graffiti all over his shop, he has a mortgage and a young family, and now has had to go without a full days takings because of the protestors! His bills wont stop, thats what makes people angry, for Gods sake protest to your hearts content, it is a hard fought for right, but dont kid yourselves that your only hurting 'big corporations' there are alot of innocent victims caught in the crossfire and the protestors couldnt give a shite

HUMAN NEED AND NOT CORPORATE GREED.

THE PEOPLE UNITED WILL NEVER BE DEFEATED,

And i had a great day it was marvellous to see so many people care about a world that has become motivated by greed.

There are many people in this country and 3rd world countries who are not anywhere nearly as lucky as us and if i consider it my right to lend moral support to the poor and downtrodden in our world i will.

The big corporates you praise for employing thousands upon thousands throughout the world is true but we must also remember these same multi national corporations are destroying our planet and exploiting the poor

It is my social belief that we should all care for the poor,the homeless.the sick,the elderly,

And i am proud of to have these values for once we all stop caring we forfeit our right to be called a caring society.

And if it means shutting down a small part of the city to get that message across well so be it.

seeya.

Originally posted by collingwood_joffa:
HUMAN NEED AND NOT CORPORATE GREED.

THE PEOPLE UNITED WILL NEVER BE DEFEATED,

seeya.

Try this one ...

MINDLESS SLOGANS, FROM THE MOUTHS OF BOGANS

------------------

or this one ...

THE PEOPLE'S WRATH, WE REFUSE TO TAKE A BATH

------------------

or this one ...

THE PEOPLE'S WRATH, WE REFUSE TO TAKE A BATH

YOU REALLY LET YOURSELF DOWN WITH THOSE TWO POST'S TIGERTANK IM A LITTLE DISSAPOINTED IM THOUGHT YOUR INITIAL POST WAS FAIR BUT YOU KINDA EXPLAINED YOUR AGENDA WITH THE FOLLOWING TWO REPLIES SEEYA AROUND !!