I was there when....

• Thread starter Thread starter MaccaRoo

I was just thinking about some of the amazing things I've seen at the footy and thought it would be good to see what others witnessed first hand.

Some of the things I've seen.....

• Merv Neagle going into the fence at Arden street
This happened right in front of me. It wasn't pretty but Neagle didn't even flinch, just wanted to get even with Doug Smith??? Not too sure. Anyway his whole face was covered in blood with 5 seconds of him smashing into the fence. Very very ugly.

When we beat Collingwood at Victoria Park in 93 I think. McAdam, where are you?

I was there - a lot of the above

'75 GF - our first and if they had a Norm Smith then Croswell would have won it
17 men on the ground against Bombers
The Pie stand burning down
Our last game at Arden street v the tigers
Sitting in the rain at Arden St v the Swans while it was about 2 deg
BLIGHTYS 4 goals in time on last qtr against Carlton in 76 to win us the game
Longmires bag of 14 against Melbourne
Carey beating all of Melbourne
Not beating the Dorks for 10 years, nearest we came was a drawn game with Crocker playing a blinder on a Queens Birthday weekend, then finally beating them one friday night by about 120 points BLISS
Winnies mark in Canberra

and being part of a group who gave Sam Newman a verbal when he walked into Arden Street before the game v the Cats (his last season I think) - Sam had tipped blonde hair and a mo those days and strutted in to check out the seconds...what a ponce then.

Briedis and Billy Picken having a dust up at Arden Street

Robert Smith (then manager of the Social Club) having Ken Montgomery thrown out of the disco at Arden Street for being D&D.

North Fans throwing Marshmallows at Sheeds

oi I feel old

- 2005 when North kicked 4 goals in the last 3 minutes against Collingwood to cement a spot in the finals.

- 2006 when Nathan Thompson destoryed Zac Dawson and kicked a lazy eight goals.

- 2004 against the Bulldogs, we were down by 36 points at half time and won by 8 I think it was. Leigh Brown and Sav Rocca kicking two goals late by memory.

- 2004 Round 1 vs Adelaide @ G. Leigh Brown kicking 6 goals and bring out the 'finger shaker' celebration.

- 2008 Brad Johnson kicking a point after the siren in Boomers 250th game. What a game that was, Bulldogs undefeated to that point. Boomer got koed early in the game and then kicked a goal running from the wing, inspiritional, the crowd went nuts :thumbsu:

- 2007 Eddie Sansbury kicking 5 goals on Adam Cooney :D

- 2003 against Brisbane. Brisbane was an all conquoring team at the time and we drew with them. Voss kicking a point on the siren to draw the game.

- 2007 Archers 300th, Drew kicking 6 goals in 20 minutes and going nuts. Thought he was going to break Fred Fanning's record of 18 goals in a game when he kicked his 6 goal within the first 20 minutes.

-2007 at Geelong. Beat Geelong in Geelong then after that game Geelong started to conquor the competition.

- 2004. Beating Carlton by 125 points in the last round with Spider Burton weaving around players and kicking goals.

- 2003. Jason McCartney game, inspirational :thumbsu:

- Shane Harvey kicking something like 4.5 in the first term against Hawthorn at the G 2004 i think.

Darryn F****** Cresswell staging for a free kick against Winnie Abrahams in the goalsquare in the last 20 seconds of a game at the SCG. Early 2000s, maybe 03 or 04. That was the first game of footy I took my wife to. She would be a North supporter today if not for that snot nosed tossbag

It was Shannon Motlop not Winne. I remember that game, so devastated.

Damn you Sydney, I hate Sydney!!!!!! So glad we beat them in 96 :thumbsu: :D

- 2004 against the Bulldogs, we were down by 36 points at half time and won by 8 I think it was. Leigh Brown and Sav Rocca kicking two goals late by memory.

- 2004. Beating Carlton by 125 points in the last round with Spider Burton weaving around players and kicking goals.

Both of these games were in 2003.

Mid-year 2000 miserable home game at the SCG against Port Adelaide in front of 7000. Rarely has a win by a team full of great players felt so flat.

Ross Glendinning goal from the centre circle at Arden St. I think it was in '79.

Game against Geelong at Kardinia Park where we had nobody to play on Ablett so Schimmelbusch ended up having to giving away a heap of size and gave him an absolute bath.

