If you could draft any player from history?

Hahah no, New Zealanders are tough especially from bikie families. Plus he’s got height and kgs on him. You just haven’t seen players absolutely belt people like they did back then. It would be much worse.

Yes mate these days it’s as bad as soccer. Ginnivan gets a free kick after he gets spooked by a shadow

Selwood my favourite Cat ever but it’s hard not to blame guys like him and Luke Shuey

They tested Lockett up against some serious athletes at the time and he was Top 5 over the first 20m .... and he took plenty of hangers .... kicking snap goals from 60m out .... was as good on his left as on his right .... total freak player ... also kicked 10.7 on the Full Back of the Century .... would have easily surpassed 1600 goals if it wasnt for injuries .... anyone who says he wasnt athletic has no idea
I remember a game where St Kilda were being smacked by Adelaide in Adelaide, and Lockett went into the ruck.
Memory hazy, probably just to kill Shaun Rehn or something.

Same, freak, could play anywhere on the park, better version of Goodes or Kouta as that style of player
Dominating local footy hardly compares with the top league. I've seen players dominate a game at Vermont that wouldn't get a touch in the AFL. A 188 cm ruckman is not making it in AFL football. The pandering to WA and South Australians to pretend their local clubs were anywhere near the top competition is just embarrassing for all involved.

Dominating local footy hardly compares with the top league. I've seen players dominate a game at Vermont that wouldn't get a touch in the AFL.
What does the G and the W stand for in your user name?

As I now know the T stands for Troll....

Edit: And then you went and doubled down on it with an edit.

Dominating local footy hardly compares with the top league. I've seen players dominate a game at Vermont that wouldn't get a touch in the AFL. A 188 cm ruckman is not making it in AFL football. The pandering to WA and South Australians to pretend their local clubs were anywhere near the top competition is just embarrassing for all involved.
It's more the blatant fact that you obviously know FA about SA or WA footy.

I agree 100%, locket has very few athletic traits and lacks the height or endurance to be a key forward in the modern game. Tom Hawkins is 197cm (7cm bigger than locket) and a mountain of strength with a huge vertical leap, and he still had to reinvent himself to be a modern day player. Locket wouldn’t have had a chance.

Playing what position exactly?? Sitting out of FF at190cm with 203cm key defenders punching the ball away and defenders dropping back on him?? I reckon he wouldn’t stand a chance
Wrong, he is an athletic freak, one of the greatest to play the game, same with Abblett Snr and Dunstall. He played the way he needed to at the time. He wouldn't be doing exactly the same now.

At 191 with a lightning-quick first 20 meters and freakish strength, there is probably not a current defender that could match up on him.

I see Lockett around in Northern NSW. He is right into cycling now. He will get on the bike and smash out 200km no problem. If he trained for it back then he would have Max Gawn level endurance. He is a freak. Very few people can have fast twitch muscles and also have that level of endurance. The only thing that would hold him back is his attitude. If he was drafted today and decided to work on his endurance and defensive pressure he would still be an all-time great.

It's more the blatant fact that you obviously know FA about SA or WA footy.
OK, a 188 cm ruckman is going to be the first drafted in the current AFL history.....

Perth was a large country town with a third tier local comp, but to pander to the current population so the AFL can make money off them we all have to pretend their local comp was up there with the best competition out of the major city. it is just cringeworthy.

OK, a 188 cm ruckman is going to be the first drafted in the current AFL history.....

Perth was a large country town with a third tier local comp, but to pander to the current population so the AFL can make money off them we all have to pretend their local comp was up there with the best competition out of the major city. it is just cringeworthy.
Thanks for reinforcing my previous comment 👍

What does the G and the W stand for in your user name?

As I now know the T stands for Troll....

Edit: And then you went and doubled down on it with an edit.
Greater Western, I spent a decade living in Perth, that's when I signed up. I know local footing in WA. I enjoy watching it, but the WAFL has never been in the top three leagues in the country. It's a third-tier competition now, arguably 4th behind the VFL, SANFL and good local Victorian Leagues.

I agree 100%, locket has very few athletic traits and lacks the height or endurance to be a key forward in the modern game. Tom Hawkins is 197cm (7cm bigger than locket) and a mountain of strength with a huge vertical leap, and he still had to reinvent himself to be a modern day player. Locket wouldn’t have had a chance.

