If I were Dean Bailey....

What would you be doing now, next year, and so on?

Give us a list of what moves you'd make, where'd you be trialling players in the pre-season, who you would be sending into the weightroom etc.

No need to limit yourself to match day stuff, how would you market the club, who would be looking at as a trade choice or in the '09 draft?

The sky is your limit.

Just please be engaging, pre-seasons are boring.

i'd have three rules. the hands on hips rule, the clanger rule and the 10 goal belting rule

1) any player seen on the field during a game with their hands on their hips receives an extra 2 hours of cardio training during the week. if you are tired, get yourself on the bench or assume a proper recovery position

2) any player who makes a clanger while not under pressure receives an extra 2 hours of skills training during the week

3) if the team is down by 10 goals or more at the end of any quarter.
all players bar the three best performing stand around the sideline (off the field) first 5 minutes of the next quarter. so they can see how little an impact they are having on the game

i'd have three rules. the hands on hips rule, the clanger rule and the 10 goal belting rule

1) any player seen on the field during a game with their hands on their hips receives an extra 2 hours of cardio training during the week. if you are tired, get yourself on the bench or assume a proper recovery position

2) any player who makes a clanger while not under pressure receives an extra 2 hours of skills training during the week

3) if the team is down by 10 goals or more at the end of any quarter.
all players bar the three best performing stand around the sideline (off the field) first 5 minutes of the next quarter. so they can see how little an impact they are having on the game

What about Rob Harvey he would of spent his football life running at training if they had this rule at St. Kilda and 2 hours of cardio?? its not the John Kennedy era of football, in season training is all about recovery how could you expect our players to perform if they have to recover from running a half marathon mid week?

I hope bailey sticks to his guns with youth and trying to implement his game plan of run carry and skill.

Peronsally i would like to see bailey stick with young kids, if theres a toss up between players i.e. Wheatly or petterd for HBF then go with Petterd.

I have never understood the 'no hands on hips' idea while training. It makes no sense, to say it shows weakness or poor recovery to me is utter garbage.

I would be doing plenty of team building activities this time of year and setting team goals and rules.

On matchdays next year I would continue the focus on being competitive but wouldn't drop men back as much. If Green and Wheatley are on wings then they can zone back but no more playing a man behind the ball. It's something they did way too much of last year and too often we had no one in the forward line when we did get a fast break. The worst example was against Geelong were we flooded all night and Selwood, Prismall and co slotted goals from 50 out under no pressure. We lost by 100 points and learnt nothing.

Our defence certainly isn't the best in the competition but through weight of numbers alone (Rivers, Garland, Whelan, Martin, Frawley, Warnock, Bartram, Bell, Petterd, Bruce, Strauss, Benell etc) we should be able to get a unit together that can hold their own and let the midfielders and fowards do what they do best.

Of course when the other team move the ball slowly you flood back, but I really want to see some forward and midfield pressure, not just always dropping off. It was my main worry with last year.

Besides that I want to see Aaron Davey and Colin Sylvia in the midfield, Juice Newton at full forward and looking like an AFL player, Jared Rivers and Mathew Whelan on the park and fit playing together (= 5 goal better team), James McDonald and Cam Bruce forced out of the starting midfield by McLean, Moloney, Jones, Sylvia etc, Mark Jamar to at the very least consilidate his form from last year, Cale Morton 40 touches 3 goals, Lynden Dunn keep Judd under 10 touches and Jack Watts kick a goal at the G (1 game, 1 kick, 1 goal would do me). Too much to ask?

MATCHDAY
The first thing on my agenda as Dean Bailey is to get the match day stuff out of the way.
We need to set the spine up for years to come.
· I want Stefan Martin to hold down CHB all year and play him on the big bodied forwards such as the Brown’s, Mooney’s etc.

· Play the rest of the backline for match ups. Have Garland and Warnock rotating on players depending on speed, weight etc. Still play Garland week in week out mainly at FB or use him as the third tall defender. Play Whelan and Rivers for experience in the back half and to help with the on field development of our young brigade.

