I'm absolutely livid

Danny Chook Fan Club

Feb 8, 2001
30 minutes into the second quarter, Daniel Chick marks cleanly on members' wing. He is then met by Nathan Buckley, contacting him late, high, and with a forearm/elbow across the back of his head. Chick has his hands in the air, his back to his opponent, and is completely unprotected and open for a whack.

Now, Buckley is a professional footballer, and also as captain of Collingwood, he is duty bound to exert a physical presence on the field, and to make his opponents "earn" their possessions. I accept this as part of football, and am somewhat disappointed on occasions when my team doesn't make opponents "earn" their marks like Essendon seem to do with impunity.

However, not only has Daniel Chick taken the mark before the contact, he is pushed in the back, taken high and has had the ball knocked out of his hands. For mine, a clear fifty metre penalty - the precedent was set in the first quarter with Mark Graham on Josh Fraser: a very similar incident where the mark was paid, the fifty was paid and Collingwood got a gift goal.

BUT

Not only is there no 50 metre penalty paid, the umpire (Sheahan, surprise surprise) doesn't even pay the mark OR the free kick. "Play on" he whines pitifully.

Alright, bad decision - we get more of those than most, but we're used to it.

Chick is dirty on the world, he's just been sniped from behind after marking, and got no reward. He's a proud tough bloke, and he's now angry as well. The very next piece of play sees him within striking distance of Brodie Holland with the ball! Remember that phrase: with the ball.

Chick goes in hard, perhaps recklessly, but his attack on the man is legitimised because Holland has the ball. He hit him hard, perhaps high as well. Scumpire Sheahan - for once - makes the correct decision and pays Collingwood a free kick.

Now, what has happened here is that Hawthorn have been on the wrong end of three shocking decisions (no fifty, no mark, no free), and one correct one. Chick was upset at umpiring incompetence, but lost his cool and paid the price with a free kick for a high tackle on a man with the ball.

But the umpires - specifically that bloody walking abortion Bryan Sheahan - watching the video of the game have seen fit to charge him with "unduly rough play". This is absolutely outrageous! He has laid a tackle. A crude, pretty rough tackle. But a tackle. And he's been cited on a "catch-all" charge that is specifically designed to get a guilty verdict practically every time it's brought up, simply because it covers so much territory.

Was it rough? Yes. Was it unduly rough? No possible way. Hard, but directed at a man with the ball. Was it rougher than Buckley was on Chick seconds before. No possible way. Holland wasn't unprotected, could see Chick, and was owed no protection from the umpire because the ball was in play. Chick had none of these, but was still collected. Was it rougher than Anthony Rocca breaking Brett O'Farrell's jaw? Does this need to be answered?

I'm no conspiracy theorist, and I believe (hope) that umpiring inconsistencies even out in the final analysis. But I'm very tired of how Hawthorn are constantly on the wrong end of fifty-fifty decisions this year, how the same incident is a free kick to the opposition, but not to us. The free kick stats are remarkable, but they only tell half the story.

It's already arguably cost us a game (Geelong), it has indisputedly cost us percentage - the bare numbers and the number of frees in front of goal to the opposition tells us that, and now it's likely to cost us our second-best and hardest on-baller against the best midfield in the competition.

It's sh|t, and I've had enough.

DCFC... you are a sook....

chick started it, and deserves to get 2 or 3 weeks!!

is this the incident in which a free kick was given to you guys out of the centre? resulting in another UMPIRE HELPED goal??

ahh yes, thats right... "but we are treated so badly"

loser attitude mate..

Geez, I've raised the level of debate with this topic, haven't I? :rolleyes:

Anyone with anything relevant to say about the issue is also welcome.

Also, if anyone has the net +/- on the free kicks so far this season handy, I'd appreciate them.

is there no relevance in my opinion on the matter??

diatribe.. good on ya mate, you keep using your multiple alias' ok? try to keep some intact though, u wouldnt want them all to be banned!

Originally posted by PiesPremiers
diatribe.. good on ya mate, you keep using your multiple alias' ok? try to keep some intact though, u wouldnt want them all to be banned!

Which "multiple aliases" you ****er?
There is only one me and I am not the abuser, which someone has already questioned.

Alright PP, let's assume for a moment that you're serious, and that you are genuinely interested in what I've written.

The issue as I see it (and I'm probably the best judge of what it's about, wouldn't you agree?) is that a player has been reported for an act which is completely undeserving of said report.

Your response:

DCFC... you are a sook....chick started it, and deserves to get 2 or 3 weeks!! is this the incident in which a free kick was given to you guys out of the centre? resulting in another UMPIRE HELPED goal?? ahh yes, thats right... "but we are treated so badly" loser attitude mate ... somebody gets this man a tissue
Now, as I read it, you've stated an opinion (of sorts) on whether Chick should have been reported, based on the wrong incident judging by your centre square infringement free kick line, and insulted me twice.

Tell me PP, which part of your erudite comments should be considered "relevant"?