Playing what position exactly?? Sitting out of FF at190cm with 203cm key defenders punching the ball away and defenders dropping back on him?? I reckon he wouldn’t stand a chance
Fevola wasn't really that tall but he had great sprinting speed and good hands. And was also a great kick. That didn't stop him from kicking bags and winning colemans.

Lockett had these qualities too, but better. In a modern system, he'd be even better.

Hawkins? Lol please.

Greater Western, I spent a decade living in Perth, that's when I signed up. I know local footing in WA. I enjoy watching it, but the WAFL has never been in the top three leagues in the country. It's a third-tier competition now, arguably 4th behind the VFL, SANFL and good local Victorian Leagues.
Are you a millennial? Clueless, lmao.

So off the mark. Michael dominated state games, dominated players before and after their VFL careers, and would have dominated in the VFL

Hmm, despite being the same height as Locketr, Darling had kicked just under 500 goals, albeit playing second fiddle to Josh Kennedy. He's also 4 years younger than Hawkins.

Lockett was a much better player than Darling and its not exactly inconceivable that he could be a better player if he was currently playing.

So off the mark. Michael dominated state games, dominated players before and after their VFL careers, and would have dominated in the VFL
So a 188 cm, ruckman from a local competition who was never tested at the top level should be first drafted if you can put every AFL play in history into a draft? The WA inferiority complex is out of control.

Stephen Michael was in his prime about 1980.
WAFL and SANFL footy wasn't THAT far off VFL quality at the time.
And there were many, many very good players who didn't go over to the VFL. It wasn't as cut and dried as it was from late 80s onwards.

So a 188 cm, ruckman from a local competition who was never tested at the top level should be first drafted if you can put every AFL play in history into a draft? The WA inferiority complex is out of control.

Clearly you never saw him play. While he rucked in that era, he was also a tall mid, in fact he could play anywhere on the Park

So unless you saw him play, it's probably best you move on

Clearly you never saw him play. While he rucked in that era, he was also a tall mid, in fact he could play anywhere on the Park

So unless you saw him play, it's probably best you move on
So would you rate Nick Sautner above Buddy Franklin? Much better average goals per game, 9 times team of the year, 9 times leading goal kicker for the league, 5 times premiership player. Or do you not rate it because it was in the second-best league in the land (2-3 levels above the WAFL)

So to prove your point, you compare a guy like Buddy to Sautner?

Did you watch Michael play?

I don’t think anybody would be drafting Aker for their first pick either. Lethal would still be a good player but first pick for todays game? I just don’t see it.

Also footy skills do not equal athletic capabilities. I see a lot of people conflating the two. On pure strength Cripps, Dusty and Hawkins would eat Lethal alive. That’s not a joke.

If you can't kick the ball you're a liability, Ratogulea springs to mind, why Port wanted him and everyone sooked because Geelong held him to his contract I don't know.

The days of someone like Andrew Dunkley, a negating fullback for the gorilla forwards who was a very good judge of a mark and very strong overhead but couldn't kick are gone.

Mark Zanotti is another, pace to burn but couldn't kick.

Diesel Williams wasn't athletic, he's in the top 5 or 6 players I've seen since I started watching in the 70s and imo would still dominate today.

Lethal wouldn't be playing on Hawkins and the likes of Cripps and Dusty wouldn't lay a hand on him.

Assuming his skills and fitness would translate into the modern game, Haydn Bunton Snr

images

Do to prove your point, you compare a guy like Buddy to Sautner?

Did you watch Michael play?
I didn't have access to interstate local footy 40 years ago. How much of Vermont's 1980's dynasty did you watch? Probably about the same, but I don't try and say their players are the greatest to ever play the game.

So the answer is no, you never saw Michael play and have no idea whether he was good enough and or may have dominated in the VFL

No, I didn't see a local footballer play in a substandard competition 40 years ago. There is no way a 188cm ruckman would dominate today's AFL, let alone the 1980's.
We all walk on eggshells pandering to the delusional WA supporters trying not to hurt their feelings, but no player ever decided to challenge themselves to play at a higher level by leaving Victoria to play in WA. Some did it for money, some did it for lifestyle. But never once in history did anyone consider the WAFL remotely close to the VFL. To say a good player in your local league was among the greatest players of all time when never having challenged himself at the top level is absolutely laughable and embarrassing for you (and the annual drunken footy trips that the Vic team took for fun do not count).

If you could draft any player from history?