If we take Luenberger

marcmurphy3

Firstly I'd like to say that I'm on the Gibbs bandwagon and would be extremely disappointed if we didn't take him. He is the type of player we need and from what I have seen he appears to be the best. Obviously though I'm not Carlton's recruiting manager. So if they wish to be dumb enough to overlook Gibbs for needs so that they can take Luenberger because they think we need a young developing ruckman more than a class midfielder (which we don't) then we may as well trade away our number one pick.

I don't believe any of the top four teams will go for a ruckman so if the club was going to go this way (hope they don't though) we should trade no.1 pick for a good player and another top five pick. I think a team like Port would be jumping to get Gibbs and would be happy to give away a good player like Steven Salopek and pick 5 to get him.

It would be silly to use pick 1 on a player that we know will still be around a bit later.

What are your thoughts?

marcmurphy3 said:
Firstly I'd like to say that I'm on the Gibbs bandwagon and would be extremely disappointed if we didn't take him. He is the type of player we need and from what I have seen he appears to be the best. Obviously though I'm not Carlton's recruiting manager. So if they wish to be dumb enough to overlook Gibbs for needs so that they can take Luenberger because they think we need a young developing ruckman more than a class midfielder (which we don't) then we may as well trade away our number one pick.

I don't believe any of the top four teams will go for a ruckman so if the club was going to go this way (hope they don't though) we should trade no.1 pick for a good player and another top five pick. I think a team like Port would be jumping to get Gibbs and would be happy to give away a good player like Steven Salopek and pick 5 to get him.

It would be silly to use pick 1 on a player that we know will still be around a bit later.

What are your thoughts?
agree with you 100 % in the Sun yesterday carlton recruiting manager said he would not draft to what we need but would take the best available player which means we should take gibbs. and i think ur right when saying .. if were going to take leunberger with number 1 then we should trade the number 1 pick for a pick between 3-5 because the teams with pick 2 , 3, 4, and 5 will not take a ruckman. Gibbs all the way for me ..

Hopefully we get Pick 6 from Hawthorn. I would think that Leuenburger would still be around then or at very least we get one of Thorp or Sellar to add to our KPP stocks. Then we get the best of both worlds with a midfielder and a tall.

yea we definitely need another top 10 pick this yr if thornton is gonna stiff us...

i reckon it'll be gibbs or gumbleton that we get...hopefully gibbs.

we better not waste this draft....

I can't see Hawthorn parting with pick 6 as part of the Thornton trade, but I guess you never know in trade week.

I think the only other club that might look at Leuenberger might be Essendon. Play Hille and Leuey in the ruck, with Ryder playing mainly as a forward. Can't see Kangaroos, Brisbane or Port taking a ruckman.

One of two options:

1) Couple Thornton with pick 19 and shop that around (perhaps with another later pick and/or decent player) and hope like hell Leuenberger slips far enough down the draft to that pick.

2) Wait until next year and draft a ruckman then.

PEOPLE ON THE CARLTON BOARD ARE OVERSTATING OUR RUCK PROBLEMS AND I'M SICK OF IT. Everyone is entitled to their option, but with the way everyone rants about our ruckmen situation you would think French was John Nicholls or something.

whippersnipper said:
One of two options:

1) Couple Thornton with pick 19 and shop that around (perhaps with another later pick and/or decent player) and hope like hell Leuenberger slips far enough down the draft to that pick.

PEOPLE ON THE CARLTON BOARD ARE OVERSTATING OUR RUCK PROBLEMS AND I'M SICK OF IT. Everyone is entitled to their option, but with the way everyone rants about our ruckmen situation you would think French was John Nicholls or something.