· Brad Miller has to step up and hold down CHF with Bate being a lead up HFF. I still haven’t completely given up on Lynden Dunn playing there in the future and if Miller is injured I would give Dunn the opportunity. I would also have Dunn playing there in the pre season.

· Col Sylvia to push into the midfield and along with Moloney and Jones to play the bash and crash style of game and have them protect the outside runners such as Buckley, Morton, McDonald and Davey.

· Also have Brock play his natural game, he will find his own ball, but he will get a tagger each week. This is where we need Sylvia to protect him.

· Ricky Petterd is to be our rebounding half back flanker along with Brad Green. I want Petterd to be the option through the corridor and I want him to build up his engine so he can wear off his opponents in the last 5-10 mins of each quarter. That gives him at least 20 mins to dominate a game off half back by going direct, through the corridor every time he gets it.

· For the first half of the season I would play Cam Bruce in the middle to help out our younger brigade, by late in the season I want Cam to be playing in the forward pocket and have him swapping onto the ball only when we need him. This will help with the development of our young midfielders.

· I would have Bartram building his tank over the preseason as I want him to go back to the run with, tagger type role.

· We’ve got a lot of pace coming onto our list now so we will develop the run and carry game. If we find ourselves in trouble, we will handball out the back every time.

· On a side note I would have Miller and the big Russian beat the shit out of Messen once a week during pre season to help toughen him up.

MARKETING
Obviously this is not Dean Bailey’s job, but if I was going to market the club I would just get our kids out there. Have Jack Watts and Wonna as the focus. They will be hopefully playing next to each other for the next ten years. They may become the greatest full forward, forward pocket duo ever. Let our supporters know this. Our club needs to show faith in the youth.
To gain members and supporters for the MFC offer children born into an MFC members family a free or heavily subsidized membership for the first 4-5 years of their life. It is at this age most children are starting to pick their football teams. If they have a Melbourne membership or a supporter pack, this may persuade the kids to barrack for the MFC and they could become lifelong members.
Also help out the youngsters in the city of Casey, have the MFC focus on the preps out at the schools in that area. Get Brock, Wattsy, Wonna and Davey to run clinic with the preps and the youngsters out in the area. Give the kids a Melbourne footy or stickers to remember the occasion.
REMEMBER FINDING MEMBERS AND SAVING OUR CLUB IS GOING TO BE A LONG PROCESS.
Give these young preps 10-20 years and who knows they may all decide to sign up with the MFC. The long term option is the better option compared to a short term fix. We are going to be out in Casey for at least 30 years. THAT IS OUR NEW HOME.
RECRUITING
I am expecting us to have another ordinary year next year. We may even end up with the first two picks in next year’s draft. I was disappointed we didn’t take more tall’s in this year’s draft, but as Prendergast said you can’t rebuild a whole side with one year of drafting, again this is a long process.
NEXT YEARS DRAFT – we need another QUALITY key forward, with an early pick next year, maybe Butcher is our man, maybe he isn’t? But we must target another key forward.
Our back half looks good we have the likes of Frawley, Garland, Warnock, Martin, Rivers, Bell, Cheney, McNamara. This is not a recruiting need for us in next year’s draft. Although, I would like to see us draft a quick shut down player who can play in the back pocket, I would like this player to be able to shut down like Bartram does, but I also want this player to damage opposition teams with his skills (maybe strauss id this man)
Our midfield also looks to have good depth I was rapped we took a readymade player in Bail this year. It is not an immediate need to fill, although one or two midefielders could be targeted next year.
Our ruck division is ordinary to say the least, I am just not sure if the draft is the way to go. Maybe we trade away an early draft pick such as a second rounder and a fringe player to gain the services of a readymade ruckman such as a Griffin from Adelaide or a Hampson from Carlton. If there is a good ruckman available in the draft when our pick comes around, by all means we should pick him.
We need to start drafting for needs, I think we should almost follow the Hawthorn recruiting model. I first saw this in Emma Quayle’s book The Draft and it can be easily adapted to suit Melbourne’s needs.
OUR AIM SHOULD TO BE TOP 4 AGAIN IN THE YEAR 2012 OR 2013.

