Politics Centrelink

I heard cigarettes are over $30 a pack these days. How do dole bludgers survive? Or do they all get the larger disability pension due to that "bad back" or "depression"??

tenor.gif

Does anyone here actually know many living on Newstart because they're too lazy to get a job?

I've never met anyone with that disposition other than dealers.

Not currently that I know of but I have known plenty in my younger years. Cost of living was much cheaper then, smokes and grog heaps cheaper and some used to share a house and pool their resources, others just lived at home with parents and basically sat on their computers chatting or gaming all day. They'd come out at night all pasty skinned.

If you lived at home with mom and pop you'd **** it in. Say you chipped in $100 a week for room and board. Then:

Brew your own beer.
Grow your own weed.
Veggie patch.
Few chooks running around.

With Labor looking like winning I've half a mind to throw in the towel and just go on the dole.

None of the ones I knew would pay board. Free everything, food, utilities, washing, ironing, taxi service if needed and landline phone (no Foxtel or internet in those days)

Children of immigrants?

I come from immigrant stock. When I moved out mum used to call me everyday to check I hadn't starved or been struck down by the plague. Fathers of immigrant friends would call my dad to complain. Apparently, I was encouraging their 20 year old sons to also leave home...unmarried!

The reason for that is back in the village they would all live together in one house, and every few decades they'd all starve to death, or marauding bandits would loot them and then burn them alive over hot coals.

As a consequence, many of us are now useless due to overprotective parents.

Generational helplessness.

So it’s $280 per week. How is that possible this day and age.
No ******* idea.

$280 would pay my mortgage for about 2 & 1/2-3 days

So it’s $280 per week. How is that possible this day and age.
That's plenty to survive on if you're not working.
They have less travel expenses given they don't have travel to work everyday, they don't need to buy or dry clean suits, they are provided with rent assistance along with utilities, etc etc.

If it was in fact difficult to survive on the dole as some idiots claim then why do so many people chose to live on welfare instead of working?

If you lived at home with mom and pop you'd **** it in. Say you chipped in $100 a week for room and board. Then:

Brew your own beer.
Grow your own weed.
Veggie patch.
Few chooks running around.

With Labor looking like winning I've half a mind to throw in the towel and just go on the dole.
Labor penalises success and rewards failure. Their philosophy is in line with their socialistism beliefs.

This is what political parties with zero fiscal knowledge do.

Instead of creating an environment that encourages the economy to flourish and thereby encouraging spending, creating jobs, promoting investment, etc, Labor simply increases taxes against those who advance our economy so that they can appease their voters who are lazy and expect the state to support and assist them.

This is indisputable. Labour hasn't delivered a surplus for 30 years. For those who vote Labor or Greens a surplus is the opposite of a LOSS.

Nearly everyone I ever knew who lived off the dole, had rich parents and a sense of entitlement.
They spent a lot of time complaining about Aboriginals and Asians.
That happened; in your mind.

If you're trying to tell us that the biggest dole bludgers are the children of those go pay the most tax then you are a delusional fool. You are a joke.

Labor penalises success and rewards failure. Their philosophy is in line with their socialistism beliefs.

Instead of creating an environment that encourages the economy to flourish and thereby encouraging spending, creating jobs, promoting investment, etc, Labor simply increases taxes against those who advance our economy so that they can appease their voters who are lazy and expect the state to support and assist them.

This is indisputable. Labour hasn't delivered a surplus for 30 years. For those who vote Labor or Greens a surplus is the opposite of a LOSS.
Tremendous posting.

Agree with everything you've said there.

The only thing I dislike is I can only like it once.

That happened; in your mind.

If you're trying to tell us that the biggest dole bludgers are the children of those go pay the most tax then you are a delusional fool. You are a joke.
Anyone who could afford to 'live' off the dole... was in a position where their parents could pay for almost everything...

Your view on the other hand is that somehow people with no other source of income... were able to rent, eat, drive, clean etc, all on two fifths of * all...

Except that the Labor party created a stronger economy during the GFC, than the Liberal party did during what should have been our strongest growing economy.