If they bleed..they can be killed..essendon die!

Go you good things!!!!!!! YEAH BABY YEAHHHH!!!!

WE WON WE WON WE WON!!!!!! As predicted by the lioness in one of those polls, my sensational LIONS came out firing and never looked like losing to Essendon!!!!!!!! COME ON DAN, I WANT YOU TO ADMIT THAT YOUR BELOVED BOMBERS WERE OUTPLAYED!!!!!!!!! Well actually, I don't really give a damn what you have to say, cause we bloody WON!!!!!!!!!! Bring on those lame Eagles next week, the Brisbane Lions are BACK!!!!!!!!!!!

Now now, Jacs, let's keep it in perspective - they were flat after the previous week and they had plenty out injured; we got a few iffy decisions; we kicked two or three goals out our posteriors; Lloyd got that shocker bounce.

Really, it was a match a side with top 4 aspirations, and playing at home, should have won.
WOOOOHOOOOOOOO!!!!! YOU LITTLE BEWTY, BOYS!!! SUCK EGGS, BOMBERS! YEAHHHHHHH!!!
jump.gif

Regarding Brisbane's keepings off tactics tonight - they did the job and helped get the four points; but really, if our great game of football is going to be reduced to that nonsense...well, God help the future of the sport.

Not good Dan!

Let us have our moment of glory -we friggin deserve it tonight. I saw something tonight I have not seen in a long long time - and that was Hird rattled.

And who cares if you won 46 out of your last 50? Not us!

for starters you can't equal last years milestones. You have lost 3 games in 1 and a half seasons. And I am proud as hell we are one of the teams that beat you! for us too it was a first - we haven't beat you since we became the lions. The last time 'my team' beat Essendon was as the Bears in 96 2nd QF. So I am friggin happy! Our boys showed tonight what it takes to beat essendon. And it isn't superior skill or pace or any thing that you might normally think of. It was pure and simple PATIENCE. Keep your calm, don't bomb away, and apply pressure, whether you think it is a winnable disposal or not.

Anywayt can't write anymore now - gotta go to the bloody nightowl shop and buy a blank video tape! This is one occasion I am friggin glad ch7 are so slack up here and aren't replaying till 12.10 am!

GO LIONS YOU FRIGGIN GOOD THING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Brisbane's defence must of been at it's very best tonight. To le Essendon to go inside 50, on 48 occasions, to Brisbanes 41, and still run away winners is amazing.

With Essenodon's efficent forward line, you normally have to go inside 50, on an extra 10-15 occasions to remain competitive with them.

WCE - Lions kept Essendon to 2 - yes only TWO goals for the whole first HALF!!!!!!!! Hey it mightn't have been pretty - but it worked!

Sorry, Danni,

It was the Bulldogs who beat the Dons last year when no one else could, and showed the rest of the football world how to beat them. Your team is the third, not the first.

Originally posted by Danni
Not good Dan!

Let us have our moment of glory -we friggin deserve it tonight. I saw something tonight I have not seen in a long long time - and that was Hird rattled.

And who cares if you won 46 out of your last 50? Not us!

for starters you can't equal last years milestones. You have lost 3 games in 1 and a half seasons. And I am proud as hell we are one of the teams that beat you! for us too it was a first - we haven't beat you since we became the lions. The last time 'my team' beat Essendon was as the Bears in 96 2nd QF. So I am friggin happy! Our boys showed tonight what it takes to beat essendon. And it isn't superior skill or pace or any thing that you might normally think of. It was pure and simple PATIENCE. Keep your calm, don't bomb away, and apply pressure, whether you think it is a winnable disposal or not.

Anywayt can't write anymore now - gotta go to the bloody nightowl shop and buy a blank video tape! This is one occasion I am friggin glad ch7 are so slack up here and aren't replaying till 12.10 am!

GO LIONS YOU FRIGGIN GOOD THING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No way doggies man - not taking away from your win - but for me - well I am stoked - not saying you did it less - ours was probably less 'prettier' even - but hey - you did it one way - we did it another. Thems the facts of life.....

As I said - one of 3 - and I don't care who the others were - well actually I do - it is now 3 teams that have been ridiculed for different reasons - yet we all have now done it....but oh geezzzz don't ask me to make sense tonight - please!! cause it aint going to happen...

Originally posted by Danni
No way doggies man - not taking away from your win - but for me - well I am stoked - not saying you did it less - ours was probably less 'prettier' even - but hey - you did it one way - we did it another. Thems the facts of life.....

As I said - one of 3 - and I don't care who the others were - well actually I do - it is now 3 teams that have been ridiculed for different reasons - yet we all have now done it....but oh geezzzz don't ask me to make sense tonight - please!! cause it aint going to happen...

LOL@Danni

Brissy out played us, and they deserved the win...

At the time i didnt think so though!
:D

Oh well, theres still next week

Lemme check

Oh Saint Kilda.. yahoo!

:)

Hey there is really no way piss me off tonight - or upset me - unless of course you are my dad who had a hissy fit about stopping on the way home to pick up a new blank video tape (we only live 3 k from the gabba too- how bloody unreasonable) - you lot can say what you want.
If we dont' win another game this season - this win will still be my highlight.

The banner said it tonight I think - "time to show your passion - and send the bombers crashin......" worked for me!

As most of you know - I am not a bragger normally, and I am certainly not an optimist, but sooner or later emotion takes over, and tonight that is it.