2009 AND BEYOND
As Dean Bailey I will get final word on who plays and who doesn’t. If the choice is between Wheatley and Grimes we will be playing Frank Grimes.
Best side in 2009
FB Whelan Garland Rivers
HB Green Martin Petterd
C Morton McLean Buckley
HF Bate Miller Bruce
FF Davey Robbo Sylvia
R Johnson McDonald Jones

INT Moloney Maric Wonna Jamar
I would have Matty Warnock as an emergency in this side as I don’t see room for four tall defenders, even though Garland has the speed to play on a small I still believe it is safer to play him at FB. Also couldn’t find room for a run with type player and will give Brice or McDonald the shut down roles.
POSSIBLE TRADES, RETIREMENTS AND DELETONS AT THE END OF 2009 INCLUDE:
John Messen (delisted) Paul Whetley (delisted/retired) Michael Newton (delisted) Shane Vallenti (delisted) Russell Robertson (retired) Matthew Whelan (retired) Trent Zomer (delisted) Daniel Bell, Mark Jamar & James Frawley (possible trade bait)

BEST SIDE IN 2010
FB Bartram Garland Rivers

HB Grimes Martin Petterd

C Morton McLean Buckley

HF Bate Miller Dunn

FF Davey Watts Maric

R Johnson Jones Sylvia

INT Moloney, Bruce, Spencer, Wonnaemiri/ Blease

Made the tough call and couldn’t find room for Green and McDonald. Warnock again unlucky not to be in the best side, but couldn’t find room for him. Good o develop the youngsters off half back and hopefully we bring in a ruckman and a key forward to take over from Miller and Johnson.
With this side I expect us to be finishing anywhere between 7th and 12th.
POSSIBLE TRADES, RETIREMENTS AND DELETONS AT THE END OF 2010 INCLUDE: McDonald (retired) Frawley, Newton, Jamar & Bell (if they weren’t moved on at the end of last year.)
Any of our new rookies and players from 2008 draft who haven’t made it.

ANYWAY THAT IS JUST WHAT MY OPINION OF WHAT DEAN BAILEY AND THE MFC CAN DO IF THEY WANT TO TAKE US TO BOTH ONFIELD AND OFF FIELD SUCCESS IN THE NEXT 5 TO 10 YEARS.

sorry about the formatting guys when i posted it it was a bit more spaced out. let me know what you think of my ideas aswell, any feedback would be great!!!

All in a bit of fun so don't slay too much.

I'd want assurances of at least another 2 years on my deal first as I would be coaching again for what is best for the club long term not in 2009.

I would then put a 5 round plan in place with a very simple game plan and some modified positioning.

I would take Meesen and Sylvia aside and lay down the law ...tell them that they have the pre-season comp plus the first 5 AFL rounds. use this preseason to get your mind and body in the right place for this challenge.

I've traded for Meesen, got rid of White so obviously I have seen something in this big hunk of a man. 200+ cm and nearly 100Kg ...will need to be the tap ruckman of choice. Hell at that size the least we could expect is for him to get his hand first on the ball 20 times a game.

Biggest call - Meesen you will be leading the ruck, with PJ rotating in from the forward line. Sylvia - I'm putting you on the ball. If it stuffs up - Sylvia will be nothing more than a talented flank and Meesen's career is on thin ice.

I am no expert but when I have seen Melb play they get smashed in the clearances ...I'm putting my best palyers on the ball and increasing the midfield rotations.

To me this means adding Syliva and Davey to the midfield. Davey is a very good forward but I want his pace and delivery in the middle. May not be his best position but it is what is best for the team. Morton likewise is into the middle.

