I would like to see Campo get the job.

Richmondfan#1

Apparently Knights won't be captain in 2001.

I don't hear much news over here in Perth but I think i'm right in saying the new captain has yet to be decided.

I think Campo is the right man for the job. He is an experienced, talented man who I'm sure will lead the team well.

It would be good to see a young bloke like Bowden get it but to be honest, too little experience.

Good luck Campbell, you can do IT!!

Wasn't that the same Wayne Campbell who wanted out of Richmond a few years back.One wonders if the reason he decided to stay was he would eventually be given the captaincy as part of his deal to stay.

Duncan Kellaway would be the ideal captain but I wonder if a player like Darren Gaspar might get it.

------------------
"The good humour man can only be pushed so far ". -Bart Simpson

JUBJUB,

Duncan Kellaway would be excellent but he is more injury prone than some others. Long term - Joel Bowden appears to be well credentialled as does Richo if he can remain injury-free.

With regard to Wayne Campbell, it is true that he wished to go to a different club a few years back, but has since said that he got his wish in a fashion. Campbell said (to paraphrase) that the attitude at the Richmond is so completely different to two years ago that, to him, they are two different clubs.

On another note ... I have always felt a bit of an affinity between Richmond and Geelong, and it seems that Geelong supporters are not against joining in on a Richmond board.

For what it's worth, I don't mind Geelong (along with Brisbane and the Dees). I may be a fanatical (and often bad-tempered) Tigers supporter but I kind of like the Cats (maybe it's a feline thing). I suspect that a lot of other Tiger supporters feel the same way.

Cheers,

We're right behind you, we find the knife goes in easier that way.

When will richmond realise they have been hopeless since freezer and greg dear retired. If Knights were to go they'd grind to a halt.

I'm not convinced that Wayne Campbell would make a good captain. In the games that I've seen him play, he disappears when the pressure is on. But Danny Frawley is the coach and if he can see something in Campbell, then that's the way to go.

Agree with Kellaway making a good captain, but as pointed out, he has had injuries. The one I admire is Darren Gasper. He was the best centre half back of 2000, he plays hard, and he doesn't drop his head when things aren't going well.

Leon Cameron would make a great vice-captain. If he was at Tigerland for a year or two longer, then he would've made a good captain too.

Ditto with Shiboners there

I really can't see the point - why did they go through all that ttrouble with Matty Knights, just to hand the captaincy to somebody like Campbell ?

Campbell is only 2 years younger than Knights and definitely of the same generation as Knights.

If Richmond were really serious about handing the reins to new blood, why didn't they go with somebody who really was new, and not just another 'senior player' ???

Like I said earlier today - Clinton King is a favourite of mine, but really Leon Cameron, Darren Gaspar or Andrew Kellaway would be equally as good.

Wanna new, younger captain to take the club into another era ? - Choose somebody with an eye to the future I say.

Campbell, as good a player as he is, is just a stop-gap measure I think.

Do you know what Richmond's main problem is ? They have no capatincy material at the moment. Let's face it, Wayne Campbell good player as he is, would never have even been considered captain had Grahame Richmond still been around today. He nearly bolted out of the club (he was very close to sitting out of football for a year) and perhaps with so many changes of coaches over the years I can't see any ready made captains in the Tigers ranks. So i would have stuck with Knights. I also think Matthew Richardson should shut the ^#@$ up next time he's on the footy show. Every time Newman bags Richo or the tigers, Richo always brings up the 1967 GF. ? Who gives a stuff that was 30 years ago. Anyway we got our revenge in 95 (HEHE) funny enough it was also richmond's last final.

I don't think Duncan Kellaway is the right man for the job. He is returning from a serious injury and won't be back till mid season 2001 or something like that.

I actually agree in saying that Gasper could be the way to go. He has a good footy brain and is a great backman.

G4E, winning a Prelim in '95 is revenge for the '67 flag?? I know which of those two games I'd prefer to win plus Geelong went on to finish where in '95??, oh that's right 2nd, that's why I couldn't remember nobody remembers a runner up. You are obviously a genius. LOL

Think long term and reap the rewards!

Carlton did this with Kernahan, and North with Carey. Both have been outstanding leaders for there respective clubs and have led them through very successful periods.

Joel Bowden has long been the heir apparent to the captaincy. Now would be the time to annoint him. This way we would have a captain that would lead the club for the next 10 years.

... and Sydney did the same in 1993 when they awarded the captaiincy to a skinny little 23yo apprentice plumber from Wagga Wagga called Paul Kelly.

The rest is history.

Think long term and appoint a captain from the promising younger players.

Why give Campbell the job for chrissake ? I mean whats the point of putting Knights through all that aggro only to hand the job to somebody who appears to be more or less the same kinda guy ?

Richmond does not have an inspiring young player in the ilk of a Kernahan or a paul Kelly (maybe joel bowden but richmond is a very conservative, old farts run club so they wouldnt' pick him) regardless i reckon i could be captain of richmond ? Hey i couldn't do any worse then any other tiger captains in the last 20 years LOL

G4E,

I guess that Richmond can take inspiration from Geelong in their stunning selection of captains and team leaders.

Bairstow, Hinkley, Bourke, Ablett, Colbert... All shafted.

Geelong admin so weak kneed a few years back that they couldn't choose a single captain.. so had to appoint 3. What a cop out.

Buddha Hocking... Now there was an inspired choice. In the job for 10 minutes then decided it was all too hard.

I'm trying to think of a club that has been worse than Geelong at selecting captains... but I'm afraid that there aren't any. Even St Kilda haven't been that bad.

[This message has been edited by CJH (edited 20 October 2000).]

hey CJH at least Geelong regular GF and finals appearances in that time. What have richmond got to show for their toil in the past 20 years ! Only 2 paltry finals appearences. I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for any exciting things next year as well. Tell me, just how is Matthew Richardson knowing (if you had inside info as i do) you would be shocked to know the extent of his injury (it's worse that James Hird's recurring foot problem)

Mate you've had 308 post in 16 years, Mods can you please perma ban this troll.....................seriously.....

It looks like we will be getting Fiora next year so exciting times ahead!!