The Collingwood game in '93. We ended the careers of Morwood, Christian and Gayfer that day. In fact I think Gayfer and Morwood were sacked on the monday after the game. The funniest part wasn't just the result, it was the fact that the Collingwood fans were well and truly fuming and the North fans could see what was about to happen so we walked out and said nothing leaving them to turn on themselves. :)

One out of left field would be a game against Footscray at the Whitten Oval the same year. It was the first sign to me that we were good. They were one of the teams to beat at that stage and we were simply too good for them. It was also turning out to be a bitter match with spitfires starting up all over the place. It was memorable for 3 reasons. Carey putting on a clinic and making Ben Sexton look as though he had no place being on an AFL ground, McAdam hardly being sighted all day and yet he bobbed up with a lazy 6, and Hawkins trying to wipe out Rock and getting more than he bargained for.

That was a ripper. Rocky absolutely smashed him.

And another:

Arnie Briedis taking out Glenn Hawker with the sweetest right cross in the '83 prelim final. It happened about 100 metres off the ball but was picked up on the behind-the-play spycam that was being trialled at the time (the trial was due in no small part to the presence of one R. Andrews on the field). I think it gets a run on the Electrifying Eighties. It was the only highlight of the day from a North perspective. The Bombers flogged us (sending us out in straight sets after we finished on top) and, in one of the alltime great ticketing FUBARs, me and my sisters were seated directly behind the Essendon cheersquad.

Being a bazillion points up late in the second and still losing against Essendon is one that comes to mind.

I have never loved and despised something in such equal measures as that day.

Was at that game (actually a mate was runner for North that day) - but go back to the 70s when we had a very strong wind in the last quarter, in front at 3/4 time and you guys only had 17 men. I still don't understand how Barry Cable is not rated in the all time greats. What he did in that 30 min was unbelievable to get North comfortably over the line.

1980 Escort Cup Grand Final when we came from behind against the filth and Kerry Good kicked his famous goal after the siren to win the game.

We were on the outer side of the ground and didn't hear the siren, so knew nothing about the controversy (siren sounding as Blight's pass was in mid air) until we got home that night and saw it on the late news.

I was at that game too, our forward line was one of the most dangerous forward lines I have ever seen.

The look on Hawkins face was hysterical, he didn't know what hit him....right in front of the dogs faithful too:thumbsu:

I spoke to Hawk about that incident at a cricket match I was playing against him. He said he felt like the game was slipping and wanted to try and distract North. As it turned out all he did was fire us up even more......he said his respect for Rocky grew as he mouthed off a lot but put his head over the ball when he had to and gave as good as he got.

Steve McPherson tried to even up with Rocky for the rest of the day but just kept getting pinged for frees.

We arrived that day.

What a day! I was standing on the outer wing, just to the left of centre. Carey was absolutely awesome that day.

I miss the old suburban grounds. Going to Whitten Oval, Victoria Park and Moorabbin was always exciting, perhaps from the fear of being stabbed, but still great atmosphere was guaranteed.

What a day! I was standing on the outer wing, just to the left of centre. Carey was absolutely awesome that day.

I miss the old suburban grounds. Going to Whitten Oval, Victoria Park and Moorabbin was always exciting, perhaps from the fear of being stabbed, but still great atmosphere was guaranteed.

That's still a possibility at Sydney games, although maybe not the sort of stabbing one would be fearful of at the old school suburban grounds.

Much prefer a shiv thanks.

Corey Jones banana at the SCG in Archer's 250th. That last quarter was sensational! Think that was the game when McKernan rucked his own ball from the square, sprinted away & goaled in about 15 seconds.

Darryn F****** Cresswell staging for a free kick against Winnie Abrahams in the goalsquare in the last 20 seconds of a game at the SCG. Early 2000s, maybe 03 or 04. That was the first game of footy I took my wife to. She would be a North supporter today if not for that snot nosed tossbag :mad:

1996 grand final, in standing room underneath the Great Southern stand.

Once of the most bizarre was seeing Longmire slide through the SCG mud on a filthy wet day. He slid 20m+ (not exaggerating!) right through the centre square.

Edit: Winnie's mark at Manuka! Best mark I have ever seen in person.
Was Shannon Motlop, not Abs.