The ususal suspects then in Brock, Jones, McClean and Bruce. McDonald to be my run with.

Defence is pretty good already - I would rob them of Garland and I would play him forward. I think there is enough coverage down back and he adds a bit.

I'd not look at any noobs other than Jetta for rounds 1 - 5. Forward line basic structure around Miller, PJ, Green, Robertson, Garland, Bate & Jetta.

Fill the gaps with guys like Grimes and Maric.

Big risks but if I was going to face another tough year - I'd want my best players on ball. I think PJ/Miller/Robbo/Garland/Green would give a great chance of upping the contested marks and if guys like Bate/Jetta/Maric and a resting Davey/Morton can get greater supply it will mean more goals.

Basically if Meesen can be a Spider Burton and just be competitive it gives you two things ....allows PJ to go forward (I think he is abetter forward than ruck) and it allows Jamar to be left out and another mid to be included so the midfield can work at a higher rate or worst case scenario a Grimes/Maric to get a game instead.

I'd be marketing my games as having a red hot go. I'd drop a bit of the professionalism and go for the media hype. When asked about North Melb in round 1 - I'd be a prick and say I hadn't really thought about it as I was focussing on C'wood in round 2 and not sure I rated the Roos. I'd talk up the fact that NMelb's defence looks small. At least I may get an extra 3000 roos fans through my home gate.

Talking it up is always risky and I may look like an idiot if it turns to crap, but if I lose 18-22 games I will look dopey too. I'd be looking to change the mind set of my opponents and my players - a good outcome is there is likely to be more media focus on a tough talking coach (I know this is not in Baileys nature but hey in this post I am Bailey).

I'd have the boys fly the flag in that round 1 clash ..McDonald to tightly play Harvey - have Davey go H2H with Wells and back my players in. Warnock may need to actually run with McIntosh. I'd treat round 1 as a final and see if I could get some belief flowing. I'd even be tempted to take a fringe player and have him run very toughly through the middle on a number of occassions early.

Don't want to have a go Moo, but if I was looking for a big lump of man in the ruck I wouldn't drop Jamar to play Meesen. May as well stick with Jamar and PJ gets plenty of forward time. Also dropping Jamar doesn't let you bring in another player because you have brought in Meesen! It's a massive call to say the least.

Nice idea about round 1 but I can't see that happening. Also you seem to be a fan of Jetta's, can you tell us anything we don't know?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BleasePlease ripping debut mate. Welcome to the forum. You seem to be across quite a few things, it's always good to have more knowledgeable posters on board.

Pre-Season:
Every single player on the list bar Bate, Bruce, Green, Jamar, Pj, Dunn, Wona, Mcdonald and Robertson are to be put on a heavy weights regime
(6 sessions a week). The reasoning behind this is our team was too small last year, and that it will help with some other ideas I have, the reason the above listed players won't be hitting the gym is a combination of age/ being detrimental to the way they play the game.
I would also be doing 3 skills/ light running sessions and 2 cardio sessions per week with a recovery session to be planned on a Sunday and Thursday.
All up 13 training sessions per week.
After Chistmas I would drop it back to 4 weights, 5 skills and 3 cardio with only 1 recovery on Sunday's, the skills sessions are less rigorous so there is less need for recovery.
My plan is to build a team who are physically stronger than their opponents, capable of burst work, which would aid the run and carry style of play, and over-all make us more enjoyable to watch, as the team has less of a fitness base, meaning that flooding is too tiring for the team, hence meaning that it is eliminated from our game.
Building up muscle over the pre-season is priority one for me, after chistmas dropping some weights sessions for skills is to get the players used to the new bodies.