I agree. Personally I think we are in much more need of a class midfielder than we are of a ruckman. We have too many midfielders who have poor disposal and who make poor decisions. French got a season high of hitouts against sydney and we still couldn't win the ball out of the middle. French didn't get many hitouts for the season anyway when you consider he did most of the ruckwork. Also Luenberger won't solve our problem as he won't be able to handle no. 1 ruck next year which is what we need. He is still 10-15 Kg minimum off being the appropriate size to handle first ruck at AFL level.

whippersnipper said:
One of two options:

Our ruck problems started long before French retired. Batson is no certainty to be on the list next year and Aisake is apparantly still two years away from being able to play senior footy and even then hes not a sure thing. We definitely need to be drafting some ruckmen in this years draft but that can be done with later picks in the draft unless with have the opportunity to be Leuenberger at Pick 6. I definitely wouldn't be going for him with Pick 1 though.

whippersnipper said:
One of two options:

We need a ruckman, plain and simple mate. Have a look at this list

McLaren - battler at best. Might come on now the French has retired, but the jury is still well and truly out on him.

DeLuca - just about the worst big man in the AFL. Awful hands, and gets pushed off the ball way to easily for a big man. Will be delisted next year once his contract runs out

Bryan - Not a ruckman in the AFL. Would do better using him at CHB where he can use his mobility and his long kicking to great benefit.

Batson - Still rookie listed after 2 years at Carlton, so who knows

Aisake - Same as Batson

We need ruckman, and we need the NOW!!

HugeBluesFan said:
We need a ruckman, plain and simple mate. Have a look at this list

McLaren - battler at best. Might come on now the French has retired, but the jury is still well and truly out on him.

DeLuca - just about the worst big man in the AFL. Awful hands, and gets pushed off the ball way to easily for a big man. Will be delisted next year once his contract runs out

Bryan - Not a ruckman in the AFL. Would do better using him at CHB where he can use his mobility and his long kicking to great benefit.

Batson - Still rookie listed after 2 years at Carlton, so who knows

Aisake - Same as Batson

We need ruckman, and we need the NOW!!
But its not worth ditching a best available policy to get one, especially when there are reportedly some decent ruckmen in next year's draft. I'd rather use a super draft to stock up on A-grade quality, let them deal with a tougher introduction to league footy with only a McLaren or Bryan to feed from. You say now, but its unlikely someone like Renouf would be close to ready next year anyway. And by not drafting one this year, it may indeed give the likes of Aisake a chance next year that with a National Draft ruckman on the list he might not get. McLaren and Bryan will have to shoulder the ruck responsibility for another season- we have FAR more pressing problems than our ruck, as marcmurphy3 points out French was never the difference to begin with.

If we take Leuenberger with pick 1, I will be pissed off. We should not be drafting for need, but rather best available. Gibbs is the best talent available in this years draft, and we should therefore take him. Then we should address our ruck problems by taking another kid later, like Renouf. Honestly, how many good ruckmen are drafted early? Not too many, and there are far more that come from later picks or through the rookie system. If we can by chance get another high pick, then I would consider Leuenberger. Otherwise, not a hope in hell with pick 1.

Just because Gibbs as been hyped up so much doesn't meen he is the best. If I was Carlton I would be very happy with Leunberger. He moves well for a big man, Great tap ruckman, good aroudn the ground, good mark... Anything else you want for a ruckman? He's by far the best genuine ruckman in the draft.

crowsarethebest said:
Just because Gibbs as been hyped up so much doesn't meen he is the best. If I was Carlton I would be very happy with Leunberger. He moves well for a big man, Great tap ruckman, good aroudn the ground, good mark... Anything else you want for a ruckman? He's by far the best genuine ruckman in the draft.
Best available. Don't care how good a ruckman Luenberger is, if there's someone better than him we go for the better player.

Jeremias said:
If we take Leuenberger with pick 1, I will be pissed off. We should not be drafting for need, but rather best available. Gibbs is the best talent available in this years draft, and we should therefore take him.

What is it about Gibbs that makes him the best available?

What if the recruiters see Leunberger as the best available?

crowsarethebest said:
And here speaks another south australian trying to convince us that we dont need Gibbs...

Kiss my chocolate starfish

We will take the best available and the best currently is Gibbs...

However, if you want to give us all your draft picks and your first PSD draft pick then maybe we can talk... otherwise... bugger off