If you could draft any player from history?

Actually, correct, you reinforce my point.

The VFL was not all Victorian players, and yet Victorians claimed it as some kind of proof that Victorian footballers were better.
Which wasmshot down once SoO started, and then not supported by the AFL with its VFL hat on.
Ahh - you must have forgotten what your point was, because you have just jumped to the other side. Glad you agree that the VFL was a far stronger side than the local leagues interstate, as you mention it had pretty much all of the good interstate players in it.

Peter Daicos or Peter Moore mate.

Imagine having a squizz at this mate.

'Naicos ta Jaicos ta Paicos.... for the seeeaallleeeeeeeeeeer.. he's got it............ He's got it!

The AFL to charge like a wounded bull for admission.. wouldn't see me complain like a pork chop about it.. not even for a second mate.. not even for a second.. any price mate.. any price.. cheap and cheerful as far as I'm concerned.

Ahh - you must have forgotten what your point was, because you have just jumped to the other side. Glad you agree that the VFL was a far stronger side than the local leagues interstate, as you mention it had pretty much all of the good interstate players in it.
Um, SOO started after the drain across the VFL.

so what is your point? That it was after, therefore it was always?

I'd draft Raquel Welch or Jenna Jameson. I know they didn't play footy, but who cares, at least my response is not as stupid as the original question.

Jack darling and curnow are very fit mobile athletic forwards who bounce around the ground. If you think someone who is 190cm and has no aerobic tank could just sit there leading out and wrestling 200cm key defenders all day and the mass flooding back against all full time professional athletes than your probably a bit out of touch. Nobody can sit there and play the old fashioned way locket did in that era. He wouldn’t get very far.

Could locket reinvent himself up and down the field all day from FF to midfield up and down??

The closest comparison to locket in modern game is Hawkins, and look how far that got him early on, he had to go back to the drawing board and reinvent his playing style to add a lot more to his game. Locket would have to do the same.
Hawkins isn’t even top 3 full forwards of his generation.

They just keep giving him contracts cause he’s good enough.

Bob Pratt because we need a goal kicker who is an aerial master.
I have met a few who saw him play and they reckon he was better than Coleman.
A handful of photos are available on the web.

Warwick Capper. In the age of Instagram, Tiktok, Youtube and players trying to be funny in interview segments on Foxfooty, he would be the biggest star in the comp. And not to mention the wiz could play a bit.

Have to laugh at the Lethal sceptics.

He is pretty much the prototype footballer, no man that solid should also have the agility, speed, goal sense, overhead marking (an often overlooked trait of his) and will to win that he had. He would absolutely physically and mentally dominate present day midfielders, within the current rules too as that would be what’s required to win.

Following the guidelines set down by the OP (as an 18 year old for this season) Tim Watson. In 1980 Watson won the B&F averaging 25 disposals and kicking 42 goals. (it was his 4th season).
For an entire career I would take Joel Selwood in a heartbeat. Instant impact in his debut year in a role we are crying out for as well as the impact he would have on our culture for the next 20 years or so.

Following the guidelines set down by the OP (as an 18 year old for this season) Tim Watson. In 1980 Watson won the B&F averaging 25 disposals and kicking 42 goals. (it was his 4th season).
For an entire career I would take Joel Selwood in a heartbeat. Instant impact in his debut year in a role we are crying out for as well as the impact he would have on our culture for the next 20 years or so.

I wasn't too clear in the original post but I did mean drafting the player at 18 and keeping them for their career.

If you could draft any player from history?