Game Day:
My game day is simple, you have to earn your spot, if you are consistently not performing up to a certain level, then you will be dropped and someone else will be played in your place(even if they are out of position).
By my reckoning, players who weren't up to scratch last season were our back pockets and flankers(bar Whelan), there is now a lot of competition for these spots, so the likes of Wheatley, Bell and Bartram will have very very high standards set for them.
The team I would like on the park is not necesarily the 'best' team, but the team who suits my gameplan the best, and my game-plan is simple.
70's style football with a bit of run and carry.
Physical contested footy is what I want to see, more shepherds and tackles, less uncontested possessions, once you gather the ball you run. I see most of our players as 'inside', so I figure if it's contested it suits their natural talents more.
Who cares if our players can't run out games when they are the most physical and enjoyable to watch, I'd accept losing by 10 goals if Moloney punched out Judd or Sylvia wacked Didak.

Marketing:
That game plan is likely to draw a few people through the gate, a physical contest always draws people, I figure telling the players that they are assured of their spot if they get suspended wouldn't be too bad either. I'm not going out to make us the most hated team in the league(even though these teams draw large crowds because everyone likes beating them), I'm setting us up to be tough and take no sh*t.
As for non-gameday marketing, The current idea of MFC/MCC memberships getting a free children's MFC membership is pretty good, how about upping our prices a little for all adult memberships and then including this in them, instead of having to spend money on your kids membership, you spend an extra 20-30 $$ and get it for free, or if you have no kids, you could give this off to a friends kid(which would hopefully convert that family through the *free* membership).
I like the MFC heartland idea as well, make it a bit broader, all kids memberships gain priority to a certain area, our cheersquad always seems a bit empty to me, how about we expand that area a bit and chuck all the kids in their. I understand that this would need adult supervision, but hey, what better adults are there than the MFC players who are injured/ not playing, 10 MFC players and added staff can certainly take care of the kids.

Trade Bait/ Recruiting:
Trade bait at the end of this year should be minimal. I can't really see us taking more than 4 or so picks this year through retirements and delistings, it is more about preserving our list for the GC years, however I would certainly consider packaging players and picks over 20 for players from other teams.
I'm not going to go on about what picks we will have(they will definitely be high), but I think we have quite a few youngsters coming through, in the draft we should only target tall forwards and youngsters who have start factor(not necesarily the best, but the ones who could be champions(or busts)).

That about sums this up for me, looking forward to any talkback.

Don't want to have a go Moo, but if I was looking for a big lump of man in the ruck I wouldn't drop Jamar to play Meesen. May as well stick with Jamar and PJ gets plenty of forward time. Also dropping Jamar doesn't let you bring in another player because you have brought in Meesen! It's a massive call to say the least.

Nice idea about round 1 but I can't see that happening. Also you seem to be a fan of Jetta's, can you tell us anything we don't know?

My thoughts were if Meesen could ruck - PJ goes forward, meaning instead of another KP Fwd and 2 rucks - you have 1 ruck and a 1/2 ruck/ KP.

On Jetta - I thought Freo might be a chance to take him but seeming we went Ballantyne at 21 this was never going to happen. I would not of been unhappy with him.

Just a clever small forward ...has a defensive side to his game too which is great. Even though he is not big - I think you will get games out of him in 2009.

Pre-Season:
Every single player on the list bar Bate, Bruce, Green, Jamar, Pj, Dunn, Wona, Mcdonald and Robertson are to be put on a heavy weights regime
(6 sessions a week).

I'm flat at work and can't be arsed replying to any of these properly or doing my own, but Bate on that list is just plain odd.

I've heard he's one of the guys doing plenty of gym work and you'd want him bulking up so as a 3rd tall he's closer to KP size

All in a bit of fun so don't slay too much.
Apologies in advance then Moo.

Call it TFFCL privilege.

I'd want assurances of at least another 2 years on my deal first as I would be coaching again for what is best for the club long term not in 2009.
Not something he'll have to worry about I think, not with Stynes there pulling the strings, he'll give Bailey all the support he needs.

That said, he's shown little to suggest he will be a superb coach so far, so the jury is still well and truly out. He will need to show at least some improvement this year.

