Ibbo

• Thread starter Thread starter Brumbies

We need the Borckinator to get fit and join them out there... not to mention Warnock as well....

In all seriousness I think we do. Hawthorns small forwards murdered us, we need Barack Obama to forget about running for President and return to the back pocket.

Ibbo played a great game for his 2nd game of AFL footy. I'm wrapped with the kid and want to see more of him, preferably through the middle rather than playing in the defensive 50!

Geez, I think you were watching a different game. He was caught holding the ball 5 times and was lucky about 3-4 other times. Way to slow with the ball.

Des was exceptional today maybe this could be his season but said that before, im hoping it is.

Seems Ibbo was playing back for the sake of education maybe. He always plays through the middle so naturally being in defence of course he will be nervous on the ball.

The defence was under the pump all night, i don't blame him. He belongs in the middle, was good to see he showed some of that monstrous pace he has in side there.

Good for a second gamer i think, adam cambell, tarrant, peake and mundy (have a look through my posts before you say im a mundy basher) all offered less tonight.

hopefully he gets another couple of games, and then if left out is put back into the team on the first good performance.

Seems Ibbo was playing back for the sake of education maybe. He always plays through the middle so naturally being in defence of course he will be nervous on the ball.

Part of that was through necessity I think. Apart from Hayden we have very few options for small forwards.

Good for a second gamer i think, adam cambell, tarrant, peake and mundy (have a look through my posts before you say im a mundy basher) all offered less tonight.

hopefully he gets another couple of games, and then if left out is put back into the team on the first good performance.

Mundy's lack of urgency seems to become more and more obvious each week (have a look through my posts, I'm definately a Mundy basher).
:p

In all seriousness I think we do. Hawthorns small forwards murdered us, we need Barack Obama to forget about running for President and return to the back pocket.

You better keep working on that analogy dom, it's not quite there. Even Hillary wouldn't have been able to help us.

What about that masterstroke of playing Johnson on Rioli?

Mundy's lack of urgency seems to become more and more obvious each week (have a look through my posts, I'm definately a Mundy basher).

Just this once I'll agree with you. Mundy was hopeless today.

Yeah, even I will agree to that esti. Mundy doesn't look urgent enough, but it looks like he can't sprint! Needs to play up forward, maybe shed some of that muscle, he's lost his agility that used to make him so dangerous 2 years ago. Some of our youngins that made us look so ready for the big time, have taken huge steps back. Its disappointing.

Geez, I think you were watching a different game. He was caught holding the ball 5 times and was lucky about 3-4 other times. Way to slow with the ball.

Pretty much what I was watching as well.

Mayne should get another game. He looked like he will fit straight in.
Palmer did enough to get a derby.
Ibbo nope. Bring back for the Tigers.

Ibbo struggled in the first half no doubt about that, mind you as Rip mentioned not playing at all last week would have hurt him in my opinion. At least when he does get the ball on the boot it hits a target.

Mate he looked better than some of the regulars. The fact is he should have played last week. A few weeks in and he'll be fine! He showed some glimpses of class.

What you have to remember is Roger Hayden (probably one of our slickest players) was caught several times playing in the same position as Ibbo. Give Hawthorns defense some credit, their pressure was great and it took the Freo boys time to adjust to it!

Also I will take him 10 times out of 10 over Peake.

The most overrated player on the freo list.

Mate he looked better than some of the regulars. The fact is he should have played last week. A few weeks in and he'll be fine! He showed some glimpses of class.

What you have to remember is Roger Hayden (probably one of our slickest players) was caught several times playing in the same position as Ibbo. Give Hawthorns defense some credit, their pressure was great and it took the Freo boys time to adjust to it!

I thought Ibbo was ok too - we can't expect all the young guys to be superstars 2 games in. The fact that Mayne and Palmer played really well is great, but we can't expect it of them week in week out (not even our senior players have worked out that concpet yet). The lack of communication to players about to be caught with the ball is pathetic, and I thought there was a couple of occasions where Ibbo was basically set up by his teammates. If Black is fit to come back next week, along with Warnock, I won't be surprised to see Ibbo dropped, but would like to see him back in before too long. He's definitely worth persevering with.

Ibbo was average at best tonight. But I think there is something to work with. Let him get used to the speed at AFL level and see how he goes.

Any young players need development time. He was a caught a couple of times, and definitely got some bad umpiring. He will get some more game time this year, but it doesn't have to be next week. i would like to see him given some defensive roles as part of his development as I think it can enhance his thinking if he has to run with a skilled player.

Ran around like headless chook....I can't see much upside for him, lacks footy nous, unsure of himself....a poor mans brett Peake..& the way Peakey is going at the moment...it doesn't say much for him!

Sorry:eek:

Ibbo and Hodge - clash of heads. Hodge goes down, cries like a little girl, gets a kick. Kicks a point. Good on him, if he's happy with that.
Made me happy to have Ibbo on my side.

Ran around like headless chook....I can't see much upside for him, lacks footy nous, unsure of himself....a poor mans brett Peake..& the way Peakey is going at the moment...it doesn't say much for him!

Sorry:eek:

You have got to be kidding me. You rate his disposal by foot as being worse than Peake? :eek: By jingo by crikey...

I thought Ibbo found the step up to AFL a bit much tonight, but would love for him to get another chance.

Peake is a huge worry at the moment...and bloody team clangers!!! Crowley under little pressure pinpoints a pass directly over the boundary line, Rog passes over 20m directly onto the chest of a Hawk. And as for Michael Johnson's handballing :eek:

I don't even want to start on M Carr...... I've often stood by Mundy and Tas but they better pull their fingers out too.

Having said all that..there were definitely some positives tonight. The boys are starting to gel, needed to be doing that 2-3 weeks ago though!