DCFC... you are a sook....

chick started it, and deserves to get 2 or 3 weeks!!

is this the incident in which a free kick was given to you guys out of the centre? resulting in another UMPIRE HELPED goal??

ahh yes, thats right... "but we are treated so badly"

loser attitude mate..

Utter bollocks PP. If they are going to charge Chick with unduly rough play then Buckley should be charged for the fist into the back of Chick's head. Do i think Buckley should be charged? NO! It's part of the game, it's not netball, a bit of physical pressure is fine. Chick should've been awarded the free kick or the mark. The Chook was VERY reckless when he landed on Brodie Holland but it was a free kick, nothing more!

Loser attitude? No, we have won 11 of 16 and currently lie in 3rd position, can't see where the loser attitude is....

Danny Chook Fan Club kindly gave me another chance to harp on about my favourite topic by posting...
However, not only has Daniel Chick taken the mark before the contact, he is pushed in the back, taken high and has had the ball knocked out of his hands. For mine, a clear fifty metre penalty - the precedent was set in the first quarter with Mark Graham on Josh Fraser: a very similar incident where the mark was paid, the fifty was paid and Collingwood got a gift goal.

BUT

Not only is there no 50 metre penalty paid, the umpire (Sheahan, surprise surprise) doesn't even pay the mark OR the free kick. "Play on" he whines pitifully.

Being a maggot under the current regime would have to be the EASIEST job of all time. No knowledge of the rules of the game are required; all one needs to know is how to a) call 'play-on'; or, if that doesn't quite work out, then b) call for a bounce.

P.S. They had "Umpire" McLaren on the 10 news tonight and he appears to be a pharmacist of some description...that shouldn't make him too difficult to track down!
opteufel.gif

Well he has been reported but thats as far as it will go, he will get off, there was nuffin in it and i too am sick of the inconsistancy of the umpiring decisions not just with hawthorn but all teams, though it seems to be mainly the hawks and pies premiers u keep calling everyone else sooks, and u told me to grow up in another post well why don't you take ya own advice and do the same.

If anyone should be getting 2-3 weeks then we all know it should be A.Rocca (scum bag)!!!!

my point was that chick and the other few that had played on buckley were scragging him all day, and deserved what they got in return. obviously bucks was frustrated with the attention he was getting from such morons as chick and the rest in the hawthorn midfield.

infringing him everytime he goes within 5 metres of the ball.
and no free kicks...

im not using the umpries as an excuse, and neither should you! it is a "losers attude" as i have said in an earlier post. it looks bad. and you blokes at hawthorn are famous for "sharing a tear" when nothing goes your way!!

thats my opinion, and if its not relevent to your argument that chick is hard done by, then i dont know what is???:rolleyes:

Originally posted by Chris_23

Loser attitude? No, we have won 11 of 16 and currently lie in 3rd position, can't see where the loser attitude is....

"we are treated badly"
"we dont get enough freekicks"
"he was hit in the back of the head, and got nothing"

loser attitude i said.. got nothing to do with where you are on the ladder or how many games your footy club has won.. i was talking about the excuses you hawk fans come out with...

im not using the umpries as an excuse, and neither should you! it is a "losers attude" as i have said in an earlier post. it looks bad. and you blokes at hawthorn are famous for "sharing a tear" when nothing goes your way!!

We're not using the umps for an excuse.....we won :rolleyes:

To be honest, i'm pretty happy that our 'losers attitude' has brought us 11 wins so far. Keep shedding those tears Hawks fans!

We're not using the umps for an excuse.....we won :rolleyes:

To be honest, i'm pretty happy that our 'losers attitude' has brought us 11 wins so far. Keep shedding those tears Hawks fans!

again christopher, i wasnt referring to on field performances!

yes you win, but every week after your game, theres a band of your supporters posting excuses!! HOW BORING??

every week!! never fail... there will be a hawk having a tear...

Look mate, you can think what you want about us, to be honest, it doesn't really bother me. If being passionate about the team that i love makes me a whinger then so be it.

mate, i love my club to, and im not short of any passion!

my comments werent aimed at you!

they were at DCFC and hawkfan.. maybe a generalised temas supporters.. sorry, im not the first one here to do it though!

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Alright PP, let's assume for a moment that you're serious, and that you are genuinely interested in what I've written.

Danny Chook Fan Club:

Please accept my apology on behalf of my colleague PP. There is one thing I must bring to your attention regarding us Collingwood Supporters.

We are put on earth to defend the one the only, the high Collingwood football club.
So if you don't think we are the greatest well we are trying to educate you but some people take longer to learn the basics. Collingwood Football Club is our universe. Deal with it!

'nuff said.

Go Pies!

Carol

I wish I could be livid but I just have to settle with being "great!"

You said regarding the attack on The Dude by that transsexual Jerry Springer-guest wannabe, Daniel Chick, that "the Umpire makes the correct decision and pays Collingwood a free kick."

So in the great scheme of things, of which Hawthorn is not a part, where exactly is your problem, you Prince of Assclowns? You called the free and are "livid" because Chicky didn't get one.