I would take Meesen and Sylvia aside and lay down the law ...tell them that they have the pre-season comp plus the first 5 AFL rounds. use this preseason to get your mind and body in the right place for this challenge.
Meesen's body will never be better, he just needs some general footballing nous to add to his game. Not sure whether that can come from anything bar more game-time, if at all.

Sylvia's apparently in the middle of his first full pre-season since he joined the club so that is promising, he needs to give us more than he has been doing.

I've traded for Meesen, got rid of White so obviously I have seen something in this big hunk of a man. 200+ cm and nearly 100Kg ...will need to be the tap ruckman of choice. Hell at that size the least we could expect is for him to get his hand first on the ball 20 times a game.
How much say he had in that decision is arguable, could have been CAC's decision. The fact you left him out of the side the entirety of last sure suggests you haven't seen too much in him Bails. ;)

Biggest call - Meesen you will be leading the ruck, with PJ rotating in from the forward line. Sylvia - I'm putting you on the ball. If it stuffs up - Sylvia will be nothing more than a talented flank and Meesen's career is on thin ice.
Very much doubt it. Meesen will have to earn a spot, he won't be able to walk in. Jamar is rubbish, but he is established.

I have heard Bailey has actually said Sylvia will be played in the middle next year but I don't agree, the middle isn't our problem IMO, its kicking goals up forward and Sylvia offers us that.

To me this means adding Syliva and Davey to the midfield. Davey is a very good forward but I want his pace and delivery in the middle. May not be his best position but it is what is best for the team. Morton likewise is into the middle.
Davey and Morton yes, Sylvia no.

In an ideal world, Moloney, McLean, Jones and McDonald to work it in and under. Dunn as the run-with.

Defence is pretty good already - I would rob them of Garland and I would play him forward. I think there is enough coverage down back and he adds a bit.
Have spoken with Davey Magik about this, robbing peter to pay paul basically. Depends on whether Martin continues to improve and how fit Rivers is. Also on how well Newton can do down forward.

Could always use Garland as our own Adam Hunter, stick him wherever he's needed.

I'd not look at any noobs other than Jetta for rounds 1 - 5. Forward line basic structure around Miller, PJ, Green, Robertson, Garland, Bate & Jetta.
Robbo won't be fit unfortunately. Green is established as a wingman cum half-back. Wonaeamirri is likely to get first crack down forward, but Jetta will definitely be looking at his spot early on.

Maric will definitely play.

I'd have the boys fly the flag in that round 1 clash ..McDonald to tightly play Harvey - have Davey go H2H with Wells and back my players in. Warnock may need to actually run with McIntosh. I'd treat round 1 as a final and see if I could get some belief flowing. I'd even be tempted to take a fringe player and have him run very toughly through the middle on a number of occassions early.
After the last game between the two sides, Dunn will be sent to Harvey. The little softy had a sook about his treatment after that game, so send him straight out there again.

I'm flat at work and can't be arsed replying to any of these properly or doing my own, but Bate on that list is just plain odd.

I've heard he's one of the guys doing plenty of gym work and you'd want him bulking up so as a 3rd tall he's closer to KP size

It may be a bit left field, but I figure Bate will never be a true KPP, I would rather utilise one of his better assets in his athleticism than have him bulk up and lose it.
If you look at Rok who seems to be the prototypical mould for the 3rd tall, he is not a monster but extremely athletic, Bate's fitness base is already pretty good, I'd rathe improve on it than make it bigger.

If i were Dean Bailey I would appoint myself captain, start myself at FF every week and instruct every player to kick it to me every time we go forward.

This would inevitably lead to a Coleman medal and a Norm Smith/premiership.

I have never understood the 'no hands on hips' idea while training. It makes no sense, to say it shows weakness or poor recovery to me is utter garbage.

Gary Ablett Jr. & Judd have their hands on their hips all the time LOL..

While it can mean you have poor fitness, it can also indicate that a player is working extremely hard from a high level of fitness...

If Ablett or Judd had to sub themselves off every time they felt tired, they probably wouldn't have an awful lot of impact on the game...