- Pickett and Biglands running straight at the ball, Pickett cleans him up (playing for Port)

- Abrahams speckies

- Grant running riot in the granny ("...Grant kicks three, Grand kicks three....Grant kicks four, Grant kicks four!...")

- Archer fake punching the King (Lost my voice 8 minutes in exactly)

That at princes Park when we beat carlton and that mad bugger with the tattooed beard - a lovely bloke, Paddy maybe? - ran onto the group brandishing a home made wooden spoon.

I was there - a lot of the above

'75 GF - our first and if they had a Norm Smith then Croswell would have won it
17 men on the ground against Bombers
The Pie stand burning down
Our last game at Arden street v the tigers
Sitting in the rain at Arden St v the Swans while it was about 2 deg
BLIGHTYS 4 goals in time on last qtr against Carlton in 76 to win us the game
Longmires bag of 14 against Melbourne
Carey beating all of Melbourne
Not beating the Dorks for 10 years, nearest we came was a drawn game with Crocker playing a blinder on a Queens Birthday weekend, then finally beating them one friday night by about 120 points BLISS
Winnies mark in Canberra

and being part of a group who gave Sam Newman a verbal when he walked into Arden Street before the game v the Cats (his last season I think) - Sam had tipped blonde hair and a mo those days and strutted in to check out the seconds...what a ponce then.

Briedis and Billy Picken having a dust up at Arden Street

Robert Smith (then manager of the Social Club) having Ken Montgomery thrown out of the disco at Arden Street for being D&D.

North Fans throwing Marshmallows at Sheeds

oi I feel old

i sadly remember most of this post certainly getting old now

I loved it back in the arden street days of blights goal square speccies,you could see him coming from 10 feet back....
the day the hot dog stand burnt down was a good one also happened at carlton i believe, seeing the members give merv neagle a spray after he head butted the fence.. ross glenndennings goal the day we kicked 30 i think against carlton, huge torp.
my dad basically throwing me over the fence to get in against carlton the day dywer kicked a late late goal to give us the win...
`85 final also against carlton my dad one eyed essendon singing the north
song , i have never seen him that happy for any team except essendon.

john longmires 12 against the tiges back in 1990, round 2 not that sure was just the stuff of dreams

I believe I may have Daveo.

[YOUTUBE]1oDqOB9yPrs[/YOUTUBE]

Did you hear the Tim Lane at the end saying "I don't think I've ever seen that before"

Didn't you watch Corey in 1996 Tim?

That at princes Park when we beat carlton and that mad bugger with the tattooed beard - a lovely bloke, Paddy maybe? - ran onto the group brandishing a home made wooden spoon.

Me too.....he was a couple of metres away from us screaming "I'm taking it out there".....and then he was gone.....dodging security.....what a hoot!!!!!

going way back here guys,cant remember exact year but john "kanga" kennedy was coach,had been raining for about two weeks solid and we were playing carlton at princes park,naturally we had the white away shorts on and and before the bounce kanga gathered all 20 players in the quagmire centre square and made them all do forward rolls in the mud we looked like we had just finished the game before a ball was even kicked, PURE GOLD,by the way i believe kanga had a profound influence on our club in many intangible ways,and i really respect the man,and his crappy old gabardine overcoat,also his booming voice,you would swear he was using a megaphone from the boundary at training,but no,just his booming voice,bravo kanga

The day Adrian Mcadam kicked 9 goals at Vic Park, Carey a lazy 6 goals.....my mate invited me to the collingwood members that day and I just stood there and watch them all turn on themselves and me quietly thinking "thats it turn onto ya-selves!!!"

Also the time when we flogged them at waverley in 1987 their seniors kicked 2.6.18 and it belted down with rain that day.

but what was more memorable was the 1sts, 2nds and 3rds kicked a total (I think !!)

was it 4 goals 22 points!! any historians here??

now thats a day nth melbourne should never forget!

the day mal blight kicked a point and steve mcann trying to explain to him that he a point instead of a goal.

Breaking our losing streak to hawthorn 85 to 93...........FINALLY!!! AND WHAT A WIN
I remember some old hawk supporter nearby whinging that day about some umpire decisions etc ,I just chopped him down with I've been waiting so long to beat you bastards, years!! etc
he came back at me with a reply that he'd enjoyed those years bla bla bla.............but I as we kicked another goal, said thats all changed now old son as we're coming!!! we're coming for a flag!!!!!!!!!