Well, I'll tell you why he didn't get one - because he's a soft****.

I've sorta kinda maybe just had enough of your assclowns of the Brown and Orange at Hawthorn expecting to be entitled to charity just because you've sponged of the League and the likes of Collingwood since your miserable little downfall from that interim period where everybody switched off TV instead of being inundated by the menagerie of bordeom signified by Hawthorn's tragic little run in the Finals.

Did you really believe you could possibly hope to aspire to contemplate that you could even think you might even be able to dream that Hawthorn fits anywhere?

If things are going against you, it's because in the mismanagement of the AFL Hawthorn's to be run out of town and you don't really mean a thing.

And by the way, O'Farrell should get 16 weeks for the callouse and insidious blow of his jaw to Anthony Rocca.

Originally posted by Kang
I wish I could be livid but I just have to settle with being "great!"

You said regarding the attack on The Dude by that transsexual Jerry Springer-guest wannabe, Daniel Chick, that "the Umpire makes the correct decision and pays Collingwood a free kick."

So in the great scheme of things, of which Hawthorn is not a part, where exactly is your problem, you Prince of Assclowns? You called the free and are "livid" because Chicky didn't get one.

Well, I'll tell you why he didn't get one - because he's a soft****.

I've sorta kinda maybe just had enough of your assclowns of the Brown and Orange at Hawthorn expecting to be entitled to charity just because you've sponged of the League and the likes of Collingwood since your miserable little downfall from that interim period where everybody switched off TV instead of being inundated by the menagerie of bordeom signified by Hawthorn's tragic little run in the Finals.

Did you really believe you could possibly hope to aspire to contemplate that you could even think you might even be able to dream that Hawthorn fits anywhere?

If things are going against you, it's because in the mismanagement of the AFL Hawthorn's to be run out of town and you don't really mean a thing.

And by the way, O'Farrell should get 16 weeks for the callouse and insidious blow of his jaw to Anthony Rocca.

Mate, the AFL haven't helped us one lil bit! They wanted us to merge, and they help the Maggies line their pockets by granting them home games against Essendon, Richmond, and Carlton.

Get some ****in perspective, no wonder you guys are considered the arse end of the football world, because all you talk is verbal diarrhoea. Until you have something intelligent (Being a Collingwood man, you better look it up in the dictonary), incisive, and anything remotely constructive to say, shut ya gob.

You may have a good social club, but geez you guys play some crap footy...

The Hitman

Originally posted by The Hitman

Mate, the AFL haven't helped us one lil bit! They wanted us to merge, and they help the Maggies line their pockets by granting them home games against Essendon, Richmond, and Carlton.

Get some ****in perspective, no wonder you guys are considered the arse end of the football world, because all you talk is verbal diarrhoea. Until you have something intelligent (Being a Collingwood man, you better look it up in the dictonary), incisive, and anything remotely constructive to say, shut ya gob.

You may have a good social club, but geez you guys play some crap footy...

The Hitman

starting off, is KANG a collingwood supporter????

hahahaha, hitman.. you are a ****er...

lol," the AFL our lining our pockets with home games against richmond, carlton and essendon"... LOL... the big 4 ha? jealousy? i think so!!

these games wouldnt be BLOCKBUSTERS without us involved..

"being a collingwood man, you'd better look up the dictionary" LOL another classic comment from the child of the board..

you claim your 16, i find that hard to believe...

KANG, loved your post mate, you have hit the calander boy on the head.. i mean nail..

Chitman, thanks for quoting me in my entirety. It's one thing being great, it's another thing finding sycophantic hanger-ons to trail behind me and worship the ground I walk upon.

If you read what said and not read-into what I posted that was the point I was making - that the AFL is intending to run you right out of the League because, quite simply, duds can't be carried forever.

Face facts and look for another Club or another sport; the Manure-brown and Menstrual-orange of the Squawks is on the way out and the sooner you awake to the dawn of reality and look into the blinding light of the future, the sooner you can get off the Thioradazine and face tomorrow.

And whoever said I barracked for Collingwood?

Greatness doesn't come easy and it comes to so few - don't make me waste mine by forcing me to condescend and lower myself to a standard otherwise occupied by gimps, imbeciles and Carlton supporters.

You don't believe I am 16...well here is the proof.

My name is Brett Anthony Collett, born on the 4th of February in Dandenong Hospital to Cheryl Ann Collett and Patrick Brian Collett.

If I am a ****er, what I do in my own time is my own business.

I am not jealous of not being in the so called top four. Crowd attendances don't mean anything to me, as long as we get the four points. But anyone with perspective (another foreign word to Collingwood people) can see season in and season out, that Collingwood bends over and Jacko delivers...with 4 guarenteed games with massive gate revenue.

I may be 'the child of the board', but some of the logic I use sure beats the crap that flies from your mouth, and I just hope I will get further in this world then your own boganish self.

The Hitman

I'm absolutely livid