And btw - we still have a totally stupid administration. They closed the lions social club earilier this week, and it will now only be open on match days and some cricket days - yet they forgot to take their add off the score board. It announced to 36, 000 ppl tonight - "Friday night football on C7 in the Lions Social Club" ummmmmm htey are closed??? how can you watch c7 footy on tv at aplace that is closed???

hehe maybe the sacked social clubs staff signs had an effect tonight too - around the ground there were some small signs saying:

If you shut down the bombers
Like you did our social club
you'll bloody well win tonight

Lions fans,

I think where you beat us was the simple fact that you applied pressure over 4 full quarters. The question mark over Brisbane in the past was that you had sections of the game where you took the foot off the gas. Not tonight. You were patient (as someone said above), and were dedicated. It was very frustarting to watch for me (Lloyd's shonky bounce in the goals square, for exmaple), but there was no doubt Brisbane were the better team on the night. Twas always gonna be a danger game up there, especially after our big match the previous week, and still a few players out, but the Lions fully deserved their win on the night. theyt simply played better.

Without trying to sound arrogant, it fills with me with great pride when I see the utter joy that opposition supporters have when they knock us off. The fact that it means so much to them, is a source of great pride for us Bombers fans, as it is a reflection of our standing, and our win-ratio over the last 3 years. I'd hate to see the day, when opposition fans regarded as win over us as "any old win". Of course losing itself, is a terrible feeling, so I can't wait to get back n the winners list this week against the Saints.

Gee can u imagine if us Bomber fans carried on like this after every win ???? get a grip people.

nonetheless....

GREATEST UPSET IN AFL HISTORY !!!! (apart from when Carlton beat us 6 weeks ago, and the dogs before that,and the 99 prelim, and er....you get my drift)

I think we got killed in the midfield because Hille was actually winning taps and our crumbers arnt used to that sort of thing. Gotta agree with Dan- fu(king frustrating game to watch- nothing went our way all night, kept waiting for the come back but it kept getting thwarted when we started up.

but it kinda reminds of how Predator, when defeated by Arnie, laughed his evil arse off, pressed a few buttons, and nuked the entire forest.

WE'LL BE BACK

MUHAHAAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!

Originally posted by BomberBoy
Brissy out played us, and they deserved the win...

At the time i didnt think so though!
:D

Oh well, theres still next week

Lemme check

Oh Saint Kilda.. yahoo!

:)

I would not be taking St.kilda lightly,foolish to think otherwise.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Regarding Brisbane's keepings off tactics tonight - they did the job and helped get the four points; but really, if our great game of football is going to be reduced to that nonsense...well, God help the future of the sport.

Don't Bitch about it, Sheedy's Tactics have come back to Bite him. :D :D :D :D :D

Brisbane along with the Western Bulldogs, have mastered the art of winning ugly against Essendon.

Chris Johnson showed his best by providing us with some run out of defence and after playing erratic football for most of the year, Simon Black has shown the club why they've paid him a king's ransom to stay in Queensland.

I'm glad that we won, but it was an ugly game to watch, it was like a childrens game of keep-away, but a win's a win and seing Johno Brown and Lynchy providing us with some options up forward, I think that the Lions are ready to make their move.

Originally posted by Dan25
Lions fans,

Without trying to sound arrogant, it fills with me with great pride when I see the utter joy that opposition supporters have when they knock us off. The fact that it means so much to them, is a source of great pride for us Bombers fans, as it is a reflection of our standing, and our win-ratio over the last 3 years. I'd hate to see the day, when opposition fans regarded as win over us as "any old win". Of course losing itself, is a terrible feeling, so I can't wait to get back n the winners list this week against the Saints.

Dan 25
It's not sounding arrogant. It's a fact that the Bombers are the becnchmark of the AFL at this point. The 2 things that came out of this game for me are:
1. Although the Bombers are the best team in the competition they can be beaten.
2. If the Lions can beat them they should be able to beat every other team.
For me though, I would be more confident if this win had have happened in Melbourne. Let's enjoy the win, but until we can do the same in Melbourne consistently we still will be considered pretenders.
I also agree with Dan25 regarding having pride in his side when winning against the Bombers means everything. I look forward to the day when the Lions are held in the same such high esteem.
Lots of work to be done for that to happen.

What a fantastic analogy by Lethal before the game and a prophetic one too, although the Bombers are still awesome to watch, they have been proven to be mortal afterall.

Pity the Lions can't win in Melbourne otherwise they'd be occupying Port's position at 2nd.

To Channel 7 in Perth for putting the game on at 10:40, thanks for nothing. We get a shabby deal when it comes to televised football here, even when the Dockers or WCE playin in Melbourne we often get a delayed telecast. No wonder interest is waning.

All I can say is, THANK GOD I'M NOT AN ESSENDON FAN!!!!!! You bunch are so farkin arrogant, get your heads out of your arses and have a good look around, life may look fantastic at the top at the moment, but don't just sit around and expect it cause you lot will be back on your arses at the bottom eventually and get all excited about one victory just like us. Say whatever you want, you will NEVER, and I repeat NEVER, take the glory of such a brilliant win away from us!!!!!!!! I don't give a sh*t about my team being best in the competition, I love my freakin Lions, followed them through the darkest days, and honestly? I would be bored to death if we won all the time. The journey to the top is more fun, IMO.

And Lions people are the best in the world, whether we come from Brisbane or Melbourne, Bears or Roys, people you are the best supporters!!!!!! I love you all. :)

To Bomberboy and others who have actually been pretty generous in the face of your defeat, ignore the above. :) And to the Doggies fans - your win last year over the Bombers last year was unique, you guys were the ONLY ones to beat them, that is an effort that we can't match. :)

Originally posted by Dan25
No one is trying to take the glory away from you Lioness. :)

Gee, you're really determined to enjoy this one aren't you! Settle down. You're hypo!!!!! :p :)

Dan, I think it comes from living in a household of Essendon supporters. And HELL yes, I will enjoy this one till the NEXT time we play the Bombers and kick your sorry arses again!!